We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

512 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 510: English reviews
Start your review of The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins
 Click to rate
BROOKFIELD
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Smokehouse Inn Monteagle Tennessee has good accommodations for those who are halfway between places of importance in their life. We have stayed there a number of times as well as both our daughters one who was a student at Sewanee and the other who was making a move from Florida to Missouri. The food there is good it's like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Birmingham
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Convenient location, restaurant better than average, but nothing to write home about. Second floor only has one stairway to exit. Not convenient if your room is on the back side. Staff was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Howard S
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were excited to stay in the cabins as we enjoy the area and wanted to spend an extra day. Our first night we arrived late and we're given a cabin that we had reserved on line. I will list the negatives. 1. Stove old and filthy never cleaned 2. Bed had a plastic mattress cover that ripped during the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carolyn M
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Carolyn, we apologize for these problems you referenced in your review, this is not acceptable for you as a customer or us either, I can assure you that this is not our normal standards. We will get on top of why these issues were not cleaned, This cabin needs a deep cleaning. Thanks for bringing this to our attention. Our...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Traveling with children can be hard, so finding out they had a playgroud was a huge plus!! The kids really enjoyed playing basketball and riding the big wheel! It's a great way to keep the kids occupied and get yourself some fresh air!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth H
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Elisabeth, thanks so much for your review and especially for your business. We have had many great reviews about the new Kids Zone playground; the pedal cars, the trikes, court games, kick balls, bag toss, swings, swimming pool, and ball courts. While most motels have a parking lot full of cars and a adult fitness center, they lack any activities...

Franklin, TN
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good side of this hotel is that staff were nice, and my room was clean. Beds and pillow were very comfortable and deserve mentioning. A safe feel to the place, even though outside entry. Wi-fi was free and generally good. Parking was good, and it's close to the interstate (and their always incredible restaurant). The other side is that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BattlegroundTravel
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Battleground, Thank you so much for your review, and we appreciate your business at the lodge and the restaurant while you were here on the Mountain. We don't pretend to be a Hampton or any chain for that matter, they are all just another brand box on the side of the road. But we do promise that we will do...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking for the amenities of a state of the art hotel, then I would not pick the Smoke House Lodge. But if you would like the charm of a country cottage with some great home style food in the restaurant, then this is your place to stay. My wife and I made a recent trip from Florida...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rick T
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Rick, thanks so much for your comments and your business. We appreciate your review and glad you found our place to your liking. I'll pass your comments on to the staff. Thank you.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived at the hotel at almost 11 pm so needless to say my kids and I were tired. The employee at the front desk was nice and the lobby was cozy. Our room however was a different story. Although it was a nice size, the decor was "tired" to say the least! In the bathroom it looked as though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 3Girlstraveling
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

3Girls, thanks so much for your comments and review, so sorry for the noise and stained ceiling. We did have a water problem in an upstairs room causing stains on the ceiling below that room, that will be fixed this week. Maintenance issues do happen, and most times they happen while guest are here, and they are experienced by the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Smokehouse Lodge and couldn't have been less impressed. The first cabin smelled of mildew and half the power outlets were dead. They apologized about that and said a major storm had passed through the night before. The second room didn't smell of mildew but the lights in front didn't work, the light switch in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chip C
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We apologize for the issues you mentioned in your comments, and we appreciate your review. Being parents council weekend, rooms and cabins are full, and moving guest to alternative accommodations usually is not an available option; we were full that weekend and you got the only cabin we had remaining (only due to a cancellation). Earlier in the week, a...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Smoke alarms had no batteries, fire extinguishers expired! Management offered us $25 off. Our family had to go to the local fire department to report them because they didn't care. Awful experience. Pots were dirty with scrambled egg residue on them.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kandace D
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

We apologize for the issues you found with the fire extinguishers and smoke alarm batteries, these issues and concerns will be addressed and fixed in all the guest accommodations. No excuses, but these two things are not readily apparent on the surface for housekeeping, and are found only on inspections by by management (or by guest); a guest probably took...

Reviewed 19 March 2017

the wife and myself have stayed there two times a year for almost 10 years so we are very familiar with this property. we always rent and stay at one of the cabins in the rear of the hotel. the cabins are a nice area to stay and it is back in the woods and secluded. this visit was not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve S
hamper1960, Owner at The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins, responded to this review

Steve and Family, we apologize for the problems you found in cabin 442, we will happy to give you an adjustment on your bill for the lack of services and kitchen ware missing. As you know from staying with us for over 10 years, this is not up to our normal standards. We go thru housekeeping staff turnover, and some...

