We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Governor House Inn

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Governor House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Governor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 185: English reviews
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewed 9 July 2016

This is an "old school" motel that has been very well preserved. The location is excellent for the Metro DC area and is surrounded by the necessary service providers; a dry cleaners and 24/7 laundromat are next door; across Route 50 are two drug stores, an IHOP and several other restaurants. The accommodations are clean, the housekeepers are helpful and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
DaveCFallsChurch, Inn Keeper at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Thomas, Thank you for staying with us and especially for the time to complete a review and the kind words! As an independent family run property word of mouth is our number 1 (Of 1) marketing tools vs. the Brands so these comments mean a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again the future. Thank you! Dave...

Baxter Springs, Kansas
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We have had a great 3 day stay we where here to watch the independence parade in DC. It is located about 8 miles from DC and real close to Arlington cemetery when we got here to our room the AC was broken we went back to the desk and they where fantastic got us an diffrent room. The second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Melissa S, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location on Rt. 50 is great for those driving into DC. We also have our complimentary shuttle that takes guests to and from the East Falls Church Metro Station from 7-11am and 5-9pm. Feel free to contact myself or the front desk staff when booking your...

Reviewed 29 June 2016

I have stayed at this location 4 times over the past 3 year for an annual event. This time, I asked for an iron board and was told that they did not have one (the one in my room was broken). The shuttle bus is getting worse as not it is catered to the Best Western (across the street). This...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank QUOC TUAN N
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

QUOC TUAN N, We do apologize for your stay being less than satisfactory. As a repeat guest, I am disappointed to hear the quality has diminished. Feel free to contact me directly so we can try and rectify this situation further. Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager

Muncie, Indiana
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We stayed for one night and had a very quiet and restful experience. The hotel is obviously older, but a good value. The double room was spacious and although the bathroom was small, we had all the conveniences necessary for our stay. The front desk staff was cheerful and a response for an item we lacked was delivered within 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonjxn2
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

sharonjxn2, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As a small, independent hotel, we try to provide a great value at a rate that is family affordable. Our pool is always a hit, with a lifeguard on duty being present. Pool hours being from 1-9pm. We do hope you will book with us again! Sincerely, Drew Baker...

Titusville, Florida
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This 1959 vintage hotel is a little shabby, but offers free shuttle service to the Metro to D.C., free breakfast buffet, and a pool. Bedding was quality and staff helpful. However, adjacent restaurant is not open for dinner, and pool is not open in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Kay S, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting your next stay in the DC area. Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager

San Marcos, California
Reviewed 15 June 2016

This place was misrepresented by Trivago as being a Comfort Inn with points when it is totally independent. It is about 8 miles from DC and not far from Arlington. My room was clean enough with a flat screen TV and vanities both in and outside the bathroom. There is no independent AC control and there was stale smoke was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xhotelcritic
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

xhotelcritic, We appreciate your review. After reading this review I have taken measures to better educate our staff on the surrounding eateries and attractions. We pride ourselves on being an independent hotel that provides a family friendly experience near the DC area at an affordable rate. We look forward to hosting you next time you are in the area! Sincerely,...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 11 June 2016

We recently stay at this hotel for two days. The first day, we noticed that the room and bathroom were dirty. Further, we noticed spiders in the room. In the morning, we noticed that window curtain had fallen down. when called for repair, it took a while to fix it. The breakfast was terrible. We were given a different room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SCIENTIST-2015
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

SCIENTIST-2015, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I'm glad we were able to find you another room and take care of your curtain that fell down the first morning. After seeing you less than satisfied with the second room we took the appropriate steps to give you a free night. Since the spring season has ended,...

Lewes, Delaware
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Very disappointed in the room/accommodation for the price. I agree with other reviews, there is a smell to the room-musty mildew. Especially when turning on the ac-which sounds like a mack truck running. I was staying for a week for business-and had to buy an oscillating fan to keep the air moving in the room. I was excited about having...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReGina G
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Regina, Thank you for leaving us feedback. I can guarantee you the concerns have been addressed for future guests. We are also looking into switching pool management companies. The condition of the pool has been rectified now, but the reason to have a pool management company is to keep these concerns for ever happening. We do hope you will try...

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Quiet site a few minutes ride by the hotel shuttle or uber from the metro. 40 minutes and you are in the centre. Staff are really friendly and helpful. I'll be back with the family. Breakfast is simple but has scrambled eggs, toast, cereal and the waffle maker

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 397Joe
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

397Joe, We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Governor House Inn and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Feel free to reach out to myself or the Front Desk staff for assistance booking! Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager

Smithfield, Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Stayed here May 16 and 17th.This place is awful. The only thing we enjoyed was the young man with the bow tie at the front desk. He was terrific. The place smelled horrible. We had to open the window because it stunk. The pillows were 3 pillows the size of little pillows on a couch. The beds were ok but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tammyg050
drew b, General Manager at Governor House Inn, responded to this review

Tammyg050, I am very disappointed after reading this review. Governor House Inn prides itself on delivering an experience that exceeds expectations and it is unacceptable you experienced these room issues. Feel free to contact me personally and so that we can try to rectify the situation. Sincerely, Drew Baker General Manager 703-532-8900

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falls Church hotels
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Falls Church - Arlington Area
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Falls Church
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#7 of 15 in Falls Church
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
Hilton Garden Inn Falls Church
#1 of 15 in Falls Church
408 reviews
3.9 km away
Falls Church Marriott Fairview Park
0.9 km away
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
TownePlace Suites Falls Church
#6 of 15 in Falls Church
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Traditional Style 1959 American Motor Inn located in the shadow of Our Nation’s Capital, just minutes from D.C. in Falls Church, Va. inside the Capital Beltway. With three buildings and exterior corridors featuring Seasonal pool, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Breakfast, in addition to Bentley's Falls Church Diner - a decades old local tradition! Our property offers a great location and value with the service you can expect from a locally owned and independently operated business. We wish to stress, we aren't Fancy, justa simple little Inn where our amenities are Value, Location, Service and a smile. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Governor House Inn

Address: 6650 Arlington Blvd., Falls Church, VA 22042 (Formerly Quality Inn Governor)
Region: United States > Virginia > Falls Church
Price Range: $119 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Governor House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Governor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor House Hotel Falls Church
Quality Inn Falls Church
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Falls Church
#2 Green Hotel in Falls Church
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Governor House Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Governor House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from the stairs if you are upstairs.”
  • bed room
  • bedroom
  • bathroom
yardleywang, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Further from Arlington roadway is probably better, but we were 3 rooms in, and it was very quiet”
capndrake, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the pool side”
JerryB459, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is a place to spend the night and maybe enjoy the swimming pool. It is not a "destination" hotel.”
thomasoK8876ZB, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the rear as they are quieter (which I did and noise was not an issue). Don't rely on hotel staff to help with sightseeing.”
xhotelcritic, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5