King suite
Traveller (202)
King Guestroom Living Area
Room & Suite (154)
Craft Bar & Bistro at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville
Dining (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Choice Privileges member rate available
Breakfast included
C$222
Save with Choice Privileges
C$222
Breakfast included
C$216
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#89 of 216 hotels in Nashville
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville is in the heart of downtown, within walking distance to entertainment & dining venues. Our 100 sleeping rooms have been newly renovated. Free deluxe hot breakfast buffet.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Twice, Get a Free Night
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,331 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Capitol Hotel emerges as a cost-effective stay amidst more expensive options, garnering appreciation for its notably clean and spacious rooms. Guests have called out the exemplary service provided by the friendly and efficient staff, although the breakfast offerings sometimes fall short of expectations. While its location is celebrated for being close to attractions and maintaining a quiet ambiance, opinions on value for money do vary. The hotel's amenities generally receive positive remarks, but there's room for improvement in breakfast quality and gym equipment maintenance.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,331Review36Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 466
  • 406
  • 250
  • 100
  • 109
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cathy F wrote a review Jul 2023
Keyser, West Virginia25 contributions9 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice small hotel conveniently located a few blocks up the hill from Broadway. Breakfast included, you choose what you want from the paper and turn in at check in desk. Eat in the bar area or take it to go. Nice bar with friendly bartender. Helpful staff and very clean hotel. Awesome shower, large bathroom and spacious room with plenty of storage space. Elevator access is set up different than any hotel I’ve ever visited; you walk outside through parking garage to take elevator to your room. Very nice hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Valet parking is available.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Jul 6, 2023
Dear cathyf941, Thank you very much for your recent stay and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your time with us. We are delighted that our accommodations and service met your expectations and that you particularly liked our delicious hot complimentary breakfast. We are also glad that you loved our prime location. Reviews such as yours mean a lot. Thank you again; we look forward to welcoming you back to The Capitol Hotel Downtown, Ascend Hotel Collection. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katie W wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Most honest review ever! Olivia, Gwen and Alisa went above and beyond when my 3rd party reservation was lost, assisting me the "customer" who was standing there after a long drive from Michigan wondering where my reservation was with my kids and husband looking at me. Olivia spoke 3 separate times to the travel agent trying to find a confirmation number to reference. Seeing my desperation she assured me that the hotel would have a place for us regardless. Alisa was offering help when she could but took on the extra load from the customers without ever missing a beat so Olivia could get us checked in. After a solid hour of trying it was a corporate issue from the 3rd party, Gwen was able to get it figured out!

Now onto the hotel, for the price and location you could not beat it, there are more amazing hotels to say at, but really are you going to Nashville to sit in your room? Rooms were clean, the hotel was dated, but doing an amazing job keeping the property maintained. Breakfast was great, the cleaning staff was fantastic, overly accommodating, the valet driver whom I did not get his name, but he was NOT the normal valet and was filling in, he hustled in that 90+ degree weather without a complaint. If I ever return to Nashville I will stay here again, the staff was amazing, warm and caring, there are not many hotels that I can say I have been to that truly care about their guests! - With all of my gratitude to Olivia and the team - Katie W
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Cardone, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Jul 13, 2021
Katie, thank you for choosing The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville for your recent stay. Our goal is complete guest satisfaction, and we are thrilled to see this was your experience. We love knowing you had an outstanding stay and that our team left a great impression. They work tirelessly to provide the best service, down to the smallest detail. We will enjoy sharing your kind comments with Olivia, Gwen, and Alisa; we appreciate that you mentioned them by name. We hope we will be your hotel of choice every time you visit Nashville. Thank you again! General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
Cathy N wrote a review Jun 2022
Oklahoma1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The exterior looked a little ify and there was only one very small elevator. The rooms were on the small side for 3 of us but it was very clean and the beds were very comfy. The service there exceeded my expectations. The front desk employees, especially Angel & Gwen, were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable on places to go and things to see. They offer parking for a minable fee with free valet service and the valet, TJ, was friendly and prompt in getting our car brought up, The free breakfast there was very good and you chose the items you wanted for breakfast from a list. The bar was small but very comfortable and the decor was very pleasing. You could not ask for a better bartender, Alisa. She was very friendly and gave suggestions for great drinks. We asked for a taxi to take us to Grand ole Opry at the front desk, It was Ace Cab very clean and roomy (Lincoln Navigator) and our driver, Vickie, was delightful, prompt and even showed where she would pick us up after the show. The taxi fare was very reasonable. The location was good and in easy walking distance to the area attractions, entertainment and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again because of the excellent service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Cathy, thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We were glad to read that our staff made your stay so enjoyable. We believe we have the best team in town, and we can assure you they work hard every day to deliver outstanding service. We are also glad you liked our spotless room, valet parking, convenient location, and delicious breakfast. However, we regret we did not meet all of your expectations, and we will share your concerns with the appropriate teams to ensure future improvements. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you soon! General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashley B wrote a review Feb 2020
