We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel & Residence Carlina

Save
Share
Belle Plagne, 73210 Macot-la-Plagne, Aime France
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (46)
Dining (12)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#8 of 23 hotels in Macot-la-Plagne
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Macot-la-Plagne, Hôtel et Résidence Carlina is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its luxury environment and proximity to great restaurants, Hôtel et Résidence Carlina makes it easy to enjoy the best of Macot-la-Plagne.

Room service is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. In addition, Hôtel et Résidence Carlina offers a pool and a restaurant, which will help make your Macot-la-Plagne trip additionally gratifying.

While in Macot-la-Plagne, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Hôtel et Résidence Carlina, including Au Coin du Feu (1.4 km), Le Chalet des Colosses (0.6 km), and Le Grizzli (1.6 km).

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Hôtel et Résidence Carlina is sure to make your visit to Macot-la-Plagne one worth remembering.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Skiing
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Waxing services
Ski In / Ski Out
24-hour security
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

Full view
58Somewhat walkable
Grade: 58 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
3Attractionswithin 0.5 km
157Reviews4Q+A15Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 39
  • 19
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
HollyHols1234 wrote a review Feb. 2020
12 contributions4 helpful votes
Great location, lovely friendly staff, ski in/out but sadly the chef refused to provide vegetarian meals. On arrival the receptionist confidently assured me that the chef was aware and enjoyed providing interesting veggie options however the reality was the complete opposite. The chef clearly had no intention of making my dining experience in his restaurant a pleasant one. I was given for 2 nights in a row nothing but a bowl of plain vegetables and after flagging that this simply was not acceptable my meals were then subsequently: one poached egg with vegetables; dry pasta and vegetables; an omelette (hurrah!) and finally on my last evening a bowl of boiled rice with peas. My non-vegetarian friend had lovely delicious choices. If vegetarianism is such a travesty for this chef then the hotel should make that plain and we could have either chosen to book on a B&B basis or stay somewhere else. A really disappointing and miserable experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the slopes
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from lecarlinabelleplagne, Responsable relations clients at Hotel & Residence Carlina
Responded Feb. 17, 2020
Hello Holly hols Thank you for your message, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. I am really disappointed that you felt your experience was “miserable”,I remember speaking to you on a daily basis and your comments being very positive of the hotel and even mentioning how it was “the best ski holiday you’ve had!” Following our conversation after your second day where by you mentioned that you were eating only vegetables, I was under the impression that for the remainder of your stay you were pleased with the food, as I had followed up your comments with the restaurant manager and chef and I when I asked you the next day you assured me that everything was great! We do apologise if you felt as though vegetarians or any other eating preference is not welcome at the Hotel, this was never our intention or even our ethos. Your comments will defiantly be passed onto the restaurant staff and the chef to ensure that other customers do not feel the same. We hope that you do return once again to Hotel Carlina **** Belle Plagne as you mentioned you would, to allow us to provide an equally high standard of meals for all vegetarians Thank you once again for your feedback Kind regards The Management
Read more
Mike G wrote a review Jan. 2020
Channel Islands, United Kingdom34 contributions30 helpful votes
We have been to La Plagne on four Ski Holidays and have stopped off at the Hotel Carlina's excellent and sunny terrace for lunch on previous visits but this is the first time we have stayed at the hotel. So, what did we find? Reception, Check In, & Welcome: Excellent Friendly Staff always helpful and courteous Room: Modern Ski Lodge style, slightly rustic with a nice bathroom, we had a South facing room with balcony facing the slopes . We loved the king size bed and found the room well up to our expectations. Bar: This hotel has a large excellent bar area which is furnished in a typical rustic ski lodge style. Comfortable seating and really pleasant bar and table service staff always on hand to serve you. We liked the cold meats / tapas platter served with drinks in the evening and also the pastries and cakes that were often available in the afternoon from 4pm onwards. We must mention the two main bar staff Margot and Jules, their friendly welcome and smiling service really made each visit special. Restaurant: We were on a half board package which included dinner in the excellent restaurant plus a french style continental breakfast served in the downstairs restaurant. The dinner menu was stylish French Cuisine 5 courses included an amuse bouche starter, main , cheese and some of the most stylish deserts ever. These dinners which we really enjoyed were well served by a great team of friendly staff as was breakfast downstairs restaurant. The breakfast service was supervised by a lovely lady whose name escapes us. This lady like all the staff at the Carlina was both friendly and very very helpful. Skiing & Ski Room etc: This is truly a ski in ski out property, most skiers can ski off from and ski back to the door of the ski locker room in the basement. The hotel is on the edge of a very easy beginner run that takes you down to the lifts at BelleCote. On the return the run is simple for most skiers except complete beginners. Being experienced skiers ourselves it's hard to judge how a complete beginner would see this. Each room has allocated ski storage and the is a boot warming rack to store and dry your boots overnight. Ski Rental: The Carlina has a really good arrangement with ELPRO up in BellePlagne who com and pick you and deliver you back to the hotel after you have all your ski equipment. ELPRO pass your bill to the hotel and this is added to your account to settle on departure , when you finish with your rented ski equipment at the end of your stay you simple leave them in a collection bin in the locker room area and ELPRO pick them up in this way there is no lugging ski's pols boots etc back to the ski shop at the end of your holiday. Pool & Jacuzzi: There is a small pool and jacuzzi area which we used on 3/4 days, the facility is good but is a little small and can get busy after the ski lifts close. Overall we had a great and comfortable stay which came right up to exceptions and in some areas exceeded them, we would not hesitate to return to the Carlina.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Our room was 302 Superior King bedded Room
