We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Glaramara

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Glaramara
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Glaramara
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Whitecourt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed one night during our Coast to Coast hike, arrived soaking wet after a day of rain and barely received a greeting as we were late for dinner. When I asked if we could have soup, I was advised that the chef does not reheat items. This was leek and potato soup, clearly it can be reheated. As the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Persa K
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We had two half-day walks with our guide Rachel last week, and we were absolutely thrilled with our experience. Rachel came to our hostel to pick us up (we weren't staying at Glaramara), then drove us to the start point for each of our walks. She hiked with our family and educated us about the fells and their flora and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate D
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I would describe this as a hotel with the facility to book activities. It's in a perfect location for lots of fell walks like Glaramara, Scarfell and the Borrowdale fells. It has a small bar and small TV room. The larger lounge hasn't been updated yet but the new owner is still progressing turning this into a lovely hotel. Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank lakes tarns n f... m
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel and grounds was very nice, very clean hotel and room, very friendly helpful staff. down side was no tv in room, shower door fell off when closing it, and not very dog friendly when the only place we could eat was in the small reception area with people coming and going all the time and breakfast was cold

Helpful?
1 Thank 26oscar
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

I am sorry that there were a few issues during your stay and we have since repaired the shower door. We do allow dogs in guests private bedrooms and certain public areas but unfortunately our dining room is not suitable for dogs. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a very after you stayed with us earlier... More 

Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

I had started here many years ago before the current owner had taken over. Back then it was more of a hostel compared to the hotel it is now. I had opted for a simple single room as I was staying on my own and would only be sleeping there. I had been running in the Langdales so a quick... More 

Helpful?
Thank C16VEH
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you loved the changes to the hotel when you returned after several years. We now also have single en suite rooms with a view to making them all en suite over the next 18 months so I am sure if you return you will see even more improvements during your stay. If you are running... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night in room 202 in the Glaramara hotel. Was a smooth check in and we were shocked by the size of our room! Lovely big bay windows looking right out to the countryside, immaculate bathroom and in general could not fault it one bit. Breakfast in the morning was lovely- came down to a table reserved... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beki A
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your short stay with us earlier this year. We are delighted when a new guest feels inclined to recommend us especially after just one night. That room in particular does have a great view and is highly sought after we are glad you enjoyed it and the... More 

Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016

I stayed here for two nights along with my husband and another two couples. We were really fortunate as the weather that weekend was beautiful and we did some great walks and hikes. The hotel is set in wonderful surroundings and the first thing you hear in the morning, apart from lambs bleating, is.....nothing....absolute peaceful silence! Unfortunately the same couldn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia12Littleborough
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review from your stay here earlier in the year Its always a blessing when the weather is nice in order to enjoy the scenery to its fullest. I am sorry that there was a problem with buzzing noise in your room on this occasion and we have since sorted the issues out in order... More 

pyrenees
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Great staff, rooms & food excellent. Arrived with a group of 15 and from check-in to departure all ran smoothly. Good drying room available. Self-service breakfast hard to beat and half-board evening meal too good.

Helpful?
Thank squibsPyrenees
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us after your stay earlier in the year. We are glad that you and your group had a great stay and enjoyed all of what you were offered. We hope that you will come visit us again in the near future. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

This is the second time me and my family have stayed here with a large group of friends. This hotel is family friendly and the staff could not do more for you. It has recently been updated but has not lost its charm. The setting of the hotel is beautiful and you feel relaxed from the moment you get there.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelinesara
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review for us. We are so glad you have found your stays here so relaxing and that the activities are so enjoyed. Its lovely to hear all aspects of our services create a great holiday for our guests and we look forward to helping you create more family... More 

sheffield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We were walking the Cumbria Way so needed a place that was ideal for walkers- it was great to see a drying room, happily we didn't need it. This is quite unusual compared to farm house B&Bs and village inns. It could best be described as a luxury outdoor centre. The building was built in the 1930s in a modern... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank sheffieldpaul
leanneatglaramara, Director at Glaramara, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your stay here the other week. I am sorry that you found the price for the meal for your younger child a bit high when she had decided on a simple bowl of pasta for her main instead of a choice from our menu. Please... More 

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
3:59
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seatoller
0.0 km away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
1,934 reviews
0.0 km away
The Leathes Head
The Leathes Head
#1 of 5 in Borrowdale
255 reviews
0.0 km away
The Borrowdale Hotel
The Borrowdale Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
721 reviews
0.0 km away
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel
#1 of 1 in Grange-in-Borrowdale
353 reviews
0.0 km away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#1 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation, bed and breakfast (with option of 3 course evening meal and lunch) for groups, families and individuals. Schools, business, clubs, social groups welcome. Log fires, cosy bar, sun terrace, magnificent setting and views of Scafell range. Outdoor activities/Mountain Qualifications and skills courses available. Exclusive use as a venue hire for parties and special occasion. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glaramara

Address: Glaramara Seatoller, Seatoller, Borrowdale CA12 5XQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Seatoller
Price Range: $177 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glaramara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glaramara staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Norwich
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glaramara staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms from about 101 to 108 are probably the best for views and peace.”
 of 5 bubbles BellaAGGS, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There were a few families with young children but we were tucked away to the rear and heard nothing at night.”
 of 5 bubbles achatter53, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have great views! Rooms in the new part are quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles Majorchez, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The bar closes at around 11.30 - 12 am. I found the patrons were very considerate,.. There are no TVs so you won't be disturbed!”
 of 5 bubbles lynnm876, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Sorry, didn't stay. I guess rooms at the front will have the best views, but all will be amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles AmsterDaz, 5 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay