We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Back Forty of Fredericksburg

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Back Forty of Fredericksburg
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Bulverde, Texas
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed the the "French Cottage" 10/21/16 for the weekend at Fred Wine & Food Fest. I was really excited when I saw the photos. Hmmm. Don't believe it. When you find the unmarked property, and you look at the reservation note they sent you, there are no instructions on what to do when you arrive. So, I called. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank intriguingtxlady
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Charming little B&B. Booked it just for the room and breakfast. Massages were a nice add-on. Owner cooked a great,fresh breakfast. Owner was also very nice and gave us some options for eating dinner in town. It was great waking up to see deer outside our window and fun watching the horses run around. Spent two mornings watching the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I are VERY disappointed with how the B&B was/is run. When we arrived there was no one on the premises to greet us or explain where our cabin was and how the amenities work. Had I not called we would have not known when the massages were even to take place. When we walked into our cottage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheffield1945
trish4494, Owner at Back Forty of Fredericksburg, responded to this review

These lovely people did not stay after making their arrival. When a reservation is made, at the very top of the confirmation it says 'be sure to print out these directions as there may not be someone there at the time you arrive'. With hospital and doctors appointments happening more frequently these days, we do not always manage to stay...

Texas
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We stayed at the Sunday Haus for two nights during spring break. The location was nice and the cabin was quaint but the attention to details is a zero. The bed mattress was old and lop-sided. We had a horrible night's sleep if any at all. The owner tried to compensate for this by using a memory foam pad which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mario S
trish4494, Owner at Back Forty of Fredericksburg, responded to this review

Am so sorry the guests had so many issues. Somehow that light fixture was broken by a previous guest, and it was not brought to my attention. The water here is very hard, so coffee pots get changed out every couple of months, and the shower head has to be cleaned as many times.....As for the milk date, it states...

Reviewed 20 March 2016

If you want an escape where you are waited on hand and foot, this is not for you. I read the reviews after I booked the French Cottage and was a bit worried. There were no cobwebs, spiders, or other creatures in the cottage. It was very clean and comfortable. The bed is actually two twins pushed together. However, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kbullock1
trish4494, Owner at Back Forty of Fredericksburg, responded to this review

Thank you, great guests. You have the idea! That is why it is named The Back Forty! Hope to see you again! This winter the sauna is fired up every Saturday night!

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

If privacy is what you seek the Back Forty is for you. Nestled close to Fredericksburg it is a nice farm with several very cozy cottages all with fireplaces. They leave you breakfast in cupboards so you don't have to see anyone. So not the best service but a great place to get away for couples! Very romantic. The spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 27 October 2015

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend, for which we wanted just a nice, quiet getaway. The Back 40 does achieve this, but there are some things to note in case you have higher expectations based on the price. We stayed at the Sunday Haus for 2 nights. Pros - The ranch is off the beaten path...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KS1019
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 4 October 2015

We stayed in the Sunday Haus here bc it was the only thing available last minute for Octoberfest. The Pros: The cottage is adorable and the property is just beautiful. You are very close to the excitement of Main Street, but can get away from it all and feel like you have your own semi-private retreat just a short drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
San antonio tx
Reviewed 12 July 2015

made a reservation ( 7/2/2015)based on the websites photos, canceled after reading other reviews. Explain to the owner (Patricia) why I was canceling, felt it was misrepresented. She told me that the property was for sale, it was more than They could take care of. Told me my money would be refunded but only refunded half.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth A
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 8 May 2015 via mobile

I hesitated to book this based on the reviews.....I should have listened to you! Poorly maintained property.....ancient mattress, Anna's linens, shower barely working, generic white bread and a store bought coffee cake for breakfast. AC stopped working on night 2....would have opened the windows and stuck it out but they are all painted shut and have no screens. Ended up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John T

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
3.8 km away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 26 in Fredericksburg
759 reviews
1.3 km away
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hote...
#19 of 26 in Fredericksburg
114 reviews
0.9 km away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#5 of 85 in Fredericksburg
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 26 in Fredericksburg
349 reviews
1.0 km away
Rock House Hideaway
Rock House Hideaway
#32 of 85 in Fredericksburg
26 reviews
2.5 km away
Austin Street Retreat
Austin Street Retreat
#27 of 85 in Fredericksburg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Back Forty of Fredericksburg

Address: 457 Bob Moritz Dr, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3034
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Price Range: $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Back Forty of Fredericksburg staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good Views. Not far from Main Street.”
 of 5 bubbles 941chelseab, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're tall, stay away from the Guest House, lol!”
 of 5 bubbles 762gracied, 31 Dec 2014 | Read review
“We liked Sunday Haus a lot... we didn't see the other cabins so I can't comment on them.”
  • Sunday Haus
 of 5 bubbles Kamurphy91, 9 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Go elsewhere- I used First Class B&B Reservation service and they found me a great place within an hour and had GREAT accomodations.”
 of 5 bubbles lovetexas2013, 10 Jun 2013 | Read review
“The rooms are rustic, a real feel for country living”
 of 5 bubbles CarolynG980, 16 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5