Estill Springs, Tennessee63 contributions15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Made reservation 5 months in advance, chose hotel for walking access to TPAC and restaurants. At arrival, was informed that there was “a problem with your room” and we would have to stay at a Clarion Hotel 10 minutes away. Was not given an option for a location within walking distance of everywhere we needed to go, so got to navigate Nashville downtown nighttime traffic to barely make our dinner reservation on time. We particularly enjoyed attempting to sleep to the sound of revving engines on a busy road, as well as the TV and bedtime activities in the next room. It was by far the worst customer service experience I have ever had, and anyone who books this hotel should be warned that their travel plans can be upended with no warning or consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Feb 16, 2020
Ashley, we apologize that we did not have any available rooms when you arrived at our hotel. We understand your frustration, as our rooms were full. We assure you we made every attempt to correct the matter, including making a reservation for you at another hotel. We are terribly sorry for this inconvenience, and our management team is looking into this matter. We hope you will choose to book a room with us in the future. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauraw03 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom147 contributions113 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Considering the price of this accommodation we thought it was poor value for money. The hotel looks like it used to be a motel and it's very dated inside. We had a room right next to the elevator and drinks machines so it was fairly noisy at times and the traffic noise outside was loud despite being on the fourth floor. Breakfast was ok, not great and the use of disposable plates and cutlery was disappointing. The bed and pillows weren't the most comfortable. Wouldn't return here for the price we paid. Staff were lovely and location was great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Laura, thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that our accommodations and the condition of our hotel did not provide the value you were hoping for. We assure you that what you experienced is not acceptable, and we will take immediate action to identify where we went wrong so we can prevent these issues from occurring again. On a positive note, we are glad you liked our service and location. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back so we can provide you with the flawless experience you deserve. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy wrote a review Mar 2020
Oxford, Connecticut4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I start...? If you typically book average decent hotels such as Hampton, Doubletree etc you will be very disappointed. We could not believe their “lobby”. Entry to your room is from outside along a walkway with very sad looking indoor outdoor carpeting. The room we had was 2 double beds with only enough room to walk between bureau and beds, not an inch to spare. The tub ( shower) did not have a slip resistant mat and there was no grab bar for getting out of a wet shower for safety purposes. The walls are paper thin. We heard our neighbors, talking, laughing, sneezing and much of this was done around midnight. The picture presented online is misleading to say the least. Although this has recently been updated it should be called what it is, a motel. I had found this at a decent price online but some of the prices I see listed for this “hotel” is absolute robbery for what you get.
Beware!!
Connecticut
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Mar 11, 2020
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the difficulties you encountered in your room and for your less than satisfactory stay with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback and will certainly share this with our team to see how we can do better going forward. We hope to welcome you again on your next visit to our area. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jmeisel22 wrote a review Jan 2020
Bowling Green, Kentucky4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was nice but I didn't realize it had the hotel rooms open to the outside so you could hear traffic. The elevator was fast and the breakfast was typical of what you would find at other hotels with a hot breakfast. It was clean and convenient and easy to park with a valet. Really friendly front desk. I would stay there again purely for the price and location to TPAC
Alisa Harvest and Cliff were especially friendly and helpful. I was really impressed with their friendliness and professionalism.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville. We are glad that you found us to be a good value. We know you have many choices when visiting the city, which is why we always try to stay competitive. We also appreciate you mentioning Alisa, Harvest, and Cliff. They are a true asset to our team, and we will be sure to share your compliments with them. We are also happy you found our proximity to the Tennessee Performing Arts Center to be convenient. However, we regret any inconvenience you had because of the noise from outside. We wish we had the opportunity to address the issue while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. We value your feedback and look forward to your return visit. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren J wrote a review Nov 2022
1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My sisters and I visited Nashville for the first time in celebration of a milestone birthday. It was actually the first trip we all took together and our first time in Nashville. The location of the hotel is fairly close to many restaurants, bars, shops, etc. I agree with the other comment regarding the the customer service of the staff (except the manager). We had the pleasure of meeting Angel as well and she was lovely. When booking the hotel we requested adjoining rooms and called prior to the trip to confirm. When we arrived we were disappointed to learn that adjoining rooms don’t even exist. We were able to get rooms next to each other. However, there was construction, ceiling repairs and painting taking place right outside our rooms. It was loud and every time we went in and out of our rooms we had to maneuver around workers, latters, etc. You could smell the paint from our rooms. For the price of the hotel I don’t think it’s acceptable to rent out rooms when it’s under construction. Or we should have at least been notified ahead of time so we were aware and could have made other arrangements. We did contact the manager directly and were very disappointed by the lack of costumer service. The manger would not speak to us, only communicated via email and was quick to dismiss our concerns.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Nov 13, 2022
