We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hartness House

295 reviews
Save
Traveller (169)
Dining (40)
Storyboard
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Hot Tub
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Hartness House
Hotel packages
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (295)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Hartness House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
153
60
23
23
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
153
60
23
23
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housenext morningdowntown springfieldunderground tunnelold mansionwhite christmascreaky floorsrich historygreat ideaswhole housebreakfast was includedcheese and crackersbeautiful roomwonderful place to staycharles lindberghthird floorfrench toast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
51 - 55 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Came here for some much needed rest and relaxation. Great choice. The Inn is super cozy and has a warm welcome atmosphere. I recommend staying in the main house as it is more historical. The staff is so friendly and very accomodating. The breakfast was...More

Thank Susan B
Response from HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness HouseResponded 14 April 2016

Thank you so very much for the outstanding review. We take pride in our ability to meet guest expectations of our historic inn. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 4 February 2016

The Inn innkeepers and entire staff are very professional, kind & will go out of their way to make a guest feel comfortable. The rooms were lovely you really felt like you were in the early 1900's the Inn keeper's are working on each room...More

Thank Karen K
Response from HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness HouseResponded 12 February 2016

Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to update the inn and renovate it to make it even more beautiful and timeless. Our chef takes great pride in her food and we are...More

Reviewed 9 December 2015

I recently attended an event through work at this Inn. Although very picturesque outside of Inn and surroundings I was at first a bit disappointed about the dated interior but then just thought of it as being a beautiful historic building inside and out and...More

Thank Travis A
Response from HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness HouseResponded 14 December 2015

Thanks for the review. We are very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. Thank you for recognizing that we are in the process of renovating and hope you will continue to patron our establishment. fortunately, we believe the person who was cooking at...More

Reviewed 3 November 2015

Booked a romantic room on Groupon which turned out to be outdated, dirty and disgusting. When we approached the Innkeeper to switch rooms, we were met with arrogance, disrespect and rudeness. Worst experience ever! However, ended up going to Weathersfield Inn right down the road...More

2  Thank Michelle A
Response from HartnessHouse, Front Office Manager at Hartness HouseResponded 6 November 2015

We are so sorry that you were displeased with the inn. When booking through Groupon, we book the accommodations that are paid for to them and sent through our website. Due to renovation work, we had upgraded this room to the best accommodation we had...More

Reviewed 25 October 2015

We had an excellent experience with the Hartness House Inn and staff for my daughter's wedding. The key was having valid and reasonable expectations. If a brand-new venue with all the amenities of a 4-star hotel are your expectations, this is not for you. Realizing...More

Thank karenw9202015
Response from HartnessHouse, Front Desk Agent at Hartness HouseResponded 30 October 2015

Thank you for taking time to write a review of the inn. It was a beautiful wedding and we enjoyed having your wedding party stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your were happy with the personalized service and strive to provide that...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
191011121359
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (169)
Dining (40)
Room & Suite (31)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (13)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nancy N
24 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HartnessHouse | Property representative |
Good Day Nancy, Rooms in the Carriage Wing are on both the first and second floor. There are ramps leading to both levels. All of our guest rooms feature their own private bathroom located in the room. All My Best, Jen
0
Votes
Nancy N
24 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from HartnessHouse | Property representative |
Good Day Nancy, We have private and group tables at breakfast for our guests! There are small tables for 2-3 people and we have round tables that seat 7. If a private table is important to you please let our front desk know... More
0
Votes
Karen K
20 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Mary S | Reviewed this property |
Stayed there in Oct. 2015 No updates were being done.There had been reports of bed bugs In June 2015.They must have done something about that. I would not recommend you to stay here.T.v. was in room.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Rooms in the Inn have most character but rooms in the extension are easier to access."
Read review
"The new wing has just been renovated."
Read review
"more luxurious rooms are in main house. Less costly rooms are in the rear annex. Nice, simple, clean for $40..."
Read review
"We stayed in the Anna room. I would not recommend it. Some of the windows don't have shades and the bed..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing