We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 114: English reviews
Start your review of Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When my husband said he had booked us into the Macedon Ranges Spa at $240 a night, well, let's just say I wasn't expecting your average drive up motel. I've stayed in plenty of those for well under $200 per night - perhaps a price check is required based on what the motel rooms look like nowadays (quite antiquated -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette A
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived quite late one afternoon but the lady at reception kept it open for us until we got there. It was very quiet the weekend we were there and there didn't really seem to be too many other guests. This was probably because the spa was currently out of order. Our room was nice and had a king sized...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacki W
Southampton
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We have stayed here previously before the Day Spa had reopened and had a lovely time, so we were so excited to return and enjoy the spa as well as the beautiful rooms. We were not disappointed, the rooms are still beautiful, and the Spa is a fantastic addition to the hotel. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ema_L0u
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The name of the place is hotel but it is really a motel- no amenities at all currently- the restaurant was closed, the spa was closed and the pool was closed. There was no room service. Reception hours are limited and there was no-one around after five pm. In fact the whole place was deserted. Despite this, we were put...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jill999
StaffResponse, General Manager at Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jill999, We do apologise you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel and found the amenities limited. The hotel is located in Regional Victoria and I am sure you will find most of the hotel in the area operate with limited facilities during the summer months. However, we would be delighted to pre-arrange any requirements you have to...

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed at the Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa, we were hoping for a romantic getaway out of the city for the weekend but were very disappointed. The place feels like a day to day motel with a spa bath thrown in the corner. The view from the room is down onto a forestry plantation that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John M
StaffResponse, General Manager at Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John M, Thank you for your candid feedback and we are dissapointed you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are priced competitively when compared to hotels in the local area. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the harvesting of trees in the surrounding forest, however, the good news is that all trees harvested have been...

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights whilst working in Castlemaine midweek. Most of the place was vacant as it looks to be mostly a holiday function venue. The location is beautiful and peaceful. The rooms are clean, modern and roomy with a spa overlooking the valley in the room. I can imagine coming back one day for a personal trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night. Carpet in room was stained and old. Tiles around spa falling off. Red lounge in entrance dilapidated and tired.This is not a four star property. No breakfast and no spa available. Room was freezing on arrival and 80s gas heater noisy. Extremely poor value. I reported to front office the condition of the room on departure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jane S
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Overall stay was good. Pros: Great views from the room, fantastic spa bath tub on the podium to relax, warm with the gas heater on, comfortable king-size bed, mini-fridge. Property is close to Mt.Macedon, Woodend, Trentham. Very quiet. Cons: Kitchenette is tiny with no microwave, TV has a very funny setup with no remote control (so you need to adjust...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vitilon2905
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

A wonderful three days spent at this hotel at a work conference. Spectacular views from the room. Well appointed room includes fluffy bathrobes too! Gas fire as well as reverse air conditioning for the cool nights. As for the food amazing! Not one complaint to be had. Great service from the wonderful staff. I will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola U
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Located an easy 40 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport, this nice, modern hotel has a great view of Mount Macedon (and the adjacent freeway). The staff are very friendly and are happy to assist. We were surpised to learn however that there was no breakfast available at the restaurant or in-room. Despite being part of a conference at the hotel's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JP69445

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macedon
23.8 km away
Grange Cleveland Winery
Grange Cleveland Winery
#1 of 2 in Lancefield
222 reviews
22.6 km away
The Grange at Lancefield
The Grange at Lancefield
#2 of 2 in Lancefield
56 reviews
2.0 km away
Black Forest Motel
Black Forest Motel
#1 of 3 in Macedon
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Woodend Old Schoolhouse B&B
5.5 km away
Mirkwood Forest Self-contained Accomodation
4.9 km away
Braeside Mt Macedon Country Retreat and Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Pool
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa is a boutique property comprising 36 beautifully appointed rooms, The Macedon Wine Room and The Macedon Valley Conference Centre. The day spa and swimming pool are currently closed for renovations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa

Address: 652 Black Forest Drive, Macedon, Victoria VIC 3440, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Macedon Ranges > Macedon
Price Range: $174 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Macedon Ranges Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from any other guests”
Jill999, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“spa bath tub with the view in each room, gas heater”
vitilon2905, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for an upstairs room for better views”
JP69445, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
dmarn0tt, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had downstairs rooms but my sister was upstairs and she had the same lovely room and views.”
Julie54Buderim, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5