We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Outback Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Outback Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Outback Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 101: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here after a recommendation from a friend who had stayed previously. First impressions were not good as the welcome was not very friendly, apartment seemed clean enough at first but on close inspection there was quite a few improvements required. Dirty areas behind the beds and on the windows, slatted blinds which did not cover the whole window, wi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GeehDee
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

I wish that you would contact us as it is very difficult for us to work out which apartment or when you stayed - if we had this information we can easily see which staff cleaned apartment and take appropriate steps to rectify. An email with date and booking name can be sent to us to ensure this does not...

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

We had the Queen Apartment. Entry was off Smith St. number 3, quite rustic looking from the road. Unfortunately the gate into the apartment was only about a metre from the front door. This gate was used by everyone who had a room with shared facilities, so inevitably there was a bit of clanging of the gate. Otherwise the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ennayd
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Yes it's hard to expect every guest to open and close gates/doors quietly - we apologise for the inconvenience we will see if there is a way we can put something there to quite it. Thank you for your review appreciate it.

Port Stephens, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Stayed one night. Room was better than expected. Shared bathroom with only one other room which was good. Location was good....BUT, trying to find a park on the street was a nightmare. Staff need to be more welcoming and friendly. Would definately stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 4karenanneb
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

1. Room room was not ready when we arrived at around 3:30 pm 2. Tv was not programmed for any channels so had to tune it ourselves and missed 3/4 of the grand final 3. No linen was provided on the rollaway 4. Cups were all dirty 5. On the 2nd neighbours were very noisy and when we called loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We recently used The Outback Lodge as home base for a friends bachelor party. The rooms were clean and bright, although a little basic in its amenities. The location is pretty good, being about 1 Km from the wharf and closer to the beach. Beds are not the most comfy and the TVs are on the small side, but certainly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate your feedback and will work towards improving.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2016

This is a lovely little lodge right in the heart of Manly. It is literally a 3-4 minute walk to the beachfront and a 7-10 minute walk to the restaurants and cafes in the heart of the town. My wife, daughter and I really enjoyed our stay here. The room itself, whilst simple, was ok and the bed was comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review we will certainly be looking into upgrading the blinds. Thank you

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Located less than a 10 minute walk away from main beach - it was a perfect spot! I stayed in a small cottage and the toon quality was excellent and a good size for a couples. Great location, and perfect for families, couples, or solo travellers wishing to stay central!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found getting to the beach such an easy thing. Hope to see you again soon, Regards Shez

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Quite residential street. Loads of buses on Pittwater Road going everywhere. Ferry every half-hour to Sydney Circular Quay. I stayed in the Cottage and found it to have everything one could wish for - I was very pleased with having chosen it. It is an easy walk (15 minutes for me as I am somewhat slower than some) down to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
shezManager, Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadviser. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that Leesa looked after you well. We hope to see you again soon, Kind Regards Shez

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Very rude management. Asked 3 times to have TV fixed. Was ignored. They even had audacity to say problem was fixed. Arrogant and money hungry establishment with terrible service. DO NOT GO HERE!! As a well travelled air hostie who has stayed in accommodation worldwide, this would rank in my bottom 3 (out of 200)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Troy A
shezManager, General Manager at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Troy A We appreciate your review, however, as the manager for The Outback Lodge, I have been investigating this matter and unable to find any booking for you under your name nor any comment by any of our staff in our maintenance/ housekeeping registers. For us to be able to address this matter, it would be appreciated if you...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Was excited to spend 4 nights at this beautiful 100 +year old property, its beautifully restored, lots of lovely features the apartment we were in had a lovely marble fire place with original tiles dating back to early 1900's the kitchen was modern as was the bathroom, everything comfortable, well maintained and presented. "Missy" our 4 legged dog was most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahhampss
Jarrod G, Reception Supervisor at The Outback Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We are pleased yourselves and Missy had a great stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you when you are next visiting The Outback Lodge. Kind regards Leesa Reception Supervisor

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manly
Manly
Novotel Sydney Manly Pacific
Manly
Q Station Sydney Harbour National Park Hotel
Manly
The Sebel Manly Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manly
Quest Manly
Quest Manly
#1 of 13 in Manly
561 reviews
Manly
Manly Surfside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Manly

Neighbourhood Profile
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants as well, especially along the family-oriented areas like Shelly Beach. An excellent way to experience Manly is to rent a bike and explore the dedicated bike paths and off road trails. The North Head National Park is another must-see. Located on the southern tip of Manly, North Head National Park offers great bushwalks and panoramic views of the city.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Outback Lodge offers a selection of studio, 1-2 bedroom apartments all with modern ensuite bathrooms and mini kitchens. Also selection of bedsits with mini kitchens and shared bathroom. The lovely "Cottage" is a 1 bedroom cottage house will full kitchen, lounge/dining area, polished timber floors and is most suitable for those wanting something quite special. Short or long stays available, close to beach and transport. We cater for families, mature persons, groups, singles, couples wanting more than back packer style accomodation at an affordable price. Free unlimited Wifi use on the common area, laundry facilities with coin operated washer/dryer and tea/coffee in each apartment. Travelling with your PET then contact us direct as some apartments are pet friendly, additional charges apply and is at discretion of the manager. A number of our apartments are now air conditioned. We can also offer backpacker/student/share accommodation in our newly acquired 2 bedroom apartment on Pittwater Rd. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Outback Lodge

Address: 5 Smith St | P.O Box 734, Manly, New South Wales 2095, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Manly > Manly
Price Range: $84 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Outback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Outback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Outback Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Have a room with an ensuite bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles JulieJ865, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not go for anywhere described as 'budget' or 'bedsit' here.”
  • Damage to the door
  • More poor wiring
  • Shoddy maintenance in the bathroom
  • Poor wiring
  • Rogue cotton bud (not ours) in the bedroom
 of 5 bubbles kingpaul446, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles paulsD8570AB, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are very quiet and with own little garden”
 of 5 bubbles tizianacoscia, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Second building you share bathroom with only one other room.”
 of 5 bubbles 4karenanneb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5