We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Green Mountain Inn

Show Prices
#2 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Green Mountain Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,745 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Green Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,712: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 4 February 2013

My wife and I booked our recent weekend getaway in Vermont very carefully. Both of us really trust and rely on Trip Advisors' members' reviews. Given that Stowe's #1 rated lodging option on Trip Advisor is The Green Mountain Inn, our expectations tended to be on the higher end of the spectrum. I must state that my review of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bostonspin
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It’s always a pleasure to received feedback from seasoned travelers and I certainly do understand what you mean by a true Vermont experience. That being said, we do try to provide such an experience, with handmade Vermont furnishings, quilts and original artwork to compliment the surroundings. It would have been...

New York
Reviewed 31 January 2013

First time stay and everything was warm and comfortable. "Classic" room in main building on second floor was good size and the bed was extremely comfortable . There was an elevator and handicapped parking which was great for me. Staff were friendly and knowledgable. We enjoyed all of our meals which included at least two dinners at the Whip "...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jahnaynay
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that your recent visit to the Green Mountain Inn was so enjoyable. You are correct, that while we are located in the heart of Stowe, there are many wonderful places to visit in the area that do require a car. I am grateful that you’ve taken the time to share your experience and appreciate the...

Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I had a quiet and restful stay at the GMI. The suite was clean, comfortable and the spa tub and fireplace were nice touches. Our only complaint would be the lack of in-room coffee...and since we were in one of the houses behind the main inn, we had to suit up in boots and coats to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CTtravelgirl
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. While I’m excited to learn that your stay at the Green Mountain Inn was romantic and relaxing, I am certainly disappointed to hear that your room was lacking an amenity that is provided. Each of our rooms is supplied with a Keurig coffee maker with GMCR pods and I do apologize that...

East Moriches, New York
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This was our second visit to this inn in 2 years. We stayed for 5 nights and loved every minute. The inn, the staff and the food were all great! In addition, the town and surroundings were relaxing and fun to just explore! Both my wife and I had a great visit and will be back for sure. Eric East...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eric2424
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your tips and suggestions, as well as your enjoyable experience at the Green Mountain Inn! It’s great to hear that you had a chance to explore the wonderful town of Stowe and that your recent stay has inspired you to return again. I am so grateful that you took the time to let me know how...

Markham, Canada
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I visited Green Mountain Inn and were greeted by friendly staff. We were given the Peter Lovejoy suite that was located on the third floor. One minor issue if you have disabilities or are older is there is no elevator access to that suite so you will need to carry your bag up a flight of stairs....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Occidio-Vivo
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide this detailed review about your experience at the Green Mountain Inn. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Peter Lovejoy suite, and I appreciate your helpful suggestions to other guests regarding its location. Historic charm and tradition is exactly what we want our guests to experience...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Green Mountain Inn as part of a relaxing anniversay getaway. We absolutely loved our stay there. The grounds are very well maintained and our room was very clean and comfortable. The spa bathtub with the view of the fireplace was a very nice extra, and I wished that I could bring the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksmifff
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am so very happy that you chose the Green Mountain Inn as a part of your anniversary celebration! Happy Anniversary from all of us. The weather in Stowe can be frigid at times, and for those that choose to stay indoors, we offer modern comforts and welcoming amenities sure to please. Thank you for your gracious review and I...

Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Hi.... I bought a jetsetter deal for the basic room, but upgraded to the room with a jacuzzi and fireplace in the room for only an additional 35.00 a night, definitely worth it!!! We stayed in the Mansfield house, set back from the main building, but still close to everything. The rooms were large and clean, and the king bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hula-luv
GreenMtnInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

While I’m happy to hear that the location and accommodation at the Green Mountain Inn provided you with an enjoyable stay, I am disappointed that the value of our breakfast buffet did not match your expectations. I do appreciate your valuable feedback and take all guests comments seriously. It seems though, like you had an amazing time exploring all the...

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights the beginning of January. Our stay was fabulous!! Everyone was very accommodating, from the front desk to housekeeping to the dining staff, and anyone else who I have missed. They make customer service a priority, which is rare to find these days! They have tea, hot cider and cookies every day...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank skigirltiff
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

How exciting that you were able to hear the fancy footwork of Boots Berry during your stay at the Green Mountain Inn! Our staff genuinely cares about providing thoughtful care to our guests and your comments precisely describe the experience we wish for everyone. I am very appreciative of your kind recommendation and for your amazing compliments for our staff,...

Rockville Centre, New York
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just came home from Stowe @ the Green Mountain Inn, and we loved it! My husband & I were there for our anniversary and it couldn't have been more perfect! The room was beautiful and big, the lobby in our building was beautiful and quiet. The Whip restuarant was fabulous!!! We loved the Tea time everyday from 4-5 in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jen b
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let all of us here at the Green Mountain Inn know about your experience. I am so delighted that you and your husband chose to mark such a special occasion with us – Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing so many details about your visit, and for the high praise of our staff....

Reviewed 12 January 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Green Mountain Inn four times now. Twice for winter skiing holidays about 10 years ago and the third for an Autumn break. We've always had a wonderful time so this year we came with our two young children for their first ever ski holiday, and it didn't disappoint. We stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARUK13
GreenM0untainInn, General Manager at Green Mountain Inn, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear that, time and time again, your experience at the Green Mountain Inn has been exceptional. It was certainly our pleasure to welcome your family to our Inn and I hope your children had a great time skiing. Family time is so important and I’m thrilled that we had the opportunity to be part of...

1,592 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Room/Suite (146)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (132)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (1141)
Viewed
Amenities (64)
Viewed
Classic Double Bed Room (37)
Viewed
Classic Room (40)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bed Room (36)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (52)
Viewed
Liftline Loft Apartment (118)
Viewed
Luxury Room (42)
Viewed
Luxury Suite (54)
Viewed
Pinnacle Suite (105)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Starr Loft Apartment (95)
Viewed
Sterling Suite (79)
Viewed
The Hotel (96)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Townhouse (162)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Townhouse (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
10.4 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,204 reviews
6.3 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#1 of 24 in Stowe
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.7 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#9 of 24 in Stowe
126 reviews
5.2 km away
Topnotch Resort
Topnotch Resort
#8 of 24 in Stowe
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Whip Bar & Grill
Whip Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Soups
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A beautifully restored historic inn blending classic country charm and modern amenities in the heart of Stowe village. Offering over 100 quaint rooms, suites, townhouses and apartments, many with fireplaces and Jacuzzis. Enjoy sumptuous cuisine in two dining rooms - including the famous Whip Bar & Grill with outdoor terrace. Heated outdoor pool, afternoon tea & cookies, health club with Jacuzzi, sauna and massage. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green Mountain Inn

Address: 18 Main Street, PO Box 60, Stowe, VT 05672-5071
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $203 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Green Mountain Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Green Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel Stowe
Green Mountain Resort
Green Mountain Stowe
Green Mountain Inn Stowe, Vermont
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#1 Family Hotel in Stowe
#2 Business Hotel in Stowe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Green Mountain Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Green Mountain Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we like to stay either in the annex or in the main inn”
 of 5 bubbles JanicM_13, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Whip Room restaurant gets busy-make a reservation!!!”
 of 5 bubbles AJCinMass, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a gas fireplace”
 of 5 bubbles smitparr, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main building, not the rooms facing the parking lot, unless you like that motel feel”
 of 5 bubbles BLT-NJ, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No pref I dont like limitations like 10 Characters”
 of 5 bubbles WBa1, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5