We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Stonewall Jackson Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Stonewall Jackson Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

432 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Stonewall Jackson Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 431: English reviews
Guilford
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We stayed two evenings at the Stonewall Jackson Inn, in the Philip Sheridan room. Everything about our stay was perfect. The confirmation email was full of sightseeing opportunities and dining recommendations. I had requested a dozen roses in the room for my wife. Aurilia called the day before arrival to ask about the preferred colors. And, there were more than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom M
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Wayne here. Perfect is the word we love!!! Thank you very much. You came with an expectation and we delivered! Everyone had a good time, us included. We routinely call all our guests about a week/10 days before they come to make sure we can do some personal service for all our guests. You ordered a dozen roses, we threw...

Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewed 23 April 2015

I've stayed here twice now, both times they've been *very* accommodating of our needs. This last time, Coming in late, breakfast earlier than usual, and later than usual checkout. All a "no-problem" ask for them. Rooms are nice, walk-able to downtown, considering how close it is to rt. 33 its very quiet. Our rooms have been on the front of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank James H
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 17 April 2015

I reserved a room at last minute on our way to Florida. We wanted to try something different than usual highway hotel and motel. We will come back. We felt like in my grandmother house... Located at 2 km from highway 81 it is very easy to get there et we are in a little town. After a long day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 742carole
DrWayne32, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Wayne here. Always happy to have our Canadian friends stop by on their way up and down our Shenandoah Valley. They are such a joy to host! I am so happy to hear that you liked our quaint and walk-able downtown Historic and Culinary District. Clementine Cafe is a local favorite, but we have others that are as good or...

Maryland
Reviewed 23 March 2015

I learned the hard way and tried to get a room for graduation, which is coming up in six weeks. There were no rooms available here or anywhere else in Harrisonburg! Fortunately, Wayne, the owner possesses a wealth of information about other accommodations and he was able to recommend a nice place that actually has a room available. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WherecanI_gonext
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Early reservations for weekends here are always a good idea. But if we are full, we have a wonderful and cooperative relationship with all the other Inns and B&B's here in the Valley. So, if we are full we help find an alternate place that suits your needs or the occasion. We are all connected by a Bed and Breakfasts...

Monroe VA
Reviewed 17 March 2015

My husband and I stayed there after he had surgery in UVA hospital for a quiet rest. We book for one night but stayed for two. Lovely Inn, "A NIGHT'S DELIGHT ~ A BREAKFAST TO REMEMBER". Paul and Candy was very helpful and we had a great breakfast each morning. We would book again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmiller5377
DrWayne32, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this very good summary of your "Stonewall Jackson Experience". You have captured the essence of our mission both in your tagline and your review. I am so happy that you found it restful and hope your healing speeds to full recovery. You must come back this summer for our rousing croquet tournament...

Reviewed 7 March 2015

Traveled to Harrisonburg for my son's audition at JMU. Our first time there. Chose the Stonewall Jackson Inn based on the great reviews. It did not disappoint. Beautiful inn, full of amazing antiques. We arrived late, but Wayne still graciously greeted us when I called and requested he come and talk to us. He recommended a great place to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashland, VA F
DrWayne32, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

We sure enjoyed hosting this family and are grateful for their review which I am sure the reader will find helpful. Even tho we have a grand 135-year-old historic Stone&Shingle Victorian Cottage Style mansion, we were able to squeeze ensuite private bathrooms in the rooms by using showers rather than tubs. Because of space limitations, some showers are bigger than...

Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed 18 February 2015

I really had to think before posting this review. This is the first time I’ve posted a review on TripAdvisor, but I feel compelled to share my experience with the Inn. I will first say, that the room I stayed in the; The Stonewall Jackson Suite, was pretty expensive given the area of Virginia. I was very surprised by the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly L
DrWayne32, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Kimberly is right! It was a weekend of calamity for everyone here in the hospitality business. Valentine's Weekend this all as jammed with loves looking for a nice romantic getaway. Enter, Winter's worst! Whew! This old house is still reeling from the double whammy surprise Artic Blast over the Valentine's Day weekend with record-breaking sub-zero temperatures. -40 wind chill with...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We went up to Harrisonburg for a weekend getaway to attend the Rock Town Festival and needed a place to stay. I am so glad we made the choice to stay here. The staff and accommodations were lovely. The property is beautiful and well kept. You can tell from the moment you arrive that the owner and everyone that works...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KC M
StonewallJacksonInn, Chatelaine at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know we achieved our goal of making you feel that we are your "home away from home"! We pride ourselves in doing just that from the moment you arrive with a warm hello, to a comfy, cozy room with a bed you just don't want to get up from. But then, you just...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 January 2015

We had a very nice couples weekend at the Stonewall Jackson Inn with friends celebrating a birthday. This was our first visit to Harrisonburg, VA from Charlotte which is a 5 hour drive (in case anyone is wondering, longer than we expected). The initial phone contact with the Innkeeper Paul was very pleasant. He was extremely helpful coordinating the winery...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TaraZepp
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

One can tell that Tara takes her comprehensive experience seriously in writing her reviews and reserves her 5 star rating for rare instances. We are very happy with the 4 star review from her. The restaurants partners we recommended that are really and consistently rated as 5 stars were also not up to her exceptional 5 star criteria. Some folks...

Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Reviewed 20 January 2015

My husband and I stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Inn for 2 nights on a weekend getaway with friends. The purpose of the trip was around visiting the vineyards in the Shenandoah Valley. The innkeepers are very friendly, knowledgeable, responsive and accommodating (Paul and Candace). They even helped arrange a car for us so we could "safely" taste wine all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karin D
1stonewalljacksoninn, Owner at Stonewall Jackson Inn, responded to this review

Visiting our farm/craft wineries is one of the most popular things to see and do, especially if you want to drive through some of the most beautiful and scenic pastoral an picturesque countryside in the Shenandoah Valley! Our Wine Trail and Massage Packages are our best sellers and always a hit with the guests. For romance, wine tasting and culinary...

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
3:43
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrisonburg hotels
6.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisonburg
2.3 km away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 23 in Harrisonburg
379 reviews
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#7 of 23 in Harrisonburg
273 reviews
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
Hampton Inn Harrisonburg South
#2 of 23 in Harrisonburg
725 reviews
1.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#13 of 23 in Harrisonburg
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"A Night's Delight - A Breakfast to Remember" is our mission and succinctly describes the legendary Award Winning "Stonewall Jackson Experience!" We are a Certified Virginia Green, 3-Diamond Inn. Awarded "Best in the Mid-Atlantic States" and the "Guest Favorite" designations. The Inn is located in the Downtown Historic "Old Town" District of Harrisonburg in the heart of the ever beautiful Shenandoah Valley, on spacious, landscaped grounds. The mansion (circa 1880) has been completely restored. We are a Diamond, Virginia Green and TripAvisor Gold Level property inspected and approved. There are ten well-appointed guest rooms, each full of character with private bath. Rooms have individual climate control, paddle fans, desks, free hi-speed WiFi, and an LCD television. Our Paradise Cafe offers indoor sun-room porch and outdoor patio dining. We have an ABC license and a variety house wines. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Inn

Address: 547 E Market St, Shenandoah Valley, Harrisonburg, VA 22801-4227
Region: United States > Virginia > Harrisonburg
Price Range: $235 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stonewall Jackson Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Stonewall Jackson Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Robert E. Lee Room had a queen bed and en suite shower located right at the top of the stairs on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 650denisev, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room on the front of the house has private entrance to the porch~”
  • One of the beautiful rooms.
 of 5 bubbles Amarrett0530, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We loved being on the ground floor, our room at the back was especially nice as it was double-aspect.”
 of 5 bubbles watson337, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“stay on the 2nd floor”
 of 5 bubbles 357clarencek, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No bad rooms seen.”
 of 5 bubbles lindaphillips2016, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay