We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hughenden Boutique Hotel

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hughenden Boutique Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of Hughenden Boutique Hotel
 Click to rate
Connecticut
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are planning a trip from the U.S. to Australia, and are looking forward to staying at the Hughenden. The location is perfect, and I suspect that is why many people have selected it. Yes, they have small bathrooms and small rooms - just think of it as very European in that way. I found the reservations staff to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Connecticut_Family
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Clean and friendly, rooms are small but quaint, lovely atmosphere would come again centrally located between city and airport, walking distance to centennial park and some lovely restaurants and shopping

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I will never do any business with this hotel again. I had a 45th school reunion here. 11 ladies. The last night of our stay I washed my hair and went to straighten it and my new straightener was missing. my friend and I looked for over an hr....it was gone. A evening manager came up and I asked her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carouseofcelebration
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Since your stay the hotel has undergone a change in ownership and the manager who attended to your issue has left. We hope that you do stay with the hotel again in the future.

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed for 1 night. The service was very good but the room was very average. Bathroom was tiny. Didnt have breakfast as I mistakenly thought, from reading the menu, that it was cereal and toast only, so decided to go out instead. Would probably stay again but only for an overnight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine H
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad you found the service to be very good, I would recommend next time that you book one of our larger room types, as the Cosy room is well named, it is very cosy. Our staff are always happy to help you find a room that suits...

Western Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ideally located on corner of Queen and Oxford, lots of pubs and shops around. The Hughenden is clean and filled with old world charm, creaking floorboards, high ceilings, stress free ambience. For the location, beautiful and comfy KING size double bed, with an ample continental breakfast included, we thought the Hughenden to be great value. Our room was located facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hansie_10
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. The gates to the car park and the doors to the hotel are closed at 11pm and we have 24 hour reception, so it would have only been a guest knocking on your door, possibly returning to the incorrect room. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us though, and...

London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 10 nights and had a great experience. My room had a large, comfortable double bed. There were blackout blinds on each window. There was a small but fully functioning bathroom. The room, like the hotel, is a bit dated but it didn't impact on my enjoyment, The staff was very efficient and friendly. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickswlon
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing review, the new owners have no intention of changing the atmosphere of the hotel, we will be here offering excellent service to guests as long as guests are coming and staying.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a really nice 3 night stay at the Hughenden. Our very private little ensuite room (small but clean, quiet and perfectly adequate) had a small patio where we could watch the flying foxes coming over from Centennial Park in the evening. Marvellous! Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is right in the middle of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jostath2
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel is ideally located to view the flying foxes from Centennial Park, especially up on the Sun Terrace, we are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, hope you will stay with us again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this accommodation for a quick Sydney visit for myself and my teenage daughter recently. The location was easy to get to and super handy to Bondi, the City and Moore Park. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and is very clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was fresh, healthy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicky G
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. When you do stay with us again, make sure to let the staff know what about the bed you found uncomfortable, and we will have our housekeeping staff adjust the bedding for you.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a terrible experience, they said that they didn't receive our room reservation and that they had no spare rooms, we called Expedia, they called the hotel, and suddenly they have a room for us. worst customer service I've ever had. at least the breakfast was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heli_rahamim
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you had such an awful experience with our staff, we pride ourselves on our customer service. Please get in touch with the hotel so we can address the issue with you directly.

Wairarapa, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We found this place online when we were booking to go to a trade fair at the Hordern Pavilion. I'm so glad we did. It's on a tree-lined street, and oasis of calm near Oxford Street. We booked a "Cosy Room" because we're trying to save money for our very young business, and because we weren't spending much time in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quack_quack_quackl
Hughend14, Manager at Hughenden Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review, it is great to hear that you will stay here again. We hope to see you again before the next trade fair.

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (10)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woollahra
Inner South
Meriton Serviced Apartments, Waterloo
Double Bay
Intercontinental Sydney Double Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington
Arts Hotel
Arts Hotel
#92 of 179 in Sydney
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The award winning Hughenden (circa 1870) is a gracious historic hotel at the gateway to the antiques and art galleries of Woollahra, in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs. Associated with Australia's first philosopher, The Hughenden experienced many changes from grand residence to Masonic Hall to Ladies College. In 1993, The Hughenden commenced a programme of extensive restoration, redeveloping it into a beautiful boutique hotel.Today, The Hughenden, known as Sydney's premier Art and Literary Hotel, features marble fireplaces, the original grand staircase, Victorian dining rooms, art exhibitions and literary events.Visitors are welcome to experience the warmth, charm and personal service offered by The Hughenden. With 36 Heritage Rooms, 8 self contained Terrace Suites, Pet Friendly Accommodation, Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Meeting, Event and Wedding facilities, The Hughenden has unique offerings for all to experience and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hughenden Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Queen St, Woollahra, New South Wales 2025, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Woollahra
Price Range: $189 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hughenden Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelClick and Orbitz so you can book your Hughenden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hughenden Boutique
Hughenden Boutique Sydney
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hughenden Boutique Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hughenden Boutique Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Keep an eye on all your personal things. Make sure ur door is locked at all times and don't meet the manager from hell”
 of 5 bubbles Carouseofcelebration, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay away from facing the car park”
 of 5 bubbles Hansie_10, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had room 30, which was a "cozy room" but it was lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles Quack_quack_quackl, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Take the standard room only. Enjoy this beautiful hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 949jennyr, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Cosy rooms are small but ... Well - cosy !!”
 of 5 bubbles C1910SCkims, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
Booking.com
The Hughenden
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates