We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
See the most recent reviews
Showing 402: English reviews
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel on the outskirts of Burlington. Burlington is a nice city but to get here you either need to take a taxi or have a car from this hotel. The rooms are big but has a carpet on the floor and a pretty old interior. Breakfast included that is pretty good. Friendly staff and helpful receptionists.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gobystolsvik
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear SOELSVIK, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the hotel and amenities. We are located 4 miles from the center of Burlington, but we are right along the CCTA bus route. There are also cab services available for a...

Greenfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We are frequent Holiday Inn Express users and find usually consistent experiences across the United States. South Burlington's HIE breakfast is staffed by two and the service as well as the food is above par. The weekend in point was a three wedding weekend and the hotel was packed. There were people sitting at breakfast tables as soon as they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank P A
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear P A, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our Smart Start Breakfast Bar. It is very popular with our guests. I am sorry to hear that the pool fell below expectations and I will be sure to share your comments with our maintenance staff. Thanks...

Gardner, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The shower from the room above us leaked into our bathroom and when we told the staff there response was "OH well.......thanks for telling us." And the room was kind of dirty. Nothing was done for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegTodd
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear MegTodd, I apologize for your experience during your recent stay with us. I can assure you this is not a normal experience at our hotel. I invite you to give me a call at the hotel so we can discuss your dissatisfaction. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments...

Shreveport, Louisiana
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This property could use an update but is very clean. Front desk was very helpful. They even let me check out a room before we booked the room. Breakfast was hectic. Go early. We barely got anything since it was very crowded.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephaniejjordan
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear iampicky, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and take all guest comments into consideration as we strive for perfection. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Burlington area. Warmest regards, Stacy G.

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Megan greeted us with a smile and an eagerness to help. When we checked in, she was polite and easy to relate too. We spoke about snow boarding and the mountains we been too. She also was helpful in using my corporate discount towards the rate of my hotel room. This worked out great because I used the extra money...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John W
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for the review. I will be sure to share your comments with Meagan. I know she will appreciate your kind words and acknowledgement of her hard work and dedication to our guests. Kindest regards, Stacy G.

Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we first got to our room, I immediately started unpacking everything. Only when I was about to put my shampoo in the shower did I see the hairs in the tub, and the used, dried washcloth on the shower curtain rod. My husband went down to the front desk to see if we could get housekeeping to come &...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stacey W
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear Stacey W, I apologize that yoru recent stay with us failed to meet and exceed your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments to heart. I hope you will consider giving us a 2nd chance in the future as this is not a typical experience for our guests. Warmest regards, Stacy...

Danville, California, United States
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked room for 2 nights using non-refundable prepaid saver rate. Left one day earlier, and the Manager Walter refunded the money for the second night without any question. The checkin at the hotel was superb, and the room was typical holiday inn room. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, just for the customer service, everything else is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shujaul B
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear Shujaul B, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation. Hope to see you again real soon. Warmest regards, Stacy G.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff was gracious and very helpful for us to find thing to do ing South Burlington, Vermont. Our luck there was a marathon and a festival while we stayed. The Shelburne museam was the best, you must go. The setting in town is very nice walking around is most pleseant. This hotel is not one that meant to hang out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 945lh
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear 945lh, We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. The staff will enjoy hearing your acknowledgement of their outstanding customer service. We are continually making improvements on our property and look forward to seeing you back soon. Warmest regards, Stacy G.

Bradenton, Florida
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a very nice property along Shelburne Road. The rooms are away from the street and are quiet. The rooms feel a little crowded, but the bed and sofa bed were very good. The wireless service is flawless. I had asked for a mini-fridge and there wasn't one. Adam brought one to the room as soon as I inquired....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William G
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear William G, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We take all guest comments seriously as we continually strive for perfection. I apologize for the key issues you experienced during your stay, but appreciate the acknowledgement of how efficiently our staff was able to resolve the issues for you. Thanks again and we...

Hope, Maine
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited our son for Father's Day weekend and had a hard time finding a decent price. We got a good hotwire deal and ended up here. We found this hotel to have some good things and some not so good. Pros: Rooms are very clean and updated, though a tad small. We only slept there so this wasn't an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank seedlady
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review

Dear seedlady, Thank you for the review. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize that our breakfast area fell below your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments to heart. Warmest regards, Stacy G.

194 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (136)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
King Room (49)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 14 in South Burlington
1,184 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
#10 of 14 in South Burlington
397 reviews
5.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burli...
#7 of 14 in South Burlington
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Shelburne
Quality Inn Shelburne
#1 of 6 in Shelburne
339 reviews
4.5 km away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 14 in South Burlington
610 reviews
0.1 km away
Smart Suites Burlington
Smart Suites Burlington
#5 of 14 in South Burlington
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Address: 1720 Shelburne Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-7718
Region: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
albany, n.y.
6 months ago
Oneida, New York

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room seemed to have been recently renovated and was on a higher floor, so I didn't hear any road noise.”
  • Big room, nice couch
 of 5 bubbles 638alp, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floors!”
 of 5 bubbles laf00, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The breakfast is "OK" - the in room coffee is better than the breakfast bar coffee!”
 of 5 bubbles 401randyr, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side were opposite the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles paulmJ7590HB, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ASK for what you want!”
 of 5 bubbles citycat66, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay