We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans

Save
Share
Domaine de Bombannes, 33121, Carcans France
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Priceline
Expedia.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (24)
Pool & Beach (5)
Dining (1)

About

#6 of 21 Speciality lodging in Carcans
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Huttopia Lac de Carcans campsite welcomes you in the heart of the national forest of Bombannes. Camp under the pines, at the edge of the Carcans-Hourtin lake. On the program: walks in the pine forest on foot or by bike, swimming, water activities ... Go directly to the beach from the campsite and enjoy the vast pedestrian zone of the site. Total disconnection!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Breakfast available
Beach
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
60Reviews6Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 26
  • 12
  • 8
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
flossy186 wrote a review Sep. 2019
Somerset, United Kingdom38 contributions47 helpful votes
This was our second visit to Carcans , as we love the area and all it has to offer. As many other reviewers mention , the noise from the neighbouring campsite is horrendous. Every night of our stay this year was raging on till 4am. Last year we were told it was a one off so gave it another go , but clearly this was a lie and its an ongoing rave next door through the summer from totally reckless selfish teens.Huttopia must surely now address this with the campsite next door it will hugely damage their business otherwise as we, and it appears many others, will not return because of this . The facilities on the lake are great , high ropes , pedaloes are great and the cycle paths to the village and beach are fabulous Service in the cafe bar was attrocious- we waited an hour for drinks & longer for food which when served was cold , but they couldnt care less and walked off. Such a shame , we wont be back ,as it is the most beautiful location. If you think this is exaggerated and you go , beware , the best ear plugs will not work and you will not sleep for your whole stay unless of course you wish to join the party. Unlikely , as its sold as a family retreat.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from HuttopiaEurope, Manager at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans
Responded Sep. 15, 2019
Dear Michaela, We thank you for sharing your experience at our campsite. And we are delighted to read your appreciation of the campsite's exceptional location and the multitude of activities on offer. We apologize for the fact that you were once again bothered by the noise pollution from the neightborhood. Our snack bar is successful in the summer, we announce the waiting time before confirming the order and when the dish is ready we call you directly. We are sorry if the service did not meet your expectations. We understand that you no longer wish to come in high season, if your schedule allows it, why not come out of season, where the campsite and The forest of Bombannes are peaceful. We hope to see you again, Best regards, The campsite manager.
Read more
rowiek wrote a review Aug. 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a lovely site during the day, in beautiful woodland and really close to the lake which is warm and well provided for in regards SUP rental and high wires etc. The downside of the area being well provided for in regards things to do is that the people attending the nearby watersports holidays literally partied all night long while we were there. The noise from these people staying nearby at night was really awful, shouting and screaming often until dawn - no exageration. We woke up tired every day and it was something of a relief to leave. It was like listening to animals - even with two ear plugs in every night I could still hear it. One night they all screamed together to clearly try and wake people up. We understood that it wasn't Huttopia staff's fault but they weren't able to do a single thing to help us - they couldn't move us or offer us any refund, they just said "we know". We did believe that pitches and chalets down the hill in the campsite didn't suffer from the party noise so much, as my mother was in a chalet down the hill about 20m and from our pitch and they didn't hear anything (backed up by us asking other people at the site if they could hear it) so it's clear that the pitches and chalets on the top of the hill suffer much more badly from this terrible noise - clearly Huttopia shouldn't put people into these locations when they know a lot of people are going to be partying during the holidays. Other than that the site is great and the staff were friendly. It's a magic spot at dusk before the party starts, which might possibly just be for the height of the summer. The only other annoyance is that in half of the site you can't drive to your pitch, which when you're camping for 10 days means a lot of trolley loads of stuff being lugged across the site from the car park - the up side being that half of the site is car free, which is nice.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from HuttopiaEurope, Manager at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans
Responded Sep. 10, 2019
Dear customers, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were bothered by the noise of our neighbours. The music is supposed to be cut off before 11pm, unfortunately our agreement is not respected. We were full during the period of your stay, we could not change your place. As you said, the noise is not of our fact because inside our campsite, calm reigns. Our director and night watchman had to get around several times for the music to be stopped. We are delighted that you liked the pedestrian area of our campsite for the nature side, and enjoyed the preserved landscape of Bombannes. We hope to welcome you in one of our Huttopia campsite for a futur stay. Best regards, The campsite manager.
Read more
Lotte2009 wrote a review Aug. 2019
Manchester33 contributions22 helpful votes
It’s a lovely site in a great location and it’s well kept by a good team...in fact it’s the second time we’ve been...BUT... we had two big noise problems. One was the UCPA site which borders the lake. The noise they make is tremendous and sometimes goes on until 5am, as you can see in other reviews below. It’s absolutely wild screaming some nights. God knows what they’re doing? Sacrifices I thought. We also had a large group of surly, noisy dope-smoking teenagers on the next pitch. We put up with it for too long before eventually complaining...how v. British! The manager did eventually turf them out, but if it’s a family-oriented site then I don’t understand why they accept such groups? How on earth their night-watch-person missed the noise, or the smell of weed, makes you think they don’t actually have anyone doing that role. The amount of crap they spread around outside their tents must have been a giveaway also. V poor. Huttopia will say these groups of kids book through the internet (have seen same complaint and response) and there’s nothing they can do...well you could refuse them a pitch on arrival, no? There are sites better suited for teens and you should make up your minds as to which market you want.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HuttopiaEurope, Manager at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans
Responded Sep. 10, 2019
Dear customers, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are glad that you still appreciate the setting of our campsite. We regret that you have been disturbed by the noise of the neighborhood. If our agreement was respected, the music should stop at 11pm. It's not the case, but we're trying to solve this problem. Our clientele is essentially family, but we cannot refuse clients just because they are young. We were informed of the noise of your neighbours from the third day of their arrival. Our night watchman had already warned them. After you came to the reception we immediately shortened their stay and they had to leave. Despite this we hope you had a good time in Carcans, and hope to see you a next time. Best regards, The campsite manager.
Read more
Rachel wrote a review Aug. 2019
Exeter, United Kingdom47 contributions40 helpful votes
This is our third year at Lac de Carcans. We love it here. Turning off the main route at Bordeaux, travelling through kilometres and kilometres of vast pine forests you feel like you are entering a different world. The campsite is big, and pitches are well spaced, especially if you hire one of their tents (safari-type). All are thoughtfully placed and oriented. We hired a ‘tente sweet’ which has a kitchen and bathroom. All very basic but as expected. We always bring a sharp knife, peeler, chopping board (provided, but always useless) kettle (not provided) and extra easy chairs (as only 2 are provided per tent). The campsite is right next to a beautiful, safe, clean lake. You will be swimming with dragonflies and butterflies. I also saw a red squirrel while sitting by the aqua park. You can hire all types of equipment there - SUPS, sailing boats, kayaks etc. There is a wooden platform for diving etc that you can swim out to. Huttopia have made some improvements since we last came. The pool is heated now and there is a security guard at night so there is no noise after 11 (apart from the off-site entertainment by the lake which can be very noisy when they have a band on). They still haven’t embraced having good vegetarian options at the food truck (apart from margarita pizza). Maybe one day! Would highly recommend this site if you appreciate nature, clean air, cycling and water sports.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HuttopiaEurope, Manager at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans
Responded Aug. 15, 2019
Dear guest, We thank you very much for your feedback and we are very grateful for all the compliments. It is a real pleasure to read that your stay was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the setting of the campsite. Indeed our campsite is located in the middle of the national forest, where the fauna and flora are abundant. we hope to welcome you soon to Carcans, or to another campsite of the Huttopia group. Kind regards, The campsite manager
Read more
polly6175 wrote a review Sep. 2018
65 contributions9 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at this campsite for just under 2 weeks at the end of August. Facilities we extreemly clean and well maintained. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The lake is in short distance if cycling or walking. You have lots of different activities on the lake from paddle boards, peddalos even a water assault course or just take your own equipment. Just a short distance from the beach is the high ropes course it's about €21 for an adult their is so much to do it would take you all day to complete the course, this is great fun myself and my friends girls dud some of the courses. The courses cover all age groups from young to adult. You are also able to bike to the beach which is also about 15mins away. A great village with lovely restaurants and shops. You are able to ask at reception on site and they will give you a cycle map of the area. I have read previous reviews regarding noise levels from neighbouring camps to be honest we didnt notice and noise late at night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from HuttopiaEurope, Gérant at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans
Responded Sep. 11, 2018
Hello Mrs, We thank you a lot for sharing your opinion about our campsite with us. It is very pleasant for us to know that you spent a very nice stay with us. Our team really hope to see you soon again! Best regards, Huttopia’s Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$74 - US$129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Camping Indigo Lac de Carcans
LOCATION
FranceNouvelle-AquitaineGirondeCarcans
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans
Which popular attractions are close to Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans?
Nearby attractions include Lac d'Hourtin-Carcans (2.6 km), Maison des Arts et Traditions Populaires (2.7 km), and Mad In Medoc (2.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Salon et Boutique de la Glace, Peanut Dreams, and L'Atlantic Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Camping Huttopia Lac de Carcans?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.