We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
See the most recent reviews
Showing 202: English reviews
Westminster, Maryland
Reviewed 13 August 2016

First, know that this hotel is not visible at street level; you must turn off the main road to drive up the hill to reach it. Signage at this turn is small and easy to miss. This is an old, outdated Best Western. All doors open to the outside.The room was clean but had the cheapest of everything. The toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WhiteCatWriting
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your most recent stay! It is only from the guests perspective that we know where we need to improve and what we are doing well! I have noted your review with our management team. Although there is no way to make the bathroom larger, we are looking...

Virginia
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped in passing by... We will NEVER stay here again. The front staff lady was rude. When we were asking questions about room she acted like it was a complete inconvenience to her! There was some sort of party going on, it was so loud in the lobby well after midnight. When we got to the room, it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RLBmom
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had these inconveniences during your most recent stay with us. We would like to know a little bit more about your stay to determine who checked you in and also who cleaned your room. could you please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with Joann or email the hotel at magnusonhotelcovingtonva@gmail.com. We are...

Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I would not recommend this hotel! We are not extremely picky, but this hotel was dated and smelled very musty. The bed was not comfortable. We would not return as it was definitely not worth the price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First and foremost, thank you for choosing to stay at Magnuson Hotel Covington for your recent trip through Covington, VA. Secondly, we are sincerely sorry the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay! Our staff works really hard to ensure that each guest room is neat and cleaned. I have also notified the General Manager of your notice...

Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Last year I gave a terrible rating to this hotel primarily due to poor management and service. This year I took my group back there after finding out is was under new ownership and management. The current team gets it right! Very pleased how they treated me and all of my group. Hotel is a bit old and dated but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmwphoto
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel! We appreciate the fact that you have noticed the improvements that we have made to our facility! We still have a long way to go, but its with guests like who that give us the motivation to keep going. Thank you, Cary L.

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I work for a big company and live in hotels half the year. I am accustomed to occasional issues at hotels but this place was just bad. We had reservations and showed up early. Didn't really expect to check in but sometimes it happens. We were told "sometime between 3 &4 we may be able to check in." So at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrmuffmuff
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest! First of all, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! I am sorry that you have a bad experience with us! You are correct, you should not have to search the hotel to find a clean room, the Guest Services Agent should know and they do, as well, the lady that you were referring this...

Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We were there during a local disaster and there were many work crews staying at the hotel. They seemed a little overwhelmed and some of the rooms were not ready, but the staff was working hard to accommodate their patrons. Nice outdoor pool and restaurants were close. Beds were not the most comfortable, but the room was clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennNationalRog
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for understanding the circumstances during your stay Its is because of you that we are successful! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler

Reviewed 26 June 2016

We had Room 137 it was in the back of the Hotel . It was quiet and it was very clean. The staff was friendly . We did have breakfast Saturday morning , better than average and the morning crew was nice. Check out was easy. No complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z7919AIrobertm
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay here at Magnuson Hotel Covington! It is because of guests like that you we are successful! Have a beautiful day! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler

Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

First there was a bed bug disclaimer with the check in paperwork. The room had trash in it from a previous guest. There was hair in the sink and on the shower curtain. My electric door lock was broken so every time I needed to get in the room I had to get a hotel employee to let me in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell M
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you for our stay at our hotel! We are sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory! Please feel free to contact the hotel to discuss this further. Thank you, Cary Linkswiler

Cameron, Missouri
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

My family and I were arriving late on our trip to Virginia, and needed a place to stay before we met our hosts. We had tried a disastrous stay at the Relax Inn in Lewisburg WV, and needed a new place very quickly. This hotel definitely did it. We arrived at the lobby late. I described our situation and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sillywitness
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for staying with us! It is because of guests like you that we are able to be successful! Sincerely, Cary Linkswiler

Prince George, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 13 June 2016

This hotel was awful. The only good thing I can say is the people working there were nice. I felt terrible for the poor girl working in the restaurant. Oh, and there is no carpet so you don't have to worry about smelly old, dirty carpet. The room we had was musty--bad. Smelled almost like sewage. Luckily I travel w/Clorox...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KTHarrison
MagnusonGM2016, Public Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel Mountain View, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that your stay with us was less than pleasant! We do try to ensure that every guest room rented is clean and presentable! Please know that we are looking into ways to better improve the quality of our hotel and the guest experience! Thank you, Michael Keyser, GM

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covington
27.4 km away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
4,577 reviews
3.3 km away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Covington
16 reviews
29.8 km away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
32 reviews
7.8 km away
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
Oak Tree Inn Low Moor
#1 of 1 in Low Moor
41 reviews
34.0 km away
Inn at Gristmill Square
Inn at Gristmill Square
#1 of 5 in Warm Springs
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Mountain View

Address: 820 East Madison Street, Covington, VA 24426 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mountain View)
Region: United States > Virginia > Covington
Price Range: $163 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Mountain View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain View Hotel Covington
Best Western Covington
Covington Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Magnuson Hotel Mountain View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter nights!!”
 of 5 bubbles JustSaying1991, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great. No worries there!”
 of 5 bubbles lorijok2015, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wanted to say this place was hard to find at night...stay on 2nd floor, does have an elevator”
 of 5 bubbles backcreekvalleyy2016, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles KTHarrison, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ONLY take rooms on back side of hotel...and not the one next to the laundry service area.”
 of 5 bubbles robswnl, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5