We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MedPlaya Hotel Calypso

Save
Share
Pompeu Fabra 54-62, 43840 Salou Spain
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
travelup.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (997)
Room & Suite (278)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 21-04-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Updated 21-04-19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#44 of 96 hotels in Salou
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
See why so many travelers make MedPlaya Hotel Calypso their hotel of choice when visiting Salou. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travelers like you. Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and Calypso Hotel makes getting online easy as free internet access is available. You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a 24 hour front desk, baggage storage, and a gift shop. In addition, guests can enjoy a pool and a lounge during their visit. Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Paseo Maritimo (0.5 mi) and Avenida Jaume I (1.0 mi), guests of MedPlaya Hotel Calypso can easily experience some of Salou's most well known attractions. Salou has plenty of diners. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Uncle Sam's, 70s & 80s American Diner, and McDonald's, which are serving up some great dishes. Looking to explore? Then look no further than Illuminated Fountain (1.1 mi), which is a popular Salou attraction – and it is conveniently located within walking distance of the hotel. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso as you experience all of the things Salou has to offer.
Read more
Room & Suite (278)278
Full view
Property amenities
Street parking
Free internet
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bowling
Game room
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Poolside bar
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Nightclub / DJ
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Car hire
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock loyalty benefits
2718Reviews569Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 756
  • 918
  • 560
  • 220
  • 264
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stuart C wrote a review Oct. 2020
Province of Alicante, Spain27 contributions19 helpful votes
Our room was small, with one small desk-cum-bedside table for a laptop, but very well modernised, as was the bathroom with a walk-in shower but with little space to dry off. Food was plentiful, well prepared and tasty, and the premium drinks package upgrade, when booking through MedPlaya's own website, was a welcome bonus. Opening the wooden-decked terrace above the restaurant for al-fresco evening meals was very well appreciated by many guests. All the staff throughout were friendly and helpful and we had a very enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations, Director General at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Responded Dec. 14, 2020
Hello Stuart, Many thanks for your sweetest feedback. We are thrilled with the compliments for our staff and very glad you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for recommending us. Kindest regards, Loyalty & Community Manager MedPlaya Hotels
Read more
Jimmyslater wrote a review Sep. 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom28 contributions13 helpful votes
Went for the last week of August with my partner and two children. I will start with the positives the hotel is generally clean and had recently been modernized. I found most of the staff very friendly and accommodating especially the pool bar staff who work tirelessly and are very polite. The food is of a good standard and there was always something to eat as we were AI it was a plus. Now Negatives You are given an alloted time slot for meal times we were given 8am breakfast time slot not everybody wants to get up that early and eat all Spanish guests given 10am etc,also this system does not work as Spanish guests will sit for 2-3hrs eating a meal which is fine in a private restaurant not in this system so was very crowded in dining hall and chaotic at times. First hotel I have been in were people would reserve sunbeds with there towel at 8am disappear for hours at a time so nobody else can use these beds I don't think we would have been allowed been English but different rules for there own. Unruly children everywhere around pool parents not bothering with them neither were lifeguards. The entertainment again is focused on Spanish clientel (terrible) each to there own!! Our room was 565 in building 2 building nice our balcony huge which was good but room stank of damp which was coming from Aircon unit as u could see mould around vents which is surprising as Aircon did not work very well. Also have never been to a hotel were the lifeguards enter dining room pick and then eat when guests do sat at pool bar eating his dinner?? And when going in snack bar placed in dining room staff sat eating dinner absolutely fine but drinking lager with it must be a good company to work for if u provide free alocohol. Would highly recommend this hotel if your Spanish if not??? Was the pool closed at 1pm?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Loyalty Community manager, Marketing at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Responded Sep. 4, 2020
Hello Jimmyslater, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Calypso and for taking the time to review your stay in such a different summer. Hotel Calypso as well as our town Salou are very popular international destinations. But this year it is true that we had mostly national guests, although we strive to provide the best service to fit all our guests. We are sad to learn that there were some aspects of your stay which did not meet your expectations but we do hope you enjoyed your time here in Salou. Due to Covid-19 very strict health and safety protocols have been put in to place to ensure the safety of our guests and staff, therefore our guests might experience a difference in how things are executed and find it different from before. We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to our MedPlaya Hotels on future occasions. Kind regards, MedPlaya Hotel Calypso.
Read more
Ludovic1999 wrote a review Aug. 2020
Thionville, France98 contributions46 helpful votes
We spent five days in this hotel in August and we loved it. It offers good food and you can have breakfast and dinner on the terrasse outside. The hotel is located at a ten-minute walk from two nice beaches. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially at the restaurant, a big thank you to them. The rooms were very clean and quiet at night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes1 Save1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Loyalty Community manager, Marketing at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Responded Aug. 26, 2020
Hello Ludovic1999, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. It is great to read you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we will certainly pass on your compliments to the team. We hope it is not long before we may welcome you back again. Kind regards, Inga, Loyalty & Community manager, MedPlaya
Read more
Sharon C wrote a review Jan. 2020
Milnsbridge, United Kingdom2 contributions
Lovely hotel and staff friendly service and room service department very good The problem I found was that the hotel didn't have enough sunbeds or sun shades for the amount of people staying in the hotel Sunbeds locked up at night and you can't get a bed in the morning until around 10 am then people come down and grab the sunbeds and shades and you don't see them until some time in the afternoon
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CommunityMedPlaya, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Responded Jan. 23, 2020
Hello Sharon C We are sorry to hear that some aspects of the Hotel Calypso did not meet with your expectations, but we are pleased that you were happy with the service that you received. Your comments and feedback are important to us and so we thank you for sharing them with us. We do hope that you would still consider returning again in the future for another holiday with us. Kind regards MedPlaya Hotels Salou
Read more
sueblackburn150 wrote a review Dec. 2019
Boston, United Kingdom107 contributions26 helpful votes
Visited this hotel again while on holiday. Unfortunately no improvements. Reception staff still the best, help full and friendly.Alas the entertainment as been cut back and now not the best in salou ,mostly average.There seems to by no atmosphere ,just people moving from place to place.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: main hotel
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from CommunityMedPlaya, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Responded Dec. 30, 2019
Hello sueblackburn150 We are very sorry to hear that the Hotel Calypso did not meet with your expectations. Your comments are important to us and so we thank you for sharing them with us. Hopefully if you do choose to return again in the future, we can try and change some of your opinions. Kind regards MedPlaya Hotels Benidorm
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$52 - US$180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel calypso salou, calypso hotel salou
LOCATION
SpainCataloniaProvince of TarragonaCosta DoradaSalou
NUMBER OF ROOMS
514
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
Which popular attractions are close to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
Nearby attractions include Shooters Sports (0.4 km), The Victoria Pub Salou (0.4 km), and The Ski Hut (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hollandaluz, Shooters Grill, and Hampton Steakhouse & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to MedPlaya Hotel Calypso?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Torre Vella (2.6 km), Torre del Puerto (7.9 km), and Villa Romana de Barenys (2.7 km).
Is MedPlaya Hotel Calypso accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.