We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Flaming Gorge Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Flaming Gorge Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Flaming Gorge Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

The suites are nicely laid out and clean, if not entirely updated. Windows open crankily and air flow through the suite isn't efficient, even with the wall mounted AC unit. There was a ceiling fan in bedroom that worked great and a box fan we didn't use. I was there with my almost 4 year old, so the separate bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SilverBG
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear you ended up leaving a day early. We do get a lot of fishing/river activity. I wish our staff would've taken the time to share some ideas and activities available locally (maybe they did). I know all 3 year-olds vary with attention levels and interests and maybe none of these would work for your little...

Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed at the Flaming Gorge Resort the week of July 5th, 2016. We stayed at the motel and ate most of our meals in the Flaming Gorge Resort Restaurant. We booked a fishing guide - Ryan - for the first 7 miles of the Green River (I am going to write a separate review of our day with him)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 602susanf
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

You gave us a very nice and detailed review and we appreciate it. It is true that we currently do not have any refrigerators in the motels, we do have them in our suites. We have received many suggestions for refrigerators and are looking into some smaller options for our motels. Thanks for bringing up the ice buckets, I know...

Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

I've been visiting the Flaming Gorge Lodge/Resort for over thirty years. There aren't many other options for food and lodging. What the resort does best is provide a good place to stay, a good store and fishing shop, and a pretty darn good breakfast and lunch. The motel rooms are good for two people, the suites are even nicer, especially...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark R
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your praises of our staff and for the great review. As you mentioned our Motels are great for 2 people (they have 2 queen beds). Our suites are bigger and have a kitchenette so you can cook meals in your room or take advantage of our on site restaurant. Your review was very helpful. Thanks!

Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewed 25 May 2016

This is the second time I have stayed here. The first was 5 years ago. Three of us stayed in a one bedroom condo. The bedroom has one full and one queen. There is a roll away in the unit as well. Complete kitchen with all necessary tools if you want to cook, including a dishwasher. Which we did for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clyde M
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing remarks! Every review helps our guests and also us. It was a privilege to share your remarks with our staff as well. We all hope to see you back here soon. Thanks again!

Eagle, Colorado
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The Flaming Gorge Resort is a top notch place to stay while fishing the Green River. The rooms are super clean, the people are beyond super nice and the restaurant does a great job at feeding the hungry angler. You couldn't ask for anything more! I've been going there for years and plan on going back for many more!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank turniphead2015
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

WOW!!!! and Thank you! We love your passion. Hopefully we can continue to live up to or even exceed your expectations. We look forward to next time. We couldn't do it without you!

Reviewed 14 May 2016

Have stayed there twice and the people are very helpful and friendly. The accommodations however do not match the price, but with not much competition in Dutch John, they can charge what they want. The toilet did not work well, the bathroom door did not close, and it took 5-10 minutes for the shower to drain--reported it and they said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brodie G
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We were very sorry to hear about all the issues with the bathroom, we will definitely look into that. We have been trying to update our rooms and unfortunately it is a slow process however we will soon be getting microwaves in all the rooms. We also like your idea of the...

Littleton, Colorado
Reviewed 24 April 2016

We stayed here on a recent trip to Flaming Gorge Reservoir and were very satisfied with overall experience. We were greeted with friendly, smiling faces and was able to check in very quickly. The room was clean and comfortable. The tv with satellite tv helped pass the dark hours away. The only thing we really noticed during our stay was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott876
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing so much information about our "Lodge" and the location. That is GREAT! It is always good to hear that our staff was friendly and efficient. We appreciate the time you took to write your comments and let us know how we are doing. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you!

Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

Excellent time in northern Utah. Booked 3 nights at Flaming Gorge Resort. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff everywhere was great. Good food in the restaurant. Utilized a guide through the resort for 2 days on the Green River. Weather conditions weren't the best (it is springtime in the Rockies), but we caught plenty of fish in our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doug C
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

We loved receiving your review and we passed it on to our staff. You are 100% correct about springtime in the Rockies, one day it is sunny and beautiful the next day it is snowing. Our guides do know how to fish in any weather and we were glad to hear that this trip paid off. We couldn't do it...

Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon and were grateful to get the last motel room available. Quiet and comfortable we managed to sit outside and enjoy the wonderful views. Staff good and meal in restaurant good with good service.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul W
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words about the food and service. We are partial to our staff so it's good to hear from others how they are doing. Fall is a great time to visit Flaming Gorge especially when the weather is holding like it did this fall. Thanks again for your review and please visit us again soon.

Colorado
Reviewed 10 December 2015

At $126.00/night, one would expect a higher standard of cleanliness and comfort. The bathroom was encrusted with mold, there were many irritating flies in the room, there was no hair dryer, the lighting was extremely dim, and the bedding was very worn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEMAltitude
Collett_fgresort, HR at Flaming Gorge Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am appreciative of your review, we are always trying to make improvements and we are grateful for your feedback. Thank you for providing us with some information so we can look deeper into this incident. Thanks again.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flaming Gorge Resort offers the best options for Lodging and Accommodations around Flaming Gorge Reservoir, Green River Fly Fishing, Fly Fishing Guides, River Rafting and many more amazing activities in the local area surrounding Dutch John, Utah. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Flaming Gorge Resort

Address: 1100 E Flaming Gorge Resort, Dutch John, UT 84023
Region: United States > Utah > Dutch John
Price Range: $111 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flaming Gorge Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Flaming Gorge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flaming Gorge Hotel Dutch John
Flaming Gorge Lodge
Flaming Gorge Resort Utah/Dutch John
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Flaming Gorge Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms on North best views”
 of 5 bubbles 411donh, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We like the motel rooms with the little porches. We travel with a dog and they have dog rooms. They are kept clean and odor free.”
 of 5 bubbles _boissonnault4c, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Suites are large enough for family stays.”
 of 5 bubbles xlh76, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“While there were suites down the hill, stay in the hotel as it is on top of the hill with the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles reelntrout, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All are great!”
 of 5 bubbles marshallj279, 14 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5