Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel

bedbug bites
Traveller (102)
King Room with NRG Stadium view
Room & Suite (67)
Last friday, my husband had the pork chop. he said it was the best he had ever had...and eats ou
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
C$559
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#144 of 540 hotels in Houston
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

Our Holiday Inn Houston NRG /Medical Area is located next door to NRG Stadium and NRG Park in south Houston. The hotel is easily accessible from the 610 loop and the downtown, while Minute Maid Park, Museum District and the George R. Brown Convention Center are just minutes away. The Texas Medical Center is less than two miles away and the hotel offers shuttle transportation to all of these medical facilities including the acclaimed MD Anderson Cancer Center. The popular Houston Museum District is just minutes from our Houston, Texas hotel near Hermann Park including the Houston Zoo.

Our hotel in Houston offers spacious rooms and suites with plenty of room for the whole family. Top hotel amenities include mini fridges and microwaves and Keurig Coffee Maker with daily coffee in all of our hotel guest rooms. Hotel provides work areas with premium business features such as complimentary wireless Internet and complimentary local and 1-800 calls.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

8111 Kirby Dr., Houston, TX 77054
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles445 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
The Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr is a hit for its strategic location close to the NRG stadium, which many guests find convenient. Its clean, comfortable rooms, alongside amenities like a gym, bar, and restaurant, earn rave reviews. While some travelers have raised concerns about room upkeep, the overall cleanliness and attentive housekeeping receive commendation. The hotel's service stands out for its professionalism and warmth, though it's not without its detractors. Guests are divided on value, with opinions fluctuating between satisfaction and critique regarding pricing and cleanliness.
Location
Convenient
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
445Reviews10Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 155
  • 118
  • 81
  • 51
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
pwc2017 wrote a review Jan 2024
Los Angeles, California9 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I picked this hotel because of its barely 10 minutes walk to NRG Stadium. We were here for the College Football Championship Game on Jan. 8th. While the price for our King Suite Top Floor was very high, the convenience of this location to the stadium made it worth the extra dollars.

The suite was neat, simple and had all the basic necessities. It met its purpose for our weekend.

The view of the NRG Stadium was icing on the cake! We thank Jonah at the Front Desk for making this happen. I told him our purpose of the stay and he made sure we got the suite with that view. Prior to our arrival, I had called several times and each time, he answered my questions completely, reassuringly and with the utmost of manners. Within an hour after our check in, Jonah called to make sure everything was okay because he remembered me from our prior phone conversations. Wow! He is awesome! Thank you Johan for making this extra special for me and my son. Go Blue!
Pat C.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emma K wrote a review Apr 2023
Australia38 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
5 stars for the location being so close to NRG park. 3 stars for the actual hotel. My room was clean, a good size, and safe.
I booked for the location and paid way more than the room was worth but the walking distance to NRG park made it worth it.
There was a long queue for check in at 3:00pm as there was a concert on at the stadium starting at 4:30pm. It would have been nice if they could have started checking people in earlier on these special occasions if possible.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
GunnerRetz wrote a review Aug 2022
Corpus Christi, Texas100 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We've stayed at this location and will continue to do so. The hotel is currently under renovation, so it isn't up the normal standards of everything being in its place. The spa is empty due to it being worked on, but don't let that stop you from staying here.

We were greeted by Marco as our check in clerk who was inviting and professional. We reserved 2 rooms that were connected with 2 queen beds in each. Accommodations were what we expected with them being tidy and clean. The bathrooms aren't large, but fully functional with hot water that could peel skin off if not careful. The tub shower combo has a fantastic shower head with excellent water pressure.

We called the front desk asking for an extra blanket and received it within minutes, no questions asked. The restaurant was open for breakfast, but not for dinner. The bar had a full menu through their open hours.

We walked out the back of the hotel to the connecting parking lot to see Garth Brooks' final night of his stadium tour 2022. It was awesome to just walk the 10-12 minutes to the NRG Stadium, the only issue is that the gate was locked when we returned and we had to walk around the property to the front of the hotel. Unfortunate, but certainly not a deal breaker.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilshoist wrote a review Feb 2020
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Woke up at 9am to discover shower, sink and toilet water disconnected. The front desk advised that we should have been informed that there would be no water service for maintenance. We were given a bottle of water to use to brush our teeth. We returned to the hotel at 8pm and the water in our room was still disconnected. Front desk confirmed there was no water and could not advise whether it was a problem specific to our room only, a planned maintenance or an emergency repair work. Front desk could also offer no estimation of when the water would be back on. My partner left at 11pm to return to duty without having showered since the previous morning. Before midnight the water cane back on but cold water only. I gave up on trying for a warm shower at 3am and left early the next morning without showering. We were met with hostility by staff when we had inquired about the water service. They were very dismissive and offered no apology or solution. I have since read another review from one month ago where another guests says her family encountered the exact same issue and also did not shower for two days. I wonder how frequently the service is unavailable. For the fees paid to stay here, I think it is reasonable to expect that you can shower, brush your teeth and flush the toilet. If hygiene is of nil importance to you, then you will love this Holiday Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Hello Hilshoist, Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I want a complete lodging experience for you and I am sorry to learn about the issues with the water supply during your visit. Along with your observations about the level of service received, I have shared your comments with the hotel management. I trust that the measures taken will avoid similar issues from reoccurring in the future. I have also sent you a private message regarding your experience. I hope you give our hotel another try! Best regards, Clayton G. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChgoJohn wrote a review Apr 2021
Chicago, Illinois232 contributions131 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a week while in town on business. It is an ok hotel with the exception of housekeeping. The cleaning staff entered my room every day but never really cleaned or replaced anything. Even with the privacy tag on my door, they entered the room. I told the front desk staff several times about this but it continued.

