We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Athens Hotel Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Athens Hotel Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Athens Hotel Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 172: English reviews
Burleson, Texas
Reviewed 28 April 2015

This was one of the most awful experiences I've ever had. Booked through hotels.com even though some of the reviews warned they were ripoff artists. Well, I learned first hand, they had a LINE of people who had booked through an online service, but somehow all of those rooms were not available and had been booked out to other guests....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason I
AthensHotelSuites14, Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Athens Hotel Suites for your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience you endured here. We are under new management now and are striving to provide the best quality services possible. We hope you reconsider your stay with us at a special rate. Thank you, Ame Flores Manager

Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewed 18 March 2015

We booked the hotel through hotels.com but the hotel hadn't cheked these reservations so there was no room for us. After some discussion we got a room. There was no sign of the fitnessroom and the we left at 7.30 next morning there was still no sign of breafast. But if going to Toyotacenter it is placed fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susanne F
AthensHotelSuites14, Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Athens Hotel Suites for your stay. We greatly appreciate your business. We would like to invite you back at a special rate just mention this review when booking. We do have a small fitness room located on the second floor. Since we are a small hotel we provide a small breakfast every morning in the...

Reviewed 10 March 2015

Do not make the mistake of booking a room at the Athens. I had a reservation so we could bring our mother to MD Anderson hospital. When I booked the room through booking agency, they took the money off my card before we even got there, and when we did get there with a disabled mother who cant climb stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Vicky L
AthensHotelSuites14, Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Athens Hotel Suites for your stay. As soon as we noticed your mother was not able to use our stairs we made the proper accommodations to find another hotel through your travel agent and refunded your payment in full. We appreciate your feedback and feel our accommodations were suffice. Thank you, Ame Flores Manager

Reviewed 5 March 2015

I made a reservation almost 2.5 months in advance through Priceline. I was so excited that I found a hotel in my price range near the Toyota Center since I was driving over 200 miles after work for a major, sold out concert (20,000 people). I happened to be in Houston about 3 weeks prior to reservation and popped in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig H
AthensHotelSuites14, Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Athens Hotel Suites for your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience you endured on your trip here. When a reservation is booked with our hotel via direct site or travel agent an automatic confirmation is generated assuring your reservation. We do not cancel any reservations as we are a non-refundable cancellation policy hotel. All reservations...

Montana
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Athens Hotel is one of the most unsettling places I have ever stayed. Everything was a little bit off. Found 3 half-drunk Powerade bottles in my fridge. Plumbing was backwards, no bar soap, no way to turn off the shower (vs. bath faucet). Do-not-disturb sign was a magnet with some other hotel's logo. Continental breakfast included an open tupperware with...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sciovanni
AthensHotelSuites14, Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Athens Hotel Suites for your stay. We greatly apologize for any inconvenience you endured during your stay with us. This location provides liquid body washes and shampoo/conditioners. We do not keep bar soap in stock as we legally obligated to provide either or. We do offer shuttle services that are not complimentary. I'm not sure...

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 February 2015

This is one of the worst hotel I visited: We received a quote for room at US$ 105 / night, and when we arrived, the manager (who tried to hide that he was the manager) changed the rate to US$ 150 / night !! And he just claimed that it was one of him former employee who sent us a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dransky
AthensHotelSuites14, Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Athens Hotel Suites for your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience all this may have caused you. Once a reservation is made the rate is locked in and this confirmation is generated automatically and sent to you with all this information. We have undergone several renovations and we are under new management. We can assure...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 23 February 2015

When I arrived, there was nobody in the front-desk. after waiting for a while - the man doing laundry had to help me, even though he didn't know how the computers work or anything. He gave me the keys for a room that was "clean".. I could see that they tried to make it look clean, but the bedclothing had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim Stian Tjelt... E
AthensHotelSuites14, Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Athens Hotel Suites for your stay. We apologize that your stay with us was not satisfactory. We have undergone several renovations as well as new management. We can assure you a quality stay and experience here. Please reconsider stay with the Athens Hotel Suites and we look forward to seeing you soon at a special rate...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 16 February 2015

My wife and I bought tickets to see Bob Seger in concert on Valentine's Day this year at the Toyota Center in downtown Houston, Texas. I figured that I would book a room for one night (Saturday) as close as possible to the arena to avoid paying for parking and the headache of trying to fight traffic to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank KHAOTIK
Reviewed 15 February 2015

My husband and I booked this hotel through the Expedia website at the beginning of January for our Valentine's Day stay. On Valentine's Day at 10:00 am, just as we were getting ready to head to the hotel, the hotel called to tell us they didn't have a room for us afterall and they were booked for the night. I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Dennis-1998
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

Went to Houston with a group of friends, one of which booked our hotel here. On the drive in from Dallas I looked up the hotel my friend booked on Trip Advisor to read the reviews. After the fifth review about this hotel "not finding" reservations, I called the hotel to check on our booking. They did not have any...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shanda G

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#105 of 504 in Houston
94 reviews
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Club Quarters Hotel in Houston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
Aloft Houston Downtown
#222 of 504 in Houston
47 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Athens Hotel & Suites is your home away from home when you come to visit beautiful Houston, TX. Book a room today for your next stay with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Athens Hotel Suites

Address: 1308 Clay St, Houston, TX 77002-7102 (Formerly Rainbow Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Price Range: $185 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Athens Hotel Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Athens Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Houston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

See which rooms travellers prefer

“it's close to a lot of business and events parks mall restaurants”
JANIEFROMHTOWN, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not book this hotel!”
600angelae, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“very quiet overall”
PCJOS, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Good location for convention centre”
B698EGdianeb, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Never book a hotel before looking at their reviews!”
680cierrar, 16 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5