Dear L6794DMlaurenj, Thank you for taking the time to show us your concern. We regret we were unable to make the special occasion memorable. We appreciate your patience, and you have our assurance that we will share your message appropriately. Sincerely, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rich R wrote a review Jan 2020
15 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I just got back from Nashville and enjoyed my stay at the Capitol Hotel. The staff was extremely friendly, the hotel itself was nice, was clean, the bar/restaurant was great with live entertainment, the complimentary breakfast was good, and it's in walking distance to Nashville's nightlife on Broadway. Other hotels, a block or two closer to Broadway, were asking for $350-$400 a night. I was able to get the Capitol Hotel for $200 a night. I was very pleased about that. Only negative, the rooms are outside facing. If you're looking for a good hotel at a decent price (compared to others in that vicinity), and is about a 10 min walk to Broadway, I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 00gc, General Manager at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Jan 27, 2020
Thank you for choosing The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville for your accommodations. We take great pride in providing clean, comfortable rooms along with exceptional service, and we were so glad to read this was your experience. Our hotel is close to Broadway, and this is why we are one of the best choices in the city. Meanwhile, we will be sure to share your compliments with our entire team. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lori B wrote a review Jul 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Alsia and Gwen were amazing friendly .
Alisa reminds you to wear your mask.
Southern Hospitality. Even though they cannot have you eat in a dining area they provided us with food in to go containers. Nice touch.
Because of Covid our linens were not changed they offered to change room instead
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, Agency / Consultant at The Capitol Hotel
Responded Jul 28, 2020
Thank you for your recent stay and your feedback. We were thrilled to read that our staff at The Capitol Hotel Downtown Nashville made your stay so enjoyable. We believe we have the best team in town, and we can assure you they work hard every day to deliver outstanding service. We will be sure to share your compliments with Alisa and Gwen as comments like yours motivate them even more! Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit. General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from conelady
Clemmons, North Carolina167 contributions112 helpful votes
Don’t lnow. Didn’t stay long enough to find out!!!!!
Answer from Jim E
Bettendorf, Iowa52 contributions
We only stayed one night in March. I would not want to be there long enough to do laundry.
GBCLARKE asked a question Jul 2020
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom96 contributions52 helpful votes
I have sent 3 emails and no reply. I have a booking and in the U.K. can you reply
Answer from Peter F
Manchester UK547 contributions218 helpful votes
Ignore my reply looking at a different property Capitol was fine Management very helpful and attentive
Kaylee H asked a question Jun 2020
Lebanon, Virginia
What is the minimum check in age?
Answer from Peter F
Manchester UK547 contributions218 helpful votes
In all honesty I don’t know one of the dubious pleasures of growing older I would think 21 but I’m just working on the notion that you’ll be ‘ID’ed Why don’t you contact reception? They are very helpful Enjoy Nashville we certainly did
Jamie H asked a question May 2020
New Oxford, Pennsylvania3 contributions
do you have to pay for parking?
Answer from Judy
Oxford, Connecticut4 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes if I remember correctly it is $1&.00 per night.
Lee C wrote a tip Mar 2024
961 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tip the ladies at breakfast they keep everything spotless and help you with everything. They barely made any tips and don great work! 😔"
Read full review
Madison H wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Amazing "
Read full review
April C wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use valet parking. Well worth it! "
Read full review
Connector53936156725 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Have cash on hand for the valet parking as they are valet only hotel. "
Read full review
Jill J wrote a tip Jan 2024
Nashville, Tennessee66 contributions58 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Adjust the shower pressure with the little thing that sticks out on the shower head and you’ll be fine."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nashville area.
PRICE RANGE
C$246 - C$413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western downtown hotel nashville, best western nashville, nashville best western
LOCATION
United StatesTennesseeDavidson CountyNashvilleDowntown Nashville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Capitol Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about The Capitol Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Capitol Hotel?
Nearby attractions include National Museum of African American Music (0.5 km), Escape Experience (0.3 km), and The Ville Tours (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Capitol Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Capitol Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Capitol Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Capitol Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Capitol Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bourbon Street Blues and Boogie Bar, Jeff Ruby's Steakhouse, Nashville, and Skull's Rainbow Room.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Capitol Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Capitol Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Nashville.
Are there any historical sites close to The Capitol Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Belmont Mansion (3.2 km), Marathon Village (1.1 km), and Nashville Ghost Tours (0.2 km).
Is The Capitol Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nashville HotelsNashville Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NashvilleHotels near The Capitol Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars