We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak Hotel

Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (2)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Royal Oak Hotel is a Former 18th Century Coaching Inn formerly built as the Manor House of the Earl of Powys until 1927. We are situated in the Market town of Welshpool, the gateway to Wales and the Historic Powys Castle, a National Trust Property and Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway are close by.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
78Somewhat walkable
Grade: 78 out of 100
35Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews & more
928Reviews
120Photos
6Q+A
96Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 461
  • 311
  • 114
  • 26
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I liThe hotel is really nice. Unfortunately there were a few issues with the plumbing in the bathroom. Luckily we stayed on the top floor, but was still quite noisy from the bar on the ground floor until quite late. Breakfast was good, but we didn't eat in the evening at the
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Hard to know where to start, but it is important to start with saying the staff of the hotel, from the Managers (Chris & Lucy) all the way to the restaurant or front-desk staff were kind, interesting, attentive to our needs, engaging and well informed about the region and things
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
A very comfortable and welcoming hotel. Ideally situated in the centre of Welshpool. A good parking facility at the back of the hotel and very near local shops .Friendly staff who are very helpful and a good choice on the menu of delicious food. Would definite return.I
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Excellent location,friendly place to stay Relaxing staff brilliant Rooms very modern and recently upgraded Breakfast excellent and food prepared to customer requirements and requests Lovely atmosphere Highly recommend will be back
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
A pleasant atmosphere, good and secure parking, good service. A comfortable and relaxing atmosphere generally. Extractor fans near our room were very noisy but otherwise quiet. Stay was spoilt by overcooked food, poor room maintenance and clutter such as large lamp shades and
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Response from Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at The Royal Oak. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere here at the Hotel and thought our service was good. We are sorry that we fell short of your expectations with regards to your room maintenance and would ask that you contact the Hotel to let us know what room you stayed in and what the issues were, It would be also beneficial if you could at the same time give us more information regarding your meals so we could then pass on your feedback to the Head chef so he investigate further. If you return to the area we would look forward to seeing you again and showing you that The Royal Oak can produce good food and good rooms.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
room and bed
Mind the step didnt notice ha
Practical room.
Undersink drawers have a fan!
PreviousNext
123456
Do you have any handicapped accessible rooms?
0 votes
is there a lift
Hello, The hotel dose not have a lift i'm afraid, and we don't have any ground floor rooms. The hotel on has rooms on the first or second floor. Regards
0 votes
Hi, Thank you for your question. Yes, We have Twin rooms that have 2 single beds suitable for 2 adults.
0 votes
Is there sufficient parking?
Parking in Welshpool is all about understanding the one-way system. You will probably miss the entrance the first couple of times. I would sugest parking by the information centre and walking around the centre on foot first - this should help you to understand the layout and the pitfalls - if you miss the entrance, it's a big loop to go back to the information centre car park and start again. A map of Welshpool may not help.The one bugbear is the traffic lights just after Morrison's if you come in from the airport. If you do decide to take a walk around, I would suggest doing so either in the evening or before lunch - it's one quirky place (there's onwhere quite like it, that's for sure)
0 votes
Show all answers
Is it necessary to reserve parking please?
Thank you for your question,Our car park is on a first come first served basis. During busy times of the day the car park can get full but generally speaking during check in times there should be spaces. There is a large town car park opposite the rear of the Hotel.
2 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"We were in Room 112, (where HM The Queen used the bathroom!) A very posh room!"
"Rooms vary in size but are well appointed and the bathrooms well designed"
"If you have limited mobility request a room on the first floor. Steps to the second are a bit steep."
"The rooms on the front (road) side of the hotel are extremely noisy."
"202 had the dodgy bed!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$92 - US$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesWelshpool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing