We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chaltunha Hostel

San Miguel, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Save
Best prices for your stay
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
1 room
  • 1 room
    2 adults
    • 2 adults
      0 children
      • 0 children
        US$22
        US$15
        SAVE US$7
        US$22
        US$17
        Traveller (63)
        Room & Suite (23)
        Dining (7)
        Hostel Yaxha
        80 reviews
        #4 of 23 Speciality lodging in Flores
         
        Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon
        134 reviews
        #6 of 23 Speciality lodging in Flores
         
        Hotel Isla de Flores
        301 reviews
        #2 of 16 hotels in Flores
         
        Zapote Tree Inn
        26 reviews
        #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Flores
         
        Overview
        • Excellent58%
        • Very good24%
        • Average5%
        • Poor5%
        • Terrible8%
        Travellers talk about
        “his wife” (21 reviews)
        “san miguel” (43 reviews)
        “main island” (4 reviews)
        Free Wifi
        Pool
        Restaurant
        Pets Allowed
        Free Parking
        Breakfast included
        Room Service
        Suites
        All hotel details
        Hostel Yaxha
        80 reviews
        #4 of 23 Speciality lodging in Flores
         
        Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon
        134 reviews
        #6 of 23 Speciality lodging in Flores
         
        Hotel Isla de Flores
        301 reviews
        #2 of 16 hotels in Flores
         
        Zapote Tree Inn
        26 reviews
        #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Flores
         
        {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
        Write a Review
        Reviews (168)
        Traveller rating
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        Language

        1 - 5 of 154 reviews

        Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

        Unfortunately, as I just read in the few posts before mine, the same thing happened to me. I spent a great couple of days at Chaltunha Hostel. Neil, the owner, was so extremely helpful and super friendly. I really thought the best of him. But...More

        Thank moehneboehne
        Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 1 week ago

        Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

        Reviewed 2 weeks ago

        We have been there for a few days in April 2017. Now, 2 month later the Chaltunha charged our Credit Card 60$. Fortunately Mastercard blocked immediately the creditcard. By the way, the restaurant was closed, no food available. It looks like "On the descending branch"....More

        Thank Patric R
        Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 1 week ago

        Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

        Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

        Quick summary, the restaurant is closed, the pool is dirty, the price advertised is incorrect, the host wasn't nice. And one little thing they tried charging my card $55, 5 months after we left. So they also save credit card details as well, to say...More

        Thank Stephen D
        Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 1 week ago

        Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

        Reviewed 2 weeks ago

        We had a great stay there, beginning of April 2017. But what a surprise end of May when I noticed 3 new transactions from the hostel on my credit card ! Neil (the owner of the hostel) didn't answer on whatsap nor by the phone....More

        Thank David_43210
        Response from ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha HostelResponded 1 week ago

        Folk this is a terrible misunderstanding. We had a Chaltunha Hotel Flores Island. We had an ATM machine installed here. It was installed under the same name as our Hostel. This ATM has been compromised. It now it look like we are engaged in credit...More

        Reviewed 29 April 2017

        We spend great days in Chal tun ha. We planned to stay 2 or 3 nights, and in the end we stayed nearly a week. The hostel is situated on the other side of the lake in San Miguel, just in front of Flores (2...More

        Thank oosnakeoo
        Hostel Yaxha
        80 reviews
        #4 of 23 Speciality lodging in Flores
         
        Hotel La Casa Del Lacandon
        134 reviews
        #6 of 23 Speciality lodging in Flores
         
        Hotel Isla de Flores
        301 reviews
        #2 of 16 hotels in Flores
         
        Zapote Tree Inn
        26 reviews
        #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Flores
         
        About
        Amenities
        • Top amenities
        • Pool
        • Restaurant
        • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
        • Things to do
        • Pool
        • Restaurant
        Details
        • Price range
        • US$13 - US$27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
        • Number of rooms
        • 6
        • Reservation Options
        • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Chaltunha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
        • Location
        • Guatemala >
        • Peten Department >
        • Flores
        Add Photo Photos
        Traveller (63)
        Room & Suite (23)
        Dining (7)
        Pool & Beach (5)
        Hotel & Grounds (25)
        Bathroom (2)
        Family and Play Areas (2)
        Questions & Answers
        Get quick answers from Chaltunha Hostel staff and past guests.
        Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
        Posting guidelines
        Submit
        Room Tips
        "bring ear plugs as rain and animal noises can be noisy, you feel like you're right in the jungle!"
        Read review
        "every room is an adventure ;)"
        Read review
        "amazing view from poolside, great hostel great service"
        Read review
        "There are two hostels- the one on the mainland San Miguel is definitely worth a visit"
        Read review
        Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
        Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing