Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University

Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University

Traveller (45)
Room & Suite (8)
Residence Inn Houston-West University
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Marriott Bonvoy member rate available
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
C$256
Breakfast included
C$256
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#225 of 537 hotels in Houston
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

2939 Westpark Dr, Houston, TX 77005-4222
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Hobby Airport
16.9 km
See all flights
George Bush Intercontinental Airport
30.2 km
See all flights
198Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 75
  • 62
  • 35
  • 12
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
our56 wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia520 contributions152 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was large and very well set up and very comfortable. We found all the amenities of the room very good and also the hotel was well set up with a nice pool and also the breakfast area too. Breakfast was basic but easy to get yourself a good start to the day with cerals DIY waffles and other breafast staples. Location was good too with an easy walk to a handy shopping mall and many eateries to choose from. We chose this hotel mainly for the location as we could walk to all the places we wanted to visit including Lakewood Church just 20 minute stroll. Recomend this hotel if visiting Lakewood Church.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from houstonwunirigm, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Mar 23, 2020
Hello our56, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our amenities and guest rooms. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
odie1 wrote a review Jan 2021
Connecticut967 contributions146 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a two bedroom suite. The room was fine- nothing stood out either way but the grounds of the hotel were littered with trash and cigarette butts. There was a dental glosser in the elevator ( That was there when we checked in and still there the next day when we checked out). Only one elevator worked. The mini store was lacking in just about everything with empty freezers and dirty fridges. We never received our electronic key. The parking lot is dark dark dark so bring a flashlight!
Not the worst Residence Inn experience but not the best either- even taking covid into consideration.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Garcia, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Jan 5, 2021
Hi Odie1, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for your less than exceptional stay with us here. We will definitely go over these issues and take the proper steps to correct them so that it does not happen again in the future. Just to note, we do not have electronic keys at our property, though it may be something in the future. Due to the pandemic we have limitations on certain things we carry, but we will look into what things we are able to change. We appreciate your feedback!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wendy-CakeTurners wrote a review Sep 2021
Lumberton, Texas211 contributions67 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
On the surface this RI looks ok. After being here a couple of nights I have found they don't clean the stairwells, there is a piece of dog food on the floor under the sink, and stains on the carpet in the living area. The room is old and has been touched up but it still has frayed carpet edges at the door ways, damaged then repainted door jams, ultra low flow in the bathroom sink. I would have stayed at the RI medical center and dealt with the traffic had I known this is what this site was like. The other part that is no fault of the hotel is that there are a LOT of people from SE La that have evacuated from Ida. So there are a significant number of loud children.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Island Hospitality Management, Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Sep 8, 2021
Our apologies for your experience, as this is not our standards and we take cleanliness very seriously. We will share your message appropriately within the organization.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul wrote a review Jan 2023
48 contributions30 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was due to stay for 3 nights and checked out after 1! I arrived to find my room (430) run down, dirty and look liked it had been cleaned in a rush or not at all. I was concerned before I arrived in the room as the lobby, hotel and elevator had a look of being tired, dirty and rundown. There are signs everywhere about needing to book housekeeping in advance and when you see the disgusting way the rooms are maintained by housekeeping you wonder why bother as they are not clean when a new guest arrives! The dust and dirt was just vile. They have a sign saying that they follow Covid cleaning protocols, this is a blatant untruth in this room and covid is the least of your worries here as based on the cleanliness of my room Listeria and other dirt based viruses are a bigger risk factor, When discussing with other guests they said their rooms were the same. The heating/AC was so loud in the room and the vent cover was hanging off the wall. I tried to call and then visit the front desk to let them know these things, but there was no one there each time I tried. When I checked out I was waiting for someone to come to the desk and after a few minutes the Manager stepped out of his office to attend me. He asked how my stay was and I let him know the issues. There was no response other than surprise on his face, no apology and no discussion about how it can be rectified, he just did not seem to care. They seem to be a nickel and dime operation as they even charge you $6 to park in an unsecure parking lot out front that is not busy, I think it is a liberty when properties in low demand areas charge for parking, its just another hidden revenue stream. The breakfast is very basic and they offer the least possible that they need to offer under the brand guidelines. I stay at many Residence Inns and this has to be one of the worst I have ever stayed in. Photos below are evidence of the above.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and if you must stay here bring cleaning materials and ear plugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Travis Severson, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Jan 14, 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Please contact me at the hotel directly to discuss this matter. As the new General Manager of the hotel, I am working with the new ownership and brand-new management company to update the property and help this hotel become one of the best in all of Houston. We are very excited for what the future brings.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GBR21 wrote a review Jul 2021
texas6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at a 2 bedroom suite. The room was deteriorated and the AC kept breaking down. The room had a musty smell. House cleaning had to be requested in advance and even after we requested it, they did not always came to clean the room. The hotel constantly smells like food and people leave their trash outside of their room adding to the smell. Manager is rude and does not care. Security is non-existant. My car was vandelized steps away from the front entrance. All 4 tires were stollen. Hotel did not take any responsibility since it is park at your own risk. There are no cameras on the property. Not safe nor sanatary. If you have pets, they will get fleas since the grounds are full of feces and managment wont clean up.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shelly Halladay, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Dear Guest , Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard Houston-West University and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent any guest issues from occurring in the future. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during these unusual times. Sincerely, LaWanda Washington Director of Operations Courtyard/Residence Inn houstonwunidirops@ih-corp.com 713-661-4660
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dennis G wrote a review Sep 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Been going to this RI in Houston for over two years now. Something has happened between May and September 2021. Laundry areas are filthy and machines are not working and the laundry rooms are smelly like mold; there are water leaks in top floor rooms and resulting bubbling of drywall; only saw one person cleaning rooms the entire week I was there; towels and garbage are DIY; service levels down. Need major changes asap.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Island Hospitality Management, Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Oct 14, 2021
I am so sorry to read your feedback. It is not the type of feedback we usually receive and again I am so sorry for your less than perfect experience. We seek to provide a great experience for all of our guests and hope to have another opportunity to do that for you in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bob g wrote a review Aug 2022
Tyler, Texas25 contributions30 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed at this property at least 10 times over the past three years on my frequent trips to the Medical Center.

