We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Governor House Inn

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Governor House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Governor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 180: English reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

I really liked the place. it is very close to the center of DC. 15 minutes to drive. I accidentally ran into the manager. Manager was very nice and helpful. Front desk was friendly. I didn't worry about parking, about anything. Room was big and had everything i needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrey N
DaveCFallsChurch, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Andrey, Thank you for staying with us and especially for the time taken to give such a kind and generous review of our property! I have shared with the staff and as always can't say enough for these......... we try to be a friendly value alternative to the new costly big brand boxes out there these days and review such...

Reviewed 22 July 2016

The Inn located close to Washington DC, if no traffic, 15-20 mins can reach the National Mall. There are some restaurants, CVS, fast food near the Inn. Room is very clean, newly renovated, breakfast is fair, couple choices, but the tablecloth is not clean enough. The Inn is full during the 3 nights we visited, room service can be improved,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DorisnWes
DaveCFallsChurch, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

DorisnWes, Thankyou for staying with us and especially taking the time to post the review and share your experience for others. I'm glad you received on of our newer rooms as the entire property is a work in process but has been moving along nicely thanks to the volume and loyalty of return guests. I was disappointed to learn about...

Reviewed 13 July 2016

Our group was greeted by a very cordial receptionist and very professional. The rooms are clean and tidy. Service is great and the room rates are reasonable. We had a double bed and very acceptable. We will come back again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armin F
DaveCFallsChurch, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Armin, Thank you for staying with us and the time taken to share your experience. I have shared the review with the reception staff - especially pleased with great service and reasonable rates. This is what I want our property to represent: a simple down to earth Inn from the 50's with decent rates and exceptional service. These reviews help...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

4 of us stay here for 3 nights at the end of june 26/29 on check we were told we had booked smoking rooms which was not the case our rooms were change.the tv did not work through out our stay evon though it was reported also bulb out in bathroom safe was not working again reported nothing done our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank plum67
DaveCFallsChurch, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Plum 67, I'm extremely disappointed in this.... Sounds like we simply failed you all the way around. Generally I would have caught this but I was out of town for a military reunion the last week of June and sadly we must have missed this before you left. Please reach out to me next trip to DC so I may...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We loved it the price was fair for amenities, very friendly and helpful staff, and not bad location. It wasn't anything over the top but wasn't a dirt hole either. We will definitely be going here again when we come back to visit Arlington area and we recommend this place if your looking for a non modern place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krohnert
DaveCFallsChurch, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Krohnert, THANKYOU! this line so summed up everything we work to be at our older Inn - "We loved it the price was fair for amenities, very friendly and helpful staff, and not bad location. It wasn't anything over the top but wasn't a dirt hole either. " Such a perfect summation of us for folks considering us for future...

Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 9 July 2016

This is an "old school" motel that has been very well preserved. The location is excellent for the Metro DC area and is surrounded by the necessary service providers; a dry cleaners and 24/7 laundromat are next door; across Route 50 are two drug stores, an IHOP and several other restaurants. The accommodations are clean, the housekeepers are helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
DaveCFallsChurch, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Thomas, Thank you for staying with us and especially for the time to complete a review and the kind words! As an independent family run property word of mouth is our number 1 (Of 1) marketing tools vs. the Brands so these comments mean a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again the future. Thank you! Dave...

Baxter Springs, Kansas
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We have had a great 3 day stay we where here to watch the independence parade in DC. It is located about 8 miles from DC and real close to Arlington cemetery when we got here to our room the AC was broken we went back to the desk and they where fantastic got us an diffrent room. The second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Melissa S, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location on Rt. 50 is great for those driving into DC. We also have our complimentary shuttle that takes guests to and from the East Falls Church Metro Station from 7-11am and 5-9pm. Feel free to contact myself or the front desk staff when booking your...

Reviewed 29 June 2016

I have stayed at this location 4 times over the past 3 year for an annual event. This time, I asked for an iron board and was told that they did not have one (the one in my room was broken). The shuttle bus is getting worse as not it is catered to the Best Western (across the street). This...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank QUOC TUAN N
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

QUOC TUAN N, We do apologize for your stay being less than satisfactory. As a repeat guest, I am disappointed to hear the quality has diminished. Feel free to contact me directly so we can try and rectify this situation further. Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager

Muncie, Indiana
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We stayed for one night and had a very quiet and restful experience. The hotel is obviously older, but a good value. The double room was spacious and although the bathroom was small, we had all the conveniences necessary for our stay. The front desk staff was cheerful and a response for an item we lacked was delivered within 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonjxn2
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

sharonjxn2, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As a small, independent hotel, we try to provide a great value at a rate that is family affordable. Our pool is always a hit, with a lifeguard on duty being present. Pool hours being from 1-9pm. We do hope you will book with us again! Sincerely, Drew Baker...

Titusville, Florida
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This 1959 vintage hotel is a little shabby, but offers free shuttle service to the Metro to D.C., free breakfast buffet, and a pool. Bedding was quality and staff helpful. However, adjacent restaurant is not open for dinner, and pool is not open in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Kay S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting your next stay in the DC area. Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falls Church hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church - Arlington Area
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
2.4 km away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#9 of 15 in Falls Church
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
365 reviews
0.9 km away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#5 of 15 in Falls Church
175 reviews
3.9 km away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Traditional Style 1959 American Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital located just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. Full Service Inn with three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a 30 year old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile.Shuttle Service to East Falls Church Metro now available - Mon-Fri 7am to 11am, Sat/Sun 8am to noon. Evenings 5pm to 9pm -we run by on the hour in the evenings but please call upon arrival, Mornings are first come first serve. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd, Falls Church, VA 22042-6608 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Region: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Price Range: $100 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falls Church
#2 Green Hotel in Falls Church
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Governor House Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Governor House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Further from Arlington roadway is probably better, but we were 3 rooms in, and it was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles capndrake, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the pool side”
 of 5 bubbles JerryB459, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is a place to spend the night and maybe enjoy the swimming pool. It is not a "destination" hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles thomasoK8876ZB, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the rear as they are quieter (which I did and noise was not an issue). Don't rely on hotel staff to help with sightseeing.”
 of 5 bubbles xhotelcritic, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are noisey”
 of 5 bubbles SCIENTIST-2015, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay