We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleburg
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Red Fox Inn & Tavern
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Rooms were clean, and quiet. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Inn is old and charming. Lacks in services such as room service, valet, luggage assistance. Parking is inconvