We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hartness House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hartness House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hartness House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Seattle
Reviewed 26 May 2016

I loved staying here, regardless of the faded carpets and shabbiness. The mansion is very elegant but needs to be refurbished. The bed was very comfortable with a new mattress. We stayed in the old mansion as they are in the process of upgrading the newer wings. They are also upgrading the kitchen and Tavern restaurant and will eventually upgrade...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank old_lady_who
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We appreciate your very kind review! We try our best here at the Hartness House to maintain the highest level of customer service and hospitality. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the telescope museum, as that is one of the neatest pieces of history at the inn. We are avidly working on making everything as beautiful as it...

Michigan
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I travel a lot and usually stay in "chain" hotels, but the Hartness House was ranked high in Trip Advisor and was close to my business contact so I reserved a room for three nights. The house was nicely decorated and was at one time the house of the Governor of Vermont with much history. I was assigned a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Found this place by accident. Couldn't find anything very close to the ski resorts over the holiday weekend, so decided to try the Hartness House. It was the highlight of the weekend. The staff were attentive and helpful. Included breakfast was fantastic. The stay included a tour of the underground bunker/telescope room. The history was very interesting. The ride to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DonnaB1206
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in maintaining our mansion rooms in their original state as well as offering clean less expensive rooms in the back of the house. We look forward to you joining us again. We do however apologize for the renovations. All in the attempt to restore this beautiful...

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We spent the weekend at the Hartness House and it was wonderful. The staff were very accommodating,and upgraded us to a very nice suite before we even arrived. The house is beautiful, all dark hardwood and lace curtains, but still has all the amenities- including new flat screen TV's in the rooms. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Donald H
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review, it was a pleasure housing you! We try to make everyone's stay as comfortable and cozy as possible, we encourage you come back again anytime!

Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We stayed in the James Hartness Suite, which felt extremely luxurious and spacious, since we had a living room, a bedroom, and a bathroom. The decor was nice, the fireplace was roaring (especially nice during a January visit), and the room felt very private. The staff was extremely accommodating and went out of their way to make us feel welcome...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WeLoveTheCity00
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are honored to know that your stay here was great. We hope that you will come back again in the near future.

MARINA DEL REY
Reviewed 9 March 2016

My wife and I decided to do a New England Christmas this year and felt that, as a counter-balance to the hustle and bustle of NYC, a few days in Vermont would really make the Holidays special. When we checked in (we had originally booked the Lindberg Suite) the innkeepers gave us the option of the Hartness Suite. Now, I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ROBERT S
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are so very happy that you had a wonderful experience here at the Hartness House Inn. Our goal is always to meet the best needs of our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Monroe Township, NJ
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Came here for some much needed rest and relaxation. Great choice. The Inn is super cozy and has a warm welcome atmosphere. I recommend staying in the main house as it is more historical. The staff is so friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast was terrific. Also you definitely want to take the tour of the tunnels. They do it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for the outstanding review. We take pride in our ability to meet guest expectations of our historic inn. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 February 2016

The Inn innkeepers and entire staff are very professional, kind & will go out of their way to make a guest feel comfortable. The rooms were lovely you really felt like you were in the early 1900's the Inn keeper's are working on each room of this beautiful Inn to keep it updated and in good repair. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to update the inn and renovate it to make it even more beautiful and timeless. Our chef takes great pride in her food and we are especially happy you enjoyed your breakfast and were able to do the tour and learn...

Chester, United States
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I recently attended an event through work at this Inn. Although very picturesque outside of Inn and surroundings I was at first a bit disappointed about the dated interior but then just thought of it as being a beautiful historic building inside and out and realized they are in the process of updating through recent new ownership. That being said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travis A
HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. Thank you for recognizing that we are in the process of renovating and hope you will continue to patron our establishment. fortunately, we believe the person who was cooking at the time was not our head chef, as she would have not been out gossiping...

Reviewed 3 November 2015

Booked a romantic room on Groupon which turned out to be outdated, dirty and disgusting. When we approached the Innkeeper to switch rooms, we were met with arrogance, disrespect and rudeness. Worst experience ever! However, ended up going to Weathersfield Inn right down the road and really had the experience of a charming country inn that we were looking for.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle A
HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness House, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you were displeased with the inn. When booking through Groupon, we book the accommodations that are paid for to them and sent through our website. Due to renovation work, we had upgraded this room to the best accommodation we had available, which is a beautiful room in the mansion. For a small fee, we also...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
16.6 km away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
13.9 km away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
7.6 km away
The Inn at Weathersfield
The Inn at Weathersfield
#1 of 2 in Perkinsville
229 reviews
10.8 km away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hartness House

Address: 30 Orchard St, Springfield, VT 05156-2612
Region: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Price Range: $142 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hartness House 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hartness House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartness House Hotel Springfield
Hartness House Springfield, Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hartness House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hartness House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stick with the main building, not the wings. We were on the third floor and when going upstairs we saw some pretty rooms.”
Krioux48, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay in the Mansion, it is not that much more and well worth it!!”
mindiegem, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get upgraded to the main inn rooms if you can”
floridatravelerssss, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Dont go there”
Ilovelucy417, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Book Early !”
D5161QEjeffl, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5