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
drdmwalker wrote a review Jan. 2020
Hastings, United Kingdom102 contributions72 helpful votes
The hotel is perfectly situated for ski in and ski out enjoyment of the extensive La Plagne ski area. However there are good things and bad to discuss. First of all I must emphasise that the staff here are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. Our waitress in the restaurant was really good and the manager very helpful. The biggest problem really is the size of the rooms. We booked for three adults, to include our 18 yo son, and the room wasn’t big enough to swing a cat. We ended up paying £500 to upgrade and even then the usable space was less than an average 3* in Austria, for example. If you are visiting with children I really recommend paying for a suite. The en suite bathroom is tiny, with no space for hanging anything The restaurant and bar areas are comfortable and well decorated in mountain style. The boot room is spacious with drying racks for the boots. The closeness to the piste unfortunately means that you are a ten minute uphill walk to the shops and bars of Belle Plagne, not ideal for collecting and returning skis and/or boots. Dinner in the restaurant has two choices and the food is typical french haute cuisine, perfect for us but a nightmare for our fussy son. Alternatives were limited and offered reluctantly. We really enjoyed the food though and although there are some very expensive wines on the menu, we found really good quality at their mid range (about €35).
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from lecarlinabelleplagne, Responsable réception at Hotel & Residence Carlina
Responded Jan. 7, 2020
Thank you for your message Mr Walker, we appreciate all comments and reviews. Firstly I would like to mention that you booked a holiday via Inghams and not directly, when we received the booking I personally contacted the Inghams booking office to mention that having 3 adults in the allocated standard triple room would not be advisable. However we did not receive any further information to modify your booking. Luckily we were able to find a solution within 2 hours of your complaint about the room and to upgrade you to a family room with a mezzanine, even though it was one of our busiest weeks of the season. Regarding the ski hire, once again if you reserved directly with us we could have offered you a partner service with ELPRO who provide a navette to collect and drop you off with your equipment and even come and collect your equipment at the end of your stay. Finally about the Finally about food options, I agree the evening menu is fine dining but I am surprised that you felt that other options we're not willingly offered for your son. We appreciate this suggestion and we will be sure to improve this service for our future guests. We hope you return to our hotel again in the future and feel to contact us directly next time. Kind regards Olivia Reservations and Reception Manager
Read more
Marc-Philippe G wrote a review Dec. 2019
Kathmandu, Nepal227 contributions154 helpful votes
We stayed there for 5 days in December. Common areas (restaurant, breakfast...): great, with excellent food, and usually very friendly and competent associates. But gosh! The place is totally overheated. The spa is nice too, but overcrowded after ski time, and you cannot expect courtesy from everyone.. so a great place by design but not always so nice Rooms are also overhead: impossible to stay without opening the window Very surprised there is kettle no tea no coffee in the room (... really unusual) not mentioning the absence of a small fridge. Really the minimum Bed kind of hard, and when you book a king bed, you expect a king bed, not two single beds of different thickness assembled In 2020, you would expect a decent wifi and a smart TV with modern connectivity Besides of that, we really thank the hotel management for letting us having a shower even after we checked out and went for a whole day ski, very nice way of dealing with guests
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
RD01RD01 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Lyon, France4 contributions9 helpful votes
We spent one small week between Christmas and New Year in Hotel Carlina. My wife and I were in suite #50 and our 4 kids (from 11 to 20 years old) were in room #29. Location is second-to-none. You leave the hotel with the skis and you come back with the skis. Since Belle Plagne is high (2 050m), you don't suffer from over-crowded lifts when you start and you always have enough snow. Restaurant is very high quality. For us even more important, it was fast enough to eat there all our meals without wasting ski time. Spa, jacuzzi and pool are much appreciated after skiing. Rooms are large, clean, well equipped. But the most differentiating factor in Carlina is really about service quality. Not only are they always helpful, smiling, reactive but they are extremely flexible and creative. As an example, our son is a student and he needed several hundreds of colour pages printed out because he forgot some of his materials. This was executed swiftly by the reception ! Another illustration : they lent us a meeting room. Another one : they added lamps as much as needed because we wanted a lot of light in the room to work well. And many others like that. Almost never seen in my life despite spending my time traveling around the world. I can't recommend them more. Just great.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$491 - US$878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
FranceAuvergne-Rhône-AlpesSavoieAimeMacot-la-Plagne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
46
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel & Residence Carlina
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel & Residence Carlina?
Nearby attractions include Belle Plagne (0.3 km), ESF Belle Plagne (0.3 km), and La Maison Savoyarde (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel & Residence Carlina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel & Residence Carlina?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel & Residence Carlina?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel & Residence Carlina?
Conveniently located restaurants include L'alpage, Le Matafan, and La Godille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel & Residence Carlina?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Hotel & Residence Carlina offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel & Residence Carlina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel & Residence Carlina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tour Montmayeur (6.5 km), Basilique Saint Martin (6.7 km), and Fortification Saint Sigismond (6.8 km).
Does Hotel & Residence Carlina have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Hotel & Residence Carlina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.