We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waybury Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middlebury
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Waybury Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Waybury Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed in the Longtrail room in Aug for a nearby family wedding. The room was comfortable and clean. The inn staff was friendly and helpful. The rehearsal dinner was outdoors in a lovely garden setting with wonderful food and service. James, one of the waiters, deserves special mention as he was very accommodating. The breakfasts were delicious and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maapar
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We all love what we do here and want to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. This is the best time of year (I feel) in VT.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Whether you are vacationing or visiting Middlebury College, hands down, this the best place to stay. We have stayed here many times and will alway choose to stay here when a room is available. The front lobby has several cozy seating areas and a fireplace. Each guest room has it's own charm, ceiling fan and air conditioning in the summer....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

We try to do what we can to make every guest feel at home. Thank You for your continuing patronage. The cool nights are coming and the fire place will be warming up our guests before we know it.

Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The Waybury Inn is a superbly run, exceptionally managed and the best place I have ever stayed. The food was excellent, from the wonderful breakfasts to the amazing dinners. The staff was friendly, warm, welcoming, accommodating, attentive and far exceeded any expectations I had. They even went out of their way to play up the "Bob Newhart connection" when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fourmush
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

Thank You so much for all the kinds words.

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We (3) came for dinner and couldn't have been more pleased. The gardens are lovely, the service was impeccable and accommodating, and the food was delicious! We all had the dried fruit salad with salmon. The salad was fresh and so was the salmon. Plus we got to tour the Bob Newhart memorabilia. The only reason I didn't give it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

We are glad you were able to enjoy our gardens, it is a beautiful time of year in Vermont. Another great time is during the fall when the leaves are changing colors.

Middlebury, Vermont
Reviewed 8 August 2016

We spent three nights here in early July and had a lovely stay. The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating. Our room was done in more of an Adirondack style than Vermont inn, but it was charming and comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we've had at any B & B anywhere. We had dinner as well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMA07
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your kind words, our breakfast is something we like to talk about as it is a hot breakfast made to order. Yes our cell service and WiFi can be a bit spotty. When coming down Rout 125 out of the Beautiful Green Mountains we are one of the first places cell service will come in....

Mendon, Vermont
Reviewed 8 August 2016

5 of us went for a birthday celebration. 1 had the Sunday brunch,3 had pancakes, and I had their crab cake Benedict. The place was fairly busy. . Thankfully the birthday guy had the brunch buffet and he was happy. However, the rest of the food took forever too come out. The pancakes were 3 small pancakes that were obviously...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harpoonalt
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

I'm very sorry this happened to you on such a special day. Sundays can be a very busy day as it is the only day we server our brunch. I see you said you contacted us via our website, again no excuse but I have been away and got locked out of the emails and am just getting around to...

East Hampton, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 June 2016

You will not be disappointed. We came here first to get away from stressful jobs to relax. We now come every 90 days no matter what. The attention to detail when taking care of their "house guests" is over the top. You feel at home, and everyone treats you like family. Joe, Tracy, James, Laura and Laura, Brianna......everyone is wonderful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Clinton, New York, United States
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The Good: --James, the pub waiter, anticipated every need, including instructions for fire pit if we wanted to use it when he wasn't around. --Ditto front desk gal whose parents moved to Florida--who let us stay one night instead of 2 and accommodated extra person (our son). So thoughtful. --Spotless. Both from sheets to sink to manicured garden w/paths. --Amazing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JesZZZ
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

First off I want to thank you for you kind and honest review. Here at the Waybury we strive to make each guest feel special and have the best experience during your time with us. I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not as enjoyable as the rest of your stay; but thanks to reviews like yours we can...

Greenland, NH
Reviewed 28 April 2016

This was my 3rd time staying here for business and I was not disappointed. While the hotel and room are very nice, it was the staff that makes this the place to stay. From the manager to the wait staff, you are treated like a VIP.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim C
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, I will be sure to pass your comment onto our staff.

Florence, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 April 2016

If you visit this place hoping to reconnect with your memories of the Stratford Inn from the Bob Newhart show, you will not be disappointed. Although the Inn has seem some changes you get the feeling that you are in the show. The quirkiness of the activities from the show was evident from our first few minutes as we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimmy W
WayburyInn, Front Office Manager at Waybury Inn, responded to this review

We would love to have you back in the Fall, one of the best times of year in New England. I hope you were able to get some pictures of the Bob Newhart memorabilia while you were here.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middlebury
6.0 km away
Courtyard Middlebury
Courtyard Middlebury
#2 of 3 in Middlebury
216 reviews
7.6 km away
Middlebury Inn
Middlebury Inn
#1 of 3 in Middlebury
523 reviews
7.8 km away
Swift House Inn
Swift House Inn
#1 of 11 in Middlebury
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Inn on the Green
Inn on the Green
#2 of 11 in Middlebury
187 reviews
4.4 km away
Greystone Motel
Greystone Motel
#3 of 3 in Middlebury
28 reviews
4.3 km away
Chipman Inn
Chipman Inn
#1 of 1 in Ripton
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waybury Inn is known not only for its role on the Bob Newhart Show, but also for its extraordinary dining options and beautiful accommodations. The Waybury Inn's thirteen guest rooms are decorated with a little whimsy and provide all of the comforts expected in today’s lodging. It is true that we are over 200 years old, but we have spent the last ten years renovating and decorating to offer the best blends of historic charm and comfortable surroundings. Dog-friendly accommodations, deep claw-foot bathtubs, free wireless internet, a dedicated guest PC, and a full service bar are just some of the amenities we offer. All of our guests also enjoy a complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waybury Inn

Address: 457 E Main St, Middlebury, VT 05753-8656
Region: United States > Vermont > Middlebury
Price Range: $135 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Waybury Hotel Middlebury
Waybury Inn Middlebury, Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waybury Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the rooms are nice. Some have bath tubs and larger bathrooms. Just ask!”
AmyB256, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Every room is superbly different. Ask the staff as most have stayed in each of the rooms, they can help you decide.”
fourmush, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one closer to the router if you need wifi.”
JMA07, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The food is Outstanding !”
timc991, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go to web site and review the rooms before you book. The Middlebury suite was great!”
514jimmyw, 10 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5