207 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
9:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteagle
6.4 km away
The Sewanee Inn
The Sewanee Inn
#1 of 1 in Sewanee
622 reviews
0.6 km away
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
Super 8 - Monteagle TN
#1 of 6 in Monteagle
431 reviews
2.6 km away
Motel 6 Monteagle
Motel 6 Monteagle
#5 of 6 in Monteagle
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
261 reviews
22.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#1 of 1 in Winchester
169 reviews
31.0 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than your typical roadside motel, the World Famous Smoke House gives you more for your money. Since 1960 the Oliver family has been serving folks traveling over Monteagle Mountain; located just 300 yards off I-24 at Exit 134, 80 miles SE of Nashville, and 40 miles NW of Chattanooga. Still owned and operated by the Oliver family. Just recently completed a $2,000,000 renovation to all rooms and the property. The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins offers a variety of lodging accommodations for a one night stay as well as vacation getaways, family reunions, and meeting facilities. The Lodge has 80 rooms featuring King and Queen Beds, 21 cabins featuring one bed room cabins, two bed room, and a cabin with 6 king and queen beds, plus fold out couches. Most cabins have full kitchen facilities, Jacuzzi Tubs, Fireplaces, porches, leather sofas, all linens and kitchen cookware are provided by the Smoke House. Meeting facilities include conference facility up to 250 seats, outdoor covered shed seating 150, the Log Cabin Chapel seating 70, the Big Family Cabin seating 50, and over 20 acres of campus for a variety of outdoor activities. The Restaurant features its world famous Smoked Meats such as Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket, Pulled Pork Shoulder, Country Ham, Honey Baked Ham, and the largest selection of BBQ Sauces, Hot Sauces, Vinegars, Jams, Pickles, and Toppings you'll find anywhere. Full Menu from $2 to $18, large Buffet with hot vegetables, casseroles, and choice of meats, large fresh salad bar, homemade vegetable-beef stew, skillet cornbread and skillet bread pudding. Featuring fresh produce from local farmers in all the menu items and salad bar. Serving Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner; Open Everyday 6:30AM - 9:00PM, till 10:00PM Friday and Saturday. Live Singer/Songwriter Music every Friday and Saturday night starting at 7PM to 10PM, featuring a main act first, and a Songwriter Round of playing for the second act. Music features Blues, Country, Pop, Jazz, Bluegrass, and soft rock; solo, duos, and groups. The Trading Post Old General Store is a place you could spend the whole day looking around. Homemade candy, fried pies, Fudge, Ice Cream, Smoke House BBQ Sauces, Rubs, Hot sauces, Jams, Honey, Pickles, Antiques, 40 flavors of Glass Bottled Soft Drinks, Local Crafts, Old Country Store Merchantile Artifacts, Moonshine Still Exhibit area, and the Louvin Brothers Country Music Museum. A convenient place to stay for many area festivals and attractions. Bonnaroo Music Festival, River Bend Music Festival, Corn Bread Festival, Monteagle Arts & Crafts Festival, Beersheba Arts and Crafts Festival, South Cumberland State Park, Russel Cave National Monument, Sewanee Summer Music Festival, All Saints Festival of Lessons and Carrols, Tims Ford Lake, Nickajack Lake, Tennessee River, Tennessee Aquarium, The Discovery Museum, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Country Music Association Fan Fair Nashville, Thunder on the Rock, the Collins River, the Elk River, University of the South Sewanee, Saint Andrews - Sewanee School. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins

Address: 850 West Main Street, P.O. Box 579, Monteagle, TN 37356 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Smokehouse Lodge)
Region: United States > Tennessee > Monteagle
Price Range: $74 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Smokehouse Hotel Monteagle
Monteagle Smokehouse Lodge Hotel
Monteagle Best Western
Best Western Monteagle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Smoke House Lodge & Cabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want to stay in the cabins ask for the newer ones , that is the advise the reception gave us after we complained.”
carolynmR4067LG, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Cabin 41 was nice except for the issues we mentioned earlier. I won't stay in cabin 43.”
495chipc, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Must drive down to Sewanee College of the South”
Mruth67, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms allow pets”
08harleyglide, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Back side of the hotel is away from parking lot & road, decent view. Check room before settling in, see if clean & good condition.”
pkbw59, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5