We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Stowe Inn

Expedia.comUS$61*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Stowe Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Stowe Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 December 2016

Stowe is such a beautiful town. And from the outside, you'd think the historic Stowe Inn would match the this beauty. Sadly, it doesn't. the rooms are fairly drab, generic and poorly appointed. It has none of quaint atmosphere you'd expect from the billing. The staff is great, friendly and helpful. But even they can't salvage the ordinariness of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anotherjoshua
Kuwait
Reviewed 11 December 2016

I was in the area and decided to stay overnight. Quick and easy reservation. Lovely property that is within just a few minutes walk from everything. The dining room looks out over a small river. Gorgeous antique furniture throughout the property. Bed was comfy. Pillow a bit thin. Slept well anyway.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

We are very happy that you choose to stay at our inn even a last minute stay is great to have, we hope you will come and stay with us again in the future. We strive to make your stay with us a great one. The Stowe Inn

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

The Stowe Inn and Tavern is a great place. When I walked in I wasn't sure where the restaurant was so with the help of Cresta I was able to find my way. The servers Maleighna and Harley were super friendly and the Bartender Josh was great as well! The meal was prepared well and tasted delicious!! If you're looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaleb W
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review we are glad that your experience here was a good one and hope to see you again soon, we strive to make our customers happy.

Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

My visit at the Inn's restaurant was amazing. The bar tender Josh and server Maleighna were incredibly friendly. The manager Cresta was extremely helpful. They were all the nicest people ever and the food was perfectly prepared! I can't wait to come back for more amazing food and great company! If you're looking for nice people and great food The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes L
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your kind words, we enjoyed our conversations with you and your great company. We hope you will continue to come and eat and enjoy the Stowe Inn. We strive to make our customers happy :)

Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at the Stowe Inn this past weekend (non-stop snowfall didn't hurt). I was initially upgraded to a room in the main building, which was unexpected and a very nice room. Unfortunately I had my hound in tow and didn't feel comfortable making everyone in the hotel listen to him all day while i was out skiing,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ahryb22
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Stowe Inn and we hope to see you again in your future travels. We were happy to have you as our guest and your dog was very cute and no problem at all. We strive to make our guest happy and comfortable. Kind regards Cresta Perkins General Manager

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Comfy and Cozy Inn!! We plan to stay here after hiking from Mount Manfiled the mountain near downtown Stowe. So only one nice to stay there. So we don't expect the room we would stay only one nice. Lovely staff Thank you so much for upgrade the room. More comfy for us after long hiking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Js S
TheStoweInn, General Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay we were happy to have you with us here at the Stowe Inn we hope to see you again soon.

Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I was a little nervous when I booked my reservation with the Stowe Inn. I had read a lot of reviews where people had very poor experiences, but the person I was traveling with said that he typically stays here when in Stowe. Thus, I took a chance. Prices were very affordable for our one-night stay in October, so I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allison E
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

We are glad that you have a good stay with us hope to see you again soon. Also if you could go to our Ad visor Trip and put in a good review for us that would be grateful.

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Be very careful: your reservation can be canceled without notification. We booked the hotel over the phone, four days before our trip. Everywhere else was booked, and I feel extremely lucky that they still have a room for us (although it's expensive, $219+tax per night). However, when I arrived, they told me I don't have any reservation, and they're booked...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Xiaodong W
Management17, Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear Xiadong W. We are sorry about your recent visit to our hotel. We did not have your reservation in our system when you arrived as we did not have a reservation with your name in our system at all. We did not charge your card as we were not able to find your name or reservation and suggested that...

california
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I was very disappointed with our stay at the Stowe Inn. We stayed in a large room on the ground floor in the main hotel. Not necessarily the fault of housekeeping due to lack of time to clean each room, but our room was absolutely covered with dust. The lampshades and lamps were absolutely filthy. I have asthma so was...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank sweetpea100
TheStoweInn, Front Desk Employee (Sarah) at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your stay and if you could give us some feed back on what we could do differently for your next stay that would be really helpful. Also if you could please go to our adviser trip and put in a good review that would be really grateful. Thank you and hope to see...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

we arrived at the Inn after a long motorcycle riding day. 4 people behind the desk and no one acknowledged our presence, not a hello we'll be with you or just hello. Absolutely no acknowledgement. After a wait, we were directed to our room. There were 2 working electrical outlets and both were in use for the alarm clock and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank dmman150
TheStoweInn, Front Office Manager at The Stowe Inn, responded to this review

Dear guest. We are not sure why no one said hello to you. Our staff is always very friendly. We are sorry you did not like your salad. We did take off one of your salads that evening off of your bill as you are aware. $12 is an average price for a entree salad. Our shirley temple drinks do...

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
1.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
4.5 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
1,235 reviews
10.2 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
447 reviews
0.5 km away
Field Guide
Field Guide
#8 of 24 in Stowe
158 reviews
0.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Stowe Inn is one of Vermont's architectural treasures. Carefully restored, the Inn provides a peaceful, elegant setting for guests and visitors alike. Graceful, wraparound porches overlooking the river, period furnishings, inviting rooms and an exceptional collection of American art distinguish this exceptional property. Ideal for weekend getaways, memorable ski vacations, family reunions, weddings or small corporate retreats, the Stowe Inn caters to discerning travelers looking for a Vermont experience out of the ordinary. Conveniently located, the Stowe Inn is only a short stroll through a covered bridge to the enchanting village of Stowe where galleries, shops, museums, live theatre and fine restaurants flourish. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Stowe Inn

Address: 123 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4630
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Price Range: $101 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stowe Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Stowe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stowe Hotel Stowe
The Stowe Inn Vermont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Stowe Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
lancaster
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Stowe Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The main house is the best. The standard rooms are in the carriage house. to confirm, call and ask.”
Keek07, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the main (older) building. It was great, quaintt, beautiful.”
195bettyc, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not all rooms have a mini-frig so you might want ask if you need one. Also there is no elevator,”
skiphendrix, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay inside the inn. The rooms are nicer.”
erinlawwill, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find a room inside the main house”
652AmyN, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$61* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$99
PricelineUS$99
TravelocityUS$61
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates