Modern B & B

Modern B & B

Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (19)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
Breakfast included
C$252
Fully refundable before Sat, Jun 1
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
C$252
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#88 of 538 hotels in Houston
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
This dramatic four-story bed and breakfast is a unique alternative with fab rooms, artists' works on walls, exercise equipment and shaded verandas that present panoramic views above the tree line. Come stay with us and experience a different kind of bed and breakfast! We also offer an intimate setting in the heart of Houston that is perfect for hosting meetings, dinner parties or wedding receptions!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Tennis court
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Special diet menus
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German

Location

4003 Hazard St, Houston, TX 77098-3407
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 64 out of 100
64
Hobby Airport
16.1 km
See all flights
George Bush Intercontinental Airport
28.7 km
See all flights
231Reviews1Q+A55Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 42
  • 14
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Distinctivetraveller wrote a review Jun 2021
Mexico City, Mexico33 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed several times in this B&B and can attest that the owner is always caring for her guests, even cooking dellcious breakfast for all. The hotel room is very clean, hot water always and the bed is very comfortable that lets you sleep endlessly. It is quiet inside so you don't hear other neighbors. The location is stellar, just blocks from many things to do in Houston and definitely recommend it a lot
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Lisa is the owner, operator and is always looking out for her guests
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie P wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I literally hate writing reviews, but this one was important for me to do because Modern B&B so exceeded my expectations. Houston was hosting one of their largest conventions, so hotel rooms were an enormous premium. I decided to look further out and came across Modern B&B. The price seemed a bit low, which is usually a clue of something wrong, but I decided that it was because there were common meeting areas. Turns out it is a collection of townhouses, so the common areas are kitchens and living rooms. Lisa, the owner, is simply amazing. She not only upgraded me to a more private room, but invited me to join them socially for two amazing dinners. I met some of the neatest people, ate incredible food, thoroughly enjoyed my time and felt so at home. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was absolutely perfect. This is a great option both for short and longer term stays. This will be my go-to place in Houston each time I visit and I look forward to doing so again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Lower floors are easiest to access.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Janice M wrote a review Jan 2021
DeSoto TX1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Modern B&B is a great place to stay. The common rooms for breakfast or just hanging out have an inspiring atmosphere, are comfortable, and spacious. Our bedroom was cozy with a spacious closet. Our bathroom had a tub with a strong shower and plenty of hot water.

We enjoyed walking in the neighborhood. A grocery store is only a couple of blocks away, a chocolate store is just around the corner.

The best part of Modern B&B is the kind and friendly host, Lisa, who cooks terrific breakfasts, and keeps coffee/tea and more available during the day.

Modern B&B is close to downtown, close to the museum district, and really gives you a good impression of life in Houston.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TravelBoy53 wrote a review Apr 2022
Strong, Maine188 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A sweet place to stay in the city of Houston. They have a variety of nice accommodations in a couple of buildings on Hazard Street. Safe place to stay. Close to many good restaurants, bars, and businesses. Breakfast is delicious with a great variety and generally good company.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This place can be a little difficult to spot from the street in your car but the office is on the...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charles R wrote a review Apr 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Modern B and B in Houston’s Montrose neighborhood is a hip gem. Funky modern architecture and a great vibe from innkeeper LIsa and her terrific staff make the place feel like home. Breakfast made to order is a real treat. Wonderful!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bobby G wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a weekend stay for a seminar held nearby. The room was fine and the location was convenient. Breakfast was good. I paid by credit card in person. I left a positive review.... I discovered my credit card was billed a second time 1 week later w/o my authorization. I disputed the 2nd charge w/ my CC. I called Modern B&B, two different times, several weeks apart. They admitted mistake and assured me the charge would be credited. 7 weeks later my CC is still not credited for the improper charge...Not happy with their business practice. Hope I don't have to sue!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: The stay was fine. I didn't expect a luxury B&B and didn't get one. Definitely check your CC a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rycetkb wrote a review Feb 2007
Texas1 contribution29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Usually when someone is rude to their maid, it’s a pretty good indication about what kind of person they are. This should have been my first insight into the nature of the owners of the Modern BB. At the time I figured a bed and breakfast owner wouldn’t be snotty and pretentious to paying guests who had reserved their room for two nights, weeks in advance. This assumption turned out to be a very large mistake.

My boyfriend and I live in different cities, only getting to spend weekends together. We were meeting up in Houston on Friday at Modern BB to celebrate Valentine’s Day and attend the wedding of a close friend of mine. This weekend was very important to us.

Although we both have a youthful appearance, we are both professionals with extensive degrees and many years of working experience. Assuming that we were students, Lisa, the owner, made several snide remarks during breakfast alluding to the stereotype she had assigned to us and bragging about the lawyers and doctors that had arrived.

We let the snide comments go and left on Saturday afternoon to attend the wedding. As we drove up to the parking lot for the wedding, I received a phone call from Lisa, wanting to know why we had not checked out of our room. I told her that our reservation was for two nights. She told me I was wrong, so I apologized and told her I would call back when I had an opportunity to look at our confirmation document. Upon finding the document 15 minutes later, I returned her call to inform her that we had indeed reserved the room for two nights. She promised that she would figure it out, but little did I know that prior to even checking to see if she had made a booking mistake, she had already ordered the maid to pack up our belongings.

I spent the rest of the entire evening on the phone with Lisa. I was unable to enjoy my friend’s wedding or the company of my boyfriend. Although Lisa did extend a feeble attempt at an apology, she blamed the incident on me, telling me that she had only charged my credit card for one night and that it was my fault for not telling her at that time that we were reserved for two nights. This is preposterous to me as most hotels charge the full amount of your stay at the end of your visit as to include any and all incidentals.

Lisa informed me that she was giving the room to her other guests, citing her reasons that they were older than us. I have never worked in the hotel industry, but as far as I understand, standard policy generally dictates that a guest already staying in the room would have priority over newly arriving guests, so I am baffled by this decision.

We were left for the evening without our luggage. We had no clothes or toiletries and we stayed in a cheap motel for the evening. We had one car between the two of us, which my boyfriend had to use for an early morning appointment. I pulled some strings and was able to get someone to drive me 45 minutes to go pick up my car and our jumbled belongings.

After spending the entire evening and the wedding sorting out the Modern BB’s mistake, the real clincher was the unapologetic and nonchalant attitude I received when I arrived to collect my belongings. It was obvious that the management perceived the incident as not their problem or responsibility.

I will never stay at the Modern BB again and unless you enjoy a nightmare double booking in the middle of a concrete forest with rude and pretentious hosts, I would encourage you not to stay there either.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2007
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lkspin wrote a review Aug 2011
Nehalem, Oregon21 contributions19 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. The proprietor is one of the rudest people I have ever dealt with. After receiving confirmation of my reservation she called and cancelled it saying she had someone more important to rent it to. I love to give business to people who actually want it but...I never give business or recommendations to people that ride brooms and wear hats. This proprietor is definitely the latter. If your ever in Houston, TX take your business elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heidi S wrote a review Apr 2017
8 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of this B&B (walking-distance to the Menil) and decor were good, but the quality of service provided was poor and I think this is because the owner, Lisa, seems unaware of what it means to be in a service business. When we arrived, she was out and a staff-member checked us in. Lisa arrived about 15 minutes later with her husband and neither of them even acknowledged us, even though we were all standing in the kitchen area. When we eventually started to discuss using the elevator to take our bags to the 3rd floor, Lisa finally spoke up to say we must be "fancy-pants people, since only fancy-pants people stay in the Treehouse Room." I found this offensive.

The Treehouse Room was very large, as was the closet and bathroom, but there was a half-dead plant in the room, a mirror in the closet that couldn't be used since the lights were not working, a sink that was missing a drain, and dirty towels. The 1st day we were there, the bed was made, and the towels replaced, but instead of 2 hand-towels, we had 1, and 3 washcloths. The 2nd day the bed was still not made by the time we got back at 4p and then half-hour later someone knocked on the door wanting to make up the room. There was a dirty wine glass outside another room for 3 days before it was removed.

If you are going to tout your daily "chef-cooked breakfast" on your website then you should deliver. If the website says "great happy-hour", it shouldn't be a bottle of 2-buck Chuck and a couple of small bowls of nuts.

The breakfasts were poor. Besides weak coffee, no cream, bread in supermarket packages, the 1st day, when the usual cook was there, a guest asked if she was making omelets and she told him no since if she made them for 1 person, every one would want one (there were 3 of us at the table). Instead we got a waffle with cheap syrup. The 2nd day, we came down to an empty table except for Lisa eating breakfast at the table and talking on her cell phone. At some point another guest came in and she then had a discussion with him about buying houses in Houston (being a real-estate agent is another gig for her). This conversation could easily have been held in the adjoining living room. There was a different cook in the kitchen who we had to ask what was for breakfast, and she very sullenly told us she could make what we wanted, and we had to drag out of her what was available. The 3rd day, Lisa announced at breakfast that she managed to make quiche even though she really wasn't much of a cook since the regular cook was out with a back injury. She proceeded to tell us that the cook had to keep working since she hadn't save enough for retirement. Then a friend of hers showed up for breakfast and she and Lisa sat at the table and had a loud conversation about the friend's poorly behaved child. The last day, the regular cook was back and when we came down she was seated in the kitchen reading the newspaper. Lisa was again at the dining table eating and yakking with her friend. No one offered us anything for breakfast and I had to go up to the cook to ask what she was making. She said there was left-over quiche from yesterday (1 piece sitting out on the counter), half of a waffle she had already made, or she could make eggs any way, but no omelets.

What I expect from a B&B is decent housekeeping, well-maintained rooms, decent breakfast, and most importantly an awareness that guests are not your family or friends and should receive professional treatment from staff and, most importantly, the owner.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ModernLisa, Front Office Manager at Modern B & B
Responded May 3, 2017
Dear Guest, We at the Modern take big pride in treating our guest as family we apologize if you found this offensive. Thank you for your feedback we will take it all into consideration. We truly apologize for not meeting your expectations. Through it all we appreciate your business and wish you the best. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. Sincerely from all of us at the Modern.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
VrmSjm1018 wrote a review May 2014
Fair Lawn, New Jersey80 contributions44 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently had a death in the family and need a place to stay for one night. Modern's website indicated that they had one room but that the policy was for a reservation with a minimum of 3 nights. (Houston has a major convention going on and all other places are booked) I sent an email to Lisa explaining my situation, asking if an exception could be made, after no response via email I decided to call… I felt it was worth a shot. I got Lisa on the first shot, explained who I was, she remembered the email and cut me off stating that she had no rooms and couldn't help; conversation over. There was no expression of sympathy for my loss or suggestion for another hotel or even we hope you consider us in the future. I am very disappointed with the overall experience and will not consider this place for my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ModernLisa, Owner at Modern B & B
Responded May 4, 2014
I’m so sorry for your loss and apologize for being short with you. I had several guests trying to check in when you called and I was receiving another call on the other line. Since we are not a hotel, this can be a one-man-show at times, meaning that we don’t have a front desk person, a reservation person, etc. and this happened to be one of those times where I was completely swamped with many things at once. I hope you can fully understand that this was not personal at all, I am just trying to run my business as smooth and efficiently as I possibly can.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chicnlana asked a question Jul 2016
Cypress, Texas4 contributions6 helpful votes
What is your Pet policy and which rooms allow small dog (17lbs)
Answer from ModernLisa
2 contributions1 helpful vote
There is a $30 one time pet fee. Park place , fantail and mod rooms are the only ones where pets are allowed
bailingan wrote a tip Feb 2024
Cambridge, Massachusetts26 contributions30 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fun. Inspiring deaign"
Read full review
Bobby G wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The stay was fine. I didn't expect a luxury B&B and didn't get one. Definitely check your CC a week or two later for "accidental" charges."
Read full review
Julie P wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lower floors are easiest to access."
Read full review
TravelBoy53 wrote a tip Apr 2022
Strong, Maine188 contributions66 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This place can be a little difficult to spot from the street in your car but the office is on the 2nd floor at the address listed on the website. "
Read full review
Distinctivetraveller wrote a tip Jun 2021
Mexico City, Mexico33 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lisa is the owner, operator and is always looking out for her guests"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Houston area.
PRICE RANGE
C$161 - C$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
modern bed and breakfast, modern hotel houston
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHouston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Modern B & B - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Modern B & B
What are some of the property amenities at Modern B & B?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Modern B & B?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Modern B & B?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Modern B & B?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Modern B & B?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Modern B & B?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and German.
All Houston HotelsHouston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoustonHotels near Modern B & B
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars