We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Royal Mail Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Royal Mail Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Royal Mail Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 450: English reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Considering the rave reviews we were looking forward to our stay in one of the cottages for 2 nights (3-4th January). We arrived at our cottage and discovered a run down and grubby cottage. Dirty floors, dirty appliances, pests everywhere inside (thoughtfully the hotel provides Mortein in cottages). We had booked into the restaurant which was pleasant but not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry that I did not have the opportunity to correct the situation whilst you were here. I would welcome the opportunity to correct your impression and would appreciate if you contact me directly on 03 5577 2241 or email bryce@royalmail.com.au. Again our sincere apologies and hope...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, quite difficult to leave the room really due to the fabulous view of the Mount Sturgeon, and birdlife, even a few emus strolling along. It was a bit chilly when we were there (we had the heating on most of the time) or else I think I'd have spent all my time on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigris15
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tigris15, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It's great to hear your enjoyed your visit to the Royal Mail Hotel and our village of Dunkeld. It is a popular time for emus visiting as we had a flock of 10 on the grasslands behind the property this morning! Regards, Bryce Yagos

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We stayed for 2 nights to visit friends in the area. Since booking months ago I had forgotten how much we paid for a deluxe room. Having checked in, looked around, asked front desk some questions, had breakfast and noted lack of room facilities I was horrified to check back and see that the room rate was 345A$ per night!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maddiemoo
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maddiemoo, We appreciate the time taken to provide this feedback. I apologise for your stay not being up to the standard expected. I welcome the opportunity to further discuss if you would like to make direct contact on 5577 2241 or email bryce@royalmail.com.au. Sincerely, Bryce Yagos

Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We stayed in Dunkeld for a few days and one evening came in to the Royal Mail to the much-recommended restaurant. We enjoyed the 5-course degustation menu, and were pleased to find that there were no issues at all in ensuring that one of us was able to eat gluten-free. The g/f bread roll was excellent.. The menu was innovative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffrog
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrog, Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We pride ourselves on being able to meet the needs of guests with dietary requirements and other preferences. We will pass this feedback on to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Warm regards,

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Room had no phone,no wiFi,no guest manual re.contact numbers etc,no mini bar,no complimentary biscuits,no security chain on door,no fire instructions,no writing paper - all these items should have been available for the money charged for the room.Have stayed in many hotels/ motels most of which have all these items & at a much lower room charge.There was no duty manager...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 824stuart
Bryce Y, Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 824stuart, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I can assure you that we are currently rectifying the issue you have brought forward as we are updating our phone network and I apologize if this...

Daylesford, Australia
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We had 1 lunch, 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner over 2 days and stayed in the rooms across the highway. The Upside was certainly the a la carte dinner - the meal superbly presented and plated, the attention to detail, the help with the wine selection and the quality of the cooking. The tastes do tend to the sweeter side...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RetiredWazza
Bryce Y, Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RetiredWazza, Thank you for such a great review and for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize regarding the issues you have mention and I would love the chance to discuss the concerns with our breakfast and more importantly the concerns you expressed with our reception staff. If you are able to send an email to myself...

Adelaide, South Australia
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I had heard a lot about the hotel as I have come across many people that had been. But it surpassed the hype and exceeded my expectations. We stayed for two nights in the Deluxe accommodation. It was modern and well equipped, the view of Mt Sturgeon was stunning from the balcony. We ate twice in the restaurant for dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrentonJ
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BrentonJ, Thank you for a wonderful review! The team really appreciates you taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to your next birthday celebration! Warm regards,

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 November 2015

We stayed at the hotel in October – and sent an email after expressing disappointment at things like threadbare towels. We never heard back. It was a bit disappointing to be dismissed like this. We also thought it would have been a nice gesture to have complimentary drinking water in the room, rather than having to pay for bottled water...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christine M
Bryce Y, Front Office Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine, We are not able to trace your email. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your stay at your convenience and hoping you could email me directly: bryce@royalmail.com.au or if you prefer phone me on 03 5577 2241.

Daylesford, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2015

We decided to visit Dunkeld on our way to Adelaide for the first Day/Night Test & it was a great experience. We enjoyed two fine dining meals as well as breakfast, which was part of the room package. Reception leaves a lot to be desired as the friendly smiling staff don't seem to know a lot and certainly don't recognise...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2015

It is now a month since my wife and I, and our good friends dined at the Royal Mail Hotel, and the memories of the evening still linger. It was a Degustation Dined of 6 courses complimented by wines chosen by the Sommelier from the Royal Mail's own cellar. From the beginning of the meal which featured Sheeps Milk Cottage...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spozzarooni
Bryce Y, Manager at Royal Mail Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spozzarooni, We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. It is always a joy when our guests can recite our past menu features from memory as your knowledge and taste profile must be impeccable. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for such a great review. We hope to welcome you back to...

182 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
27.7 km away
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
Comfort Inn Grange Burn
#5 of 8 in Hamilton
52 reviews
29.5 km away
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
Hamilton Lonsdale Motel
#2 of 8 in Hamilton
48 reviews
0.7 km away
Southern Grampians Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grampians View Bed and Breakfast
29.6 km away
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
Hamilton Townhouse Motel
#1 of 8 in Hamilton
93 reviews
5.5 km away
Aquila Mount Abrupt Eco Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Mail Hotel is a unique destination set among native gardens and fruit orchards with stunning views of the Southern Grampians Ranges. Award-winning food and wine, accommodation, conferencing and wedding facilities and the nearby historic Mt Sturgeon Estate are all available for guests to explore and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Mail Hotel

Address: 98 Parker St, Dunkeld, Victoria 3294, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Dunkeld
Price Range: $196 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Mail Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Mail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mail Dunkeld
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Royal Mail Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Royal Mail Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms with view of mountain are lovely, but dearer”
 of 5 bubbles SusieJohn0, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a garden view”
 of 5 bubbles 512diannem, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All fine, go there but the management could find some things to improve to make it awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles peterbU614PX, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Cottage 26 was the one I stayed in, it is closest to the road although there is not much traffic in this small country town.”
 of 5 bubbles RockfordBP, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“bokk early”
 of 5 bubbles JulianN37, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5