We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 San Marcos

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 San Marcos
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 San Marcos
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 5 April 2016

This place was a heck of a deal for sure 45 for a night flat screen tv clean on the inside clean sheets clean toilet too. Office staff was very friendly and great location close to bars close to great restaurants close to outlet mall too. Great for the price will stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank konikowski
Denton, Texas
Reviewed 3 April 2016

I've never stayed at a Motel 6 before and after booking a room at the San Marcos Motel 6, I never will again. My experience started out with walking into the "lobby" (vending area) and there were several vagrants sitting at a table asleep. The hotel clerk was nice enough, but once I got to my room I was appalled....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jason L
Duncanville, Texas
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Needed an inexpensive place to sleep during $X$W in Austin a few miles north. Small room but it did the job. Beds were OK, nothing spectacular. Small 1/2 round table with 2 chairs below TV, which had all sorts of electronic plug-in things that I didn't need or use, but I'm guessing the younger crowd would be happy with those....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewed 21 March 2016

I have stayed at a couple of Motel 6's around the country and this one was by far the worst! It had the STRONGEST bleach smell that I have ever smelled and it NEVER went away. It has NO refrigerator and BOTH of the ice machines had NO ice. They had ONE large towel for two adults.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoriR2013
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear Lori, Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I booked a double non-smoking room for myself and family. When we checked in the lobby smelled like sweat and cigarettes. We were given our room key, we went into the room it smelled musty and like cigarettes. The comforters were dirty or very stained if washed at all. We pulled the blankets back and the sheets were covered in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Veronica G
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 San Marcos, responded to this review

Veronica, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. We encourage you to contact our Guest...

Reviewed 28 December 2015

We stayed two nights and there are no daily maid service due to a "cost reduction" policy as the receptionist said. It's a Pet friendly Hotel with too many cats around with no maid service ? Bad Idea! The rest of our stay was almost on my minimums!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cesar P
Plano, Texas
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Stayed one night. Room recently redone with the 'wood' floor. Everything worked. room clean with no smell in non smoking room. Decent quality motel six. As always, bring your own alarm clock. Flat screen TV on wall. Had to travel to find good restaurant a few miles down the interstate. IHOP and McD one exit away.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob V
Reviewed 21 September 2015

WE booked our reservation with 800 motel 6 #, we were in San Marcos for parents weekend. We had about a half hour to shower, change and get to stadium. Walking in at 3 the check in time, we were greeted with we have no rooms clean, but would be in 30-45 minutes. Thinking we had no other option, checked...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Eileen M
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 San Marcos, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Motel 6 standards for quality...

Milford
Reviewed 19 September 2015

This 6 had been renovated and was very nice. It was a large room and the beds were very comfortable. It is easy access to the major highways. The front staff was very welcoming. It was very quiet even with the highway right out front. The things you miss with no hair dryer, clock, frig or microwave were ok because...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janimal1
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We arrived with a previous reservation, and when we've got to our room it was upside down and full of food junk! There was no more room so we had to start looking for another hotel al 1:00 am! It was awful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank campanation

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Marcos hotels
0.6 km away
Howard Johnson San Marcos
Howard Johnson San Marcos
#16 of 31 in San Marcos
312 reviews
0.6 km away
Quality Inn - San Marcos
Quality Inn - San Marcos
#13 of 31 in San Marcos
19 reviews
1.2 km away
Days Inn - San Marcos
Days Inn - San Marcos
#15 of 31 in San Marcos
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
Red Roof Inn San Marcos
#17 of 31 in San Marcos
90 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
BEST WESTERN San Marcos
#7 of 31 in San Marcos
220 reviews
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites San Marcos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Marcos

Address: 1321 I-35 North, I-35 at S.R. 82 Loop, Exit #206, San Marcos, TX 78666
Region: United States > Texas > San Marcos
Price Range: $76 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Marcos 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Motel-6 and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six San Marcos
San Marcos Motel 6
San Marcos Motel Six
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 San Marcos staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would go elsewhere”
  • Generic Motel 6 vanity
  • The table was damaged and looked very worn. TV did not work.
  • The bed linen was very worn and really needs replacing
 of 5 bubbles 890maggiea, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“freaking room cleaners are more concerned with talking on the cell phone or buddies staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles perezrobert57, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Thank God I only had to sleep there one night!!!”
 of 5 bubbles LoriR2013, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose this place, your better off sleeping in your car!”
 of 5 bubbles Q9310XVveronicag, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Stay Elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles 553eileenm, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5