I have noticed a decline in its upkeep and roaches present during the past couple of visits, tv not working properly toilet problems, and the most recent experience was the worst.

I was overcharged on my bill even though I had the reservation in hand and was told 'there was nothing the front desk could do about it but management would take care of it'.

I had to frequently call them over the next couple of weeks to correct the problem and they were unable to do so. In fact, the local manager refused to even speak to me anymore and left messages with his staff to let me know that.

I had to finally contact Marriott guest services who corrected the problem for me. It took three weeks to get my credit on the credit card I used.

Not a good experience so I told Marriott that I would look elsewhere for my future hotel plans in Houston.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Heatherly, Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Aug 23, 2022
On behalf of our entire staff, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience. I have addressed these issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JoyT54 wrote a review Mar 2022
Fort Worth, Texas56 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My go to when traveling is usually Residence Inn. However this one is on my do not go ever list. Found a dirty footprint in the bath tub and after much complaining the front desk guy came because there was no housekeeping on duty. Turns out it was a rust stain that would not come off. Ok. We also discovered our phone wasn’t working so they brought a new phone and tried it at 3 different outlets. Said they would have to call the phone company. In the meantime use your cell phone. Next morning we woke up congested and sore throat. Looked at the air intake vent which was blackened by heavy dust and dirt build up. Complained about it but wasn’t fixed for 2 days. So much for enhanced cleaning! This hotel is showing some serious wear along with a skeleton staff who cannot keep up with the problems. I will never know if these things were fixed because on my next visit to Houston I’ll go somewhere else. On another note fyi, this hotel does not have any king bed rooms at all, or so they said.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: No king beds at all in this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Heatherly, Owner at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Nov 10, 2022
Dear Guest. On behalf of our entire team, we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience. I have addressed your issues with our team. I assure you that we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Agustín P wrote a review Aug 2021
San Jose, Costa Rica28 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived they couldn’t give us the 2 BR unit, so they gave us 2 1BR, which made everything better and comfier. The FD staff is super friendly, and welcomed me and my family with a cold bottle of water. (It was really hot outside). I wish we could’ve stayed longer, it was a really nice place and would totally repeat. Breakfast was good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shelly Halladay, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Aug 23, 2021
Dear Guest, On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Courtyard Houston-West University. It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests. Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We also recognize these are unusual times and we thank you for choosing to stay with us. Sincerely, LaWanda Washington Director of Operations Courtyard/Residence Inn houstonwunidirops@ih-corp.com 713-661-4660
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DYoung wrote a review Feb 2021
Dallas, Texas49 contributions48 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was underwhelming at first but I warmed up to it and ended up staying for a week. I had booked 2 room suite but the elevator on that side of the building was not working and apparently had not been working for a while. The staff that checked me was rather nonchalant. It was late so I decided to change to a smaller room on first floor. The room was neat and spacious but the heating/cooling system was a little loud.

My plan was to check out the next day, but I ran into Brandi who had excellent customer service, she had someone check the heating and did her best to make us comfortable so I ended up staying. The facility was clean and quiet, no noisy neighbors, I particularly liked the layout of the room. they had free to-go breakfast covid style. House keeping was good. Nothing spectacular but it served the purpose.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shelly Halladay, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Responded Feb 3, 2021
DamYoung, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while you were with us. We are happy to know that our wonderful customer service gave you a reason to stay with us. If there is anything else we can do for you in the future, feel free to contact the hotel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Lori L
Louisville, Kentucky287 contributions46 helpful votes
They do have a shuttle. I can't remember the exact mile range but I don't think they go to the airport.
Paul wrote a tip Jan 2023
48 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else and if you must stay here bring cleaning materials and ear plugs"
Read full review
astroman wrote a tip Apr 2022
Baltimore, Maryland45 contributions33 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else!"
Read full review
JoyT54 wrote a tip Mar 2022
Fort Worth, Texas56 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No king beds at all in this hotel."
Read full review
NeenasGoneAgain wrote a tip May 2019
Orange, Texas91 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This 4th floor suite had living/kitchen area with TV and separate bedroom/bathroom with TV and door."
Read full review
scottybod wrote a tip Jul 2018
San Antonio, TX66 contributions90 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose a room in the back, away from the front door."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Houston area.
PRICE RANGE
C$185 - C$272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn houston west university hotel houston, houston residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHouston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
120
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University: UPDATED 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Nearby attractions include McGonigel's Mucky Duck (0.9 km), Lakewood Church (1.1 km), and Color Factory (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Goode Company Seafood, Goode Company BBQ, and Kata Robata.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens (3.7 km), Buffalo Bayou Park Cistern (6.1 km), and Sam Houston Park (6.2 km).
All Houston HotelsHouston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoustonHotels near Residence Inn by Marriott Houston-West University
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars