We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Hotels.comUS$47*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$74*
US$47*
Great Deal
US$57*
US$57*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dragonfly Hotel Colchester
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

I visited a customer in the 1st week of Jan 2017. Stayed at the hotel for three nights. The staff are very helpful, polite and answer any questions you may have. There's free wifi throughout the hotel. The menus is small and basic but the food and choice is ok. There is no restaurant per se but a large dining...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ray O
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Ray O Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am very pleased to read that the team looked after you. I will certainly look into the other points you have raised to help us implement improvements for the future. I do hope, despite this, you will reconsider visiting us again if...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Good size free car park, Room clean and very comfy bed. Had a good nights sleep, no noise. Breakfast buffet good, apart from poor quality of breakfast sausage Staff where helpful and friendly. I would stay here again,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steviemaast
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Steviemaast Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the hotel. We are pleased to read that your stay met with your expectations and hope that we can welcome you back when you are next in the area Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900

Nottingham
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Just off the A12 on the outskirts of Colchester. Handy if going to the football stadium as only a short distance away. Friendly staff on arrival and quick easy check in. Rooms basic but clean. Could do with a spruce up. Dated bathrooms and carpets tired. We visited in a quiet time. And had a good sleep. No noise from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NottmFoody
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear NottmFoody Thank you very much for your recent review on your stay at the hotel. We are pleased to read that overall your stay met with your expectations however I apologise for the lack of towels and this is something I will address with the housekeeping team to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. I do hope that,...

Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Nothing but praise for the staff that checked us in! The hotel is fine, basic but fine. The price fits the setting and it is ok. Day staff very helpful at check in and assisted in ordering taxis etc. Not the same experience when we came back to the hotel....door locked-no code given and no night porter to be found....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank matte61131
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear matte61131 Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at the hotel recently. While I am very pleased to read of your praise for your check in experience, I am very disappointed to read of the customer service you received from the night team. Please be assured this will be addressed immediately and for this I can...

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Booked for a work trip. I will not rush back. It is located in the middle of nowhere and when I arrived the restaurant had stopped serving food at 9 there was no where nearby to get anything. The bathroom was dated and not super clean, not dirty but just due to being dated didn't have that just cleaned feeling....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya186414
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Sonya186414 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel & I have raised the points you have mentioned with the team to ensure that for you and future guests, these situations do not arise again. All comments, whether positive or negative are welcomed to enable us to improve on the standard offered and...

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Arranging wakes is something I do a lot (I am a funeral director) my job was made much easer by the efficiency of Carolyn and Emely they both had a very pleasant manor on the phone and gave me all the answers I needed. A1 Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank you for your 5 star review and the comments contained within it. I will ensure that Emily is also made aware of your comments. I am very pleased to help, in what is a stressful time for all and hope we can assist you again in the future. Kind Regards Carolyne Cowie OM 01206 230900

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Terrific praise to the staff who were friendly, helpful and welcoming, they did all they could to make our stay pleasant. Sadly it had seen better days and there were only a handful of people staying. On the two nights we ate there, there were only about 4 others eating. The menu was limited but as one night's meal was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judith_aldous
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear judith_aldous Thank you for taking time to post your review in regards to a recent stay at the hotel and it is very rewarding to read of you kind comments regarding the team which I will ensure are passed on. We are aware of heavy usage within the hotel and this is currently under review by the hotel owners....

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Hotel was very dated. Rooms very basic even the remote control did not work as was held together by sellotape. Breakfast was very poor with rubbery scrambled egg fatty bacon and nasty sausages. We also had some property go missing from one of the rooms our party was staying in. When the hotel was e-mailed to inform them of this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharon l
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear sharon l Thank you for your review and comments on your stay with us recently. I was disappointed to read your feedback on your experience in regards to breakfast and that housekeeping failed to adhere to the hotel's security policy of letting guests into rooms without checking with reception first. I have re-addressed this issue with the team today...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Quick easy check in,friendly staff Nice clean room Lovely to see the deer in the grounds at dawn and dusk Sadly we were told no childrens menu in the evening so we had to go out..not good after a busy day when we just wanted to relax in the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j1956
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear j1956 Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel and the kind comments. Unfortunately we do not offer a child's menu but I have taken your comments on board and maybe this something we can look into for our future younger guests. I hope, despite this, we can welcome you and your family...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Room basic and in dire need of a make over, carpet stained and threadbare with pieces missing. Breakfast was a choice of sausage, bacon, beans, and yellow rubber that was passed of as scrambled egg. The evening menu was mostly microwave meals or frozen pizza. We complained that we could not eat our meal because of the poor quality ,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helen F
DragonflyTeam, Manager at Dragonfly Hotel Colchester, responded to this review

Dear Helen F Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at the hotel. I'm very sorry to read you have had cause to be less than satisfied with your experience and for this I can only apologise. I have discussed your comments with the team and I am sorry that you were not offered alternative meals,...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardleigh
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
4.6 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#11 of 24 in Colchester
242 reviews
38.0 km away
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds
#11 of 11 in Bury St Edmunds
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Dragonfly Hotel Colchester

Address: A12/A120 Ardleigh Junction, Ardleigh, Colchester C07 7QY, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Colchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Ardleigh
Price Range: $80 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dragonfly Hotel Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dragonfly Hotel Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Colchester Hotel Colchester
Colchester Ramada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dragonfly Hotel Colchester staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Dudley, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Dragonfly Hotel Colchester staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms facing out to the back”
O1389DQkevint, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They will all be equally terrible”
Keano_dad, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“not a place to buy quality food”
Plopitucus, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms need a makeover.”
colintayloris, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Register your car at recieption no matter how long you stay!”
adamtyler, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$47* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$57
Expedia.comUS$57
HotelQuicklyUS$74
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates