We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel

Save
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good16%
  • Average8%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible44%
Travellers talk about
“big family”(5 reviews)
“community feel”(2 reviews)
“job centre”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Non-Smoking Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
34
24
12
12
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
34
24
12
12
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig familycommunity feeljob centregood vibescommon roomdifferent countriesperfect locationmanly beachboardriderssurf
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 138 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2018

A friendly place which even leaves you a little gift on your pillow...earplugs. No joke. And they didn't help but it was a nice gesture. An OK place with very friendly staff who can't do enough to help, but it could go with a face...More

Thank guestxxx
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

This is probably the worst hostel we’ve stayed at. Priced at 40 bucks a night you expect a bit more!! The hostel is full people on long term stay = their stuff is everywhere. When we entered our room there wasn’t even room to put...More

Thank Isabella S
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

I had a late check-in which I confirmed with the hostel via email. The night manager made it sound like an inconvenience that I'd called to ask to be let in so I could check-in with him. I had booked a six bed mixed dorm...More

Thank Katie P
Response from Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget MotelResponded January 16, 2018

Hi Katie. Sorry to hear you had some trouble checking in with us. I wish you had mentioned some of your concerns rather than just leaving as we would have tried to resolve the issues you were having. We review and clean each dorm daily....More

A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

The first nice thing to mention is that - as a couple - you have the option to get a double bed in a dorm. Unfortunately the downside about our dorm was that it was inhabited by very messy people, the smell was awful! A...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget MotelResponded January 16, 2018

Hi there, Thanks for your honest review. We've taken your feedback on board and have been working harder to manage the breakfast and kitchen supplies. We have also increased our deep cleans in the dorm rooms, as you are correct, we have a fair few...More

Reviewed July 20, 2017

The hostel is right on the heart of Manly in a pedestrian street so you don't have any car noise. The beach and everything you need (shop, restaurant, bar, cafe, library...) are just next door. The people are very friendly and welcoming. I was really...More

Thank FloeWia
Response from Peter S, Manager at Boardrider Backpacker and Budget MotelResponded January 16, 2018

Thanks, Floe. We very much enjoyed having you here with us. :) Kind Regards, Kirsten

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Manly
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (4)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Manly
A 40-minute ferry ride from Circular Quay will take
you to the famous northern beach of Manly. The beaches
here are perfect for learning to surf or spending the
day sun-tanning. The walk from Spit Bridge to Manly is
a great way to experience Sydney Harbour Bay and the
Australian bush land. Along the foreshore, there are
plenty of watering holes and wine bars with excellent
cuisine. There are plenty of kid-friendly restaurants
...More
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Boardrider Backpacker and Budget Motel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"slow wifi. Private rooms might be a bit better but of course more expensive"
Read review
"many of the rooms on the 1st floor have balconies!"
Read review
"It will be loud as it is a backpackers right on Manly's main road. But get out there and make friends!"
Read review
"For a quiet night ask to be put on the 1st floor. If you love yoga head to Power Living right down the street!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing