OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway

OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway

Big spider I killed in bathroom
Traveller (26)
Washroom
Room & Suite (69)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.0
#540 of 542 hotels in Houston
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Value

OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway is a budget hotel with standardised amenities at the best value. They offer a superior check-in experience and parking facility for your convenience. Located 19 miles from the Houston Zoo and 19 miles from Hermann Park, this hotel is located in the heart of Houston.

Special Features

Book a stay at this hotel and enjoy free wifi, AC, TV, and a king sized bed.

For guests looking for a place to stay that offers quality amenities, this is the perfect place. This hotel offers Fire-Extinguisher, Housekeeping, and Vending Machine.

Location & Transportation

The accommodation is 19 miles away from Houston Museum of Natural Science, 18 miles away from Discovery Green and 17 miles away from Downtown Aquarium. The hotel is 27 miles away from William P. Hobby Airport.

★ Travelling with partner? You're in luck, this hotel has served more than 10000 couple stays as an OYO Host.

★ OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway has been delighting guests since 30 Oct 2019.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Private bathrooms
Whirlpool bathtub
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars

Location

14833 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77094
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Hobby Airport
38.8 km
See all flights
George Bush Intercontinental Airport
37.5 km
See all flights
45Reviews4Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 3
  • 7
  • 5
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hunter wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel looks like a Junk yard filled with trash everywhere. Worst part is the room had mildew in the bathroom, room had funny smell. Hotel will not refund your money when you book and go there just to find out it is garbage. Stay away you will be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
King L wrote a review Aug 2021
Houston, Texas1,017 contribution35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Filthy, Bugs in fridge, holes in tub. Made the room stink. Go somewhere else. AC mold, floor was not clean oily floor.
DON'T GO.
Towels to clean floor front desk would not exchange. What a terrible place. Dangerous.
Nothing clean. Tired staff.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't go. Sleep in car, better
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
perry_poon wrote a review Mar 2021
Irving, Texas87 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am writing this in my room right now. I wish I had done more research about this place. I do not feel safe in this motel. If I didn't arrived at 10:30 pm due to traffic I would've stay elsewhere. When I pulled into the parking lot it was full of shady people. The room reeked of the most unpleasant smell. There's mold in the bathroom. Little roaches are also there. I'm just waiting for the sunrise and get out of here and I don't care if I payed for 2 nights. Booked a different hotel for my second night. I've stayed at some bad places before but this one takes the cake. So...stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ScamReport wrote a review Aug 2014
Houston, Texas1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I requested a non-smoking room, but it was given a room with ashtrays. When complained, they come up with the excuse that all the rooms have ashtrays. I told Kimberly (front desk clerk) that I had not been born yesterday for her to give me such an excuse. She said that if I did not like the ashtrays, I could throw them away. I said that’s not the answer I expected. She said harshly that if I did not like it, I could leave. It was 1 AM, she she expects me to leave, right?

I said that I would complain about her with the corporate office because of harshly responding to a customer; she said I could do it. Because I was already in bed, I was in minor cloths, almost nude. Two minutes later someone was knocking at my door. A harsh male voice asked me to open the door. I got scared because one would never expect anybody at that time. I thought it was service to remove the ashtrays. When I look through the door eye-hole, I realized it was a deputy. I really thought something bad had happened to a member of my family. What a surprise when he tells me in a harsh way to leave the hotel because I had said profanities to the front desk clerk.

I was astonished! How could this woman dare to lie to this deputy to get me kick out of the room because I said I would complain about her? This deputy got inside of my room, invaded my privacy, violated my space, intimidated me. I demanded respect because I was paying for a service. He said they did not provide any service, and to leave. I was furious. I am complaining about that deputy with the Harris County.

I called Corporate, and they said I had to speak with the management of that Motel 6, directly. Sonia, the Assistant Manager, listened to part of my story, and rudely hung up on me. I recorded the conversation, and all of the conversations I have had with them to prove my claim. Instead of listening carefully and to promise they would call her attention or sanction her behavior, she hung up on me. The cure is worst than the disease. Those people are not taught customer service manners. The rudest hotel staff, I have ever dealt with.

The worst experience in that hotel: humiliated, harassed, and violated. A friend of mine, who was a police officer, told me that this location is very well known for drugs, and prostitution issues. I should have read reviews in advance. Save yourself a nightmare!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 6Team, Brand Experience Team member at OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway
Responded Sep 5, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your concerns. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize for your experience and for the unsatisfactory response you received to your complaints. We would like to know if you contacted our Guest Relations at 1-855-787-9864 when you said that you called our corporate office? We want to make sure that we have a record of your stay to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tecnetcom . wrote a review Sep 2014
5 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The worst Hotel and Staff ever!!!! Nightmare!!!

I requested a non-smoking room, but it was given a room with ashtrays. When complained, they come up with the excuse that all the rooms have ashtrays. I told Kimberly (front desk clerk) that I had not been born yesterday for her to give me such an excuse. She said that if I did not like the ashtrays, I could throw them away. I said that’s not the answer I expected. She said harshly that if I did not like it, I could leave. It was 1 AM, she expects me to leave, right?

I said that I would complain about her with the corporate office because of harshly responding to a customer; she said I could do it. Because I was already in bed, I was in minor cloths, almost nude. Two minutes later someone was knocking at my door. A harsh male voice asked me to open the door. I got scared because one would never expect anybody at that time. I thought it was service to remove the ashtrays. When I look through the door eye-hole, I realized it was a deputy. I really thought something bad had happened to a member of my family. What a surprise when he tells me in a harsh way to leave the hotel because I had said profanities to the front desk clerk.

I was astonished! How could this woman dare to lie to this deputy to get me kick out of the room because I said I would complain about her? This deputy got inside of my room, invaded my privacy, violated my space, and intimidated me. I demanded respect because I was paying for a service. He said they did not provide any service, and to leave. I was furious. I am complaining about that deputy with the Harris County.

I called Corporate, and they said I had to speak with the management of that Motel 6, directly. Sonia, the Assistant Manager, listened to part of my story, and rudely hung up on me. Unbelievable! I recorded the conversation, and all of the conversations I have had with them to prove my claim. Instead of listening carefully and to promise they would call her attention or sanction her behavior, she hung up on me. The cure is worst than the disease. Those people are not taught customer service manners. The rudest hotel staff, I have ever dealt with.

The worst experience in that hotel: humiliated, harassed, and violated. According to my findings, this location is very well known for questionable activities. I should have read reviews in advance. Save yourself a nightmare!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
spartan j wrote a review Apr 2014
Peoria, Illinois1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On easter day/week I stayed on third floor. I didn't want room service the woman wanted to clean anyway. althoug I was undressed. I was awake but in bed. saw her come in. I was wondering why she is taking so long. I saw her steal my $22 tweezers by putting it in trash. I got dressed, went to the hall. then she said no speak English but her English got well when we were late to checkout. she wouldn't give her name, and defense mechanism was to throw me out of the room even though we spoke to the front office for late checkout. Theres better motels in the vicinity. with a safe. dont leave anything out in their rooms. drunk noisy people in the hallway.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
traveler4k wrote a review Sep 2008
Beverly Hills, California1,708 contribution854 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is so creepy! The linens are frail. The hotel was extremely noisy and it is located in a very dangerous area in town.

I was moving across the country and crashed here. Even as a place to sleep, it was problematic.

For example, the tub clogged up and was up to my calves with water (even with a quick shower).

The air conditioning gave me a soar throat. I believe that there was either mold in the room or it just was not clean. Lastly, there were definitely roaches. The small German type. I was too exhausted to leave and go to another hotel. I slept 5 hours and woke up to a cockroach on me and that was it. We left immediately and drove to El Paso!

DO NOT stay at this horrible place! I still cannot believe I did!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2008
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Libra77079 wrote a review Jun 2020
Houston, Texas3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty and dilapidated motel. Filled with prostitutes, junkies, and drug dealers. It's cheap for a reason. Do not make the mistake I made. You will regret it. It's not comfortable and it's not safe. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria L wrote a review Feb 2020
Hopkins, Minnesota15 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Please remove this property from your list! This hotel is a disaster: cockroaches, mold, peeling paint, no lights, no phone, broken tubs, holes in the walls covered with duct tape, smelly a/c, no fridge, no smoke detectors, weed smokers and prostitution. Not safe at all! Management is out of control: yelling at clients like it is norm. I will absolutely contact all Health Departments of Houston for such filthy condition.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Happy Fever wrote a review Aug 2018
Grand Prairie, Texas138 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I needed a quick room and found this place. Will not stay here again though. Concrete walls made you feel like you were in prison. My family did not feel safe. People walking by your room at all times of night. As soon as morning hit, we left ASAP.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rn4242 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Amarillo, Texas6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"AVOID this place for your health and safety. Sad thing I didn't read the all the reviews, same complaints since 2008."
Read full review
King L wrote a tip Aug 2021
Houston, Texas1,017 contribution35 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go. Sleep in car, better"
Read full review
Laurel F wrote a tip Oct 2016
Belvidere, Illinois133 contributions42 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose another place"
Read full review
joseph g wrote a tip Sep 2016
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room above the office."
Read full review
Ivan M wrote a tip Nov 2014
Littlefield, Texas, United States2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just dont go here. im sure a holiday inn express sounds much more cleaner"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Houston area.
PRICE RANGE
C$59 - C$89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
motel 6 houston west - katy hotel houston, houston motel six, houston motel 6
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Motel 6 Houston West- Energy Corridor
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHouston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway
Which popular attractions are close to OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Nearby attractions include TopGolf (0.6 km), Tavern In The Park (0.5 km), and Congressman Bill Archer Bark Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lupe Tortilla, North China Restaurant, and Salata.
Are there opportunities to exercise at OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Houston HotelsHouston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoustonHotels near OYO Hotel Houston Katy Freeway
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars