We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Island Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Island Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Island Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 144: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in Unit 167 Island Retreat Condo - 700 Island Retreat Port Aransas, Tx 3 nights Could have been great but sheets were not changed - floor filthy AC set at 85 degrees -would set lower and AC would go back to 85 degrees Refrigerator way too warm Sheets were dirty, hair balls on floor, floor very dirty.… Called management...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RROECO
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

We do apologize at your stay at Island Retreat. Unfortunately, when you book through a third party, we do not manage the unit and cannot control the circumstances in the unit. We do encourage you to book directly at Island Retreat on your next stay.

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Island Treat II is reasonably priced and an excellent location on the beach in Port Aransas. I have stayed there with friends and my family. The resort is located on beach markers 10 and 11, which is great if you want to walk to marker 9 and eat at the Beach Lodge or have a drink. Staff is friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustinGal11
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Island Retreat. We always strive to give our guests the best vacation experience possible. Our location, amenities, and staff make Island Retreat the premier place to stay in Port Aransas. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to serving you again on your next stay.

Boerne, Texas
Reviewed 27 April 2016

As a customer of Island Retreat for over 30 years we would expect better service. Management planned a parking lot resurface where all guests were not allowed to get close to their condo for loading and unloading of vehicle. Management knew this when we checked in but put us in the condo anyway. Very easily could have offered us other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Perfect_Vacation2013
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

We do apologize for unpleasant experience you encountered with the parking lot construction. We do strive to give our guests the best vacation experience possible. Unfortunately we did have a contractor change plans on us at the last minute. It is always our goal to provide the best service possible, even under unforeseen circumstances. We do apologize again, and hope...

Kerrville, Texas
Reviewed 18 March 2016

We always take a girls beach trip in July every year. We booked here out of desperation, but still made the best of it. We ended up calling the swimming pools the "PEE" pools, because they were so hot and murky. Won't stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ecstacyrain
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize about the issue you experienced with the pool last summer. Our staff does strive to keep the property in top condition for our guests. We will continue to improve and hope to have a chance to serve you again in the future.

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

We reserved a 3 bedroom unit at Island Retreat in December 2015 for a July 2016 family vacation. Island Retreat called February 22, 2016 to let us know the unit we reserved was not available in July 2016!! So island retreat offered to price match a two bedroom and one bedroom unit for us because there no more 3 bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sparky_0317
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for the situation, unfortunately in this type of property each condominium is individually owned, and owners can pull their units out of the rental program at any time if they wish. It is for this reason that we cannot guarantee a specific room when a reservation is made. Our prices are set...

Reviewed 17 October 2015

My wife and I stayed for three nights in condo 134, and loved it! The exterior of the building is nothing to look at, but inside was great. It looked exactly as it did in the photos, if not better. It had the feel of something recently renovated. I honestly wish I could live there forever. Fresh towels were brought...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christine G
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do strive to give our guests the best vacation experience possible. Again, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Sometimes you see pictures on line that look nice and then when you get to a place it is not as nice. The pictures online of this room are exactly what the place looks like when I arrived. Nice! Many in our group stayed in different rooms. I stayed in #066 with my group of 8 and it was very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda M
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Our owners and staff are committed to providing excellent service at a beautiful property. We always enjoy hearing that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Hollywood Park, Texas
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at the Island Retreat a few times and have always liked the grounds And large pool. Easy access to the beach Security guards the entrance. Very close to "town". This time we hit the jackpot with #66. It is the 3rd floor penthouse with a looong Balcony unobstructed, fantastic view. In the master, you can see the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacie R
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to provide the best vacation experience to our guests at a beautiful beach front resort. It will be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.

Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Our condo was on first floor, 3 bed, 2 bath, balcony overlooking swimming pool and you could see the boardwalk and sea to the side. Maids very good bringing clean towels, tea towels, bin liners, dishwasher tablets every morning. Short walk to sea, no seaweed this year and great beach for swimming and playing bat and ball games. Swimming pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen A
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our owners and staff strive to give our guests the best vacation experience in Port Aransas. Our amenities on property and location to the beach and town are what make us a special place ti visit. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward...

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

We recently had a surprise BD party for a family member at Island Retreat. There were 5 condos rented for the event and we ended up in #150. It was clean, the kitchen had adequate equipment but the beds were horrible and very uncomfortable! The dated furnishings were acceptable but those beds need to be replaced! The pools, grounds and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chaaker
ReeseIR, General Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the beds in this unit. All comments are relayed to the owners in order to keep our units as comfortable and updated as possible. Our staff does strive to keep the property as clean and well-maintained as possible, and are always happy to provide good...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.4 km away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
333 reviews
0.6 km away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
427 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
453 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
1.4 km away
Executive Keys Condominiums on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A recommended budget accommodation for families. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Address: 700 Island Retreat Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6012
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Price Range: $309 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Retreat Hotel Port Aransas
Island Retreat Port Aransas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Island Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor rooms can't see over the dunes. Third floor has best views, but cost more.”
 of 5 bubbles don_in_texas_9, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check their website!”
 of 5 bubbles karengI5201JT, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Close to the beach, have a pools, beautiful area..”
 of 5 bubbles alberta548, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are all young (can climb stairs) and have $1,600.00 to spend for three nights, Unit 66 is good.”
 of 5 bubbles marylucoupland, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
“134 is a great condo!”
 of 5 bubbles christinegK5589SD, 17 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5