About two days in, my sink clogged and filled up. Towels are hard to come by and the shower takes about 20 min to heat up. This hotel needs to spend some money and update its rooms.

I wouldn't stay here again for the simple fact that the cleaning staff is unable to respect the guest's privacy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel
Responded Apr 26, 2021
Hi ChgoJohn, I'm glad you provided a feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay at our Holiday Inn Houston - NRG/Medical Center Area! Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with excellent service and comfortable accommodations. I am sorry to learn about the issues encountered during your recent stay with us, particularly with the lapses of our housekeeping staff, the concerns surrounding the sink and shower, as well as the limited towels. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. We may have tripped on making your stay remarkable, but I hope you'd allow us to make things right next time that you're in the area. Cheers, June A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annette C wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Holiday Inn NRG for the 1st time and were graciously greated by Jonesha at the front desk. She was kind and knowledgeable and was able to answer just about all of our questions. I mentioned I lost my hairbrush and she brought a brandnew comb stil wrapped in plastic to my room. The one question she was not able to answer, regarding the pool, she quickly made a call and provided us with the answer. What was suprising was it was only her 4th day working there. She was helpful throughout our entire stay. The workers cleaning our room did an excellent job and were very courteous as was the gentleman taking care of the pool. There were always clean towels available for the guest and he was always making certain the area was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
floydw672 wrote a review Aug 2021
Dallas, United States3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel August 14; building dreary, the room ok, particularly if using for hourly rental which would seem best use. light switches didn't work; tv had some basic service but didn't even carry the local sports teams; ice maker in hall non functioning, halls and building needed paint Hotel bought through a blind listing for $71 and completely blindsided with a $7 parking fee. Suggest going elsewhere unless prices get more in line with what is offered.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go elsewhere for better experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2021
Dear floydw672, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize that the ice maker and the light switch in your room did not work. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eddie H wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Horribly dirty rooms and still charged for 1 night after I left within 10 minutes, I wrote a review on IHG app and they have not approved it nor the pictures so they are dishonest about the ratings there. Bed covers were torn and unidentified stains everywhere. The workers seemed nice but they had to call a manager to “approve” my cancellation
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay here Residence Inn isn’t too far away MUCH cleaner.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel
Responded Dec 25, 2023
Hi Eddie H, We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Houston South - NRG Area - Medical Center for your leisure stay. We strive to give an impressive hotel experience, and I apologize for what happened during your stay. We value every bit of our guest experience and will notify our upper hotel management team. I assure you that we will take necessary corrective measures to avoid any issues from occurring again. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope we'll remain your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David C wrote a review Oct 2023
Hammond, Louisiana74 contributions41 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to stay if doing anything at NRG stadium, for games they open a gate for you to walk into NRG parking lot. Rooms and overall hotel is very clean.only negative is $7 a night for parking and breakfast isn't free. But still gave 5 stars after our experience around the corner at Wingate, which is old and dirty
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sharnetta J wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I would have given it a 5 star if breakfast was a flat rate and our we didn’t have issues with our tub. But for the most part other than that a central location to everything. Staff was amazing! The host for breakfast was sweet as pie!!!! I would have like if they provided something complimentary for my birthday. But Shan i think that’s her name at the front desk wished my a happy birthday!!! The beds were comfortable and I like that there was a patrol car outside if made me feel safe. Will definitely stay again! For sure! Hands down!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking is $7 a day There is a $50 incidental fee added on top of your reservation. But it’s...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Deirdre Salinas, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel
Responded Aug 7, 2023
Thank you for staying with us. I apologize for the issues that you encountered at the hotel with your tub and the breakfast. However, we are so glad you enjoyed our staff and your birthday celebration. The team here at Holiday Inn works very hard and it's so rewarding when we see it pay off. I will be sure to share this with the team. Thank you again and we hope to see you again here soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from pdSixty8
Austin, Texas2,727 contributions245 helpful votes
I recommend using Uber or Lyft. There is a METRORail station to go to downtown. It is at 7801 GreenBriar Dr. and just 3 blocks away from this hotel.
Answer from Freeman
Granbury, United States22 contributions9 helpful votes
You can call and ask what their radius is for shuttles.
387melanied asked a question Dec 2016
Buna, Texas226 contributions76 helpful votes
We are staying for the Texans game, is the pool heated?
Answer from Tom W
Houston, Texas
Sorry our pool is not heated but we do have a hot tub that is.
Texas_Roadrunner_77 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Texas64 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to get in and get parked before rodeo traffic comes in. Very easy to get an Uber to anywhere."
Read full review
Haley wrote a tip Jan 2024
Burkburnett, Texas1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking in a gated lot, with overnight security."
Read full review
Eddie H wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here Residence Inn isn’t too far away MUCH cleaner."
Read full review
Mark B wrote a tip Nov 2023
London, United Kingdom29 contributions39 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid breakfast if Olga is on."
Read full review
BRANDS U wrote a tip Sep 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ready to meet pleasant people as this hotel is right beside NRG stadium."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Houston area.
PRICE RANGE
C$152 - C$279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn houston reliant park area hotel houston
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHouston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rodeo Houston or Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo (0.4 km), NRG Stadium (0.4 km), and NRG Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dimassi's Mediterranean Buffet, Olive Garden Italian Kitchen, and Five Guys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens (7.5 km), Rienzi Mansion (7.4 km), and First Presbyterian Church of Houston (4.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Houston HotelsHouston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoustonHotels near Holiday Inn Houston S - NRG Area - Med Ctr, an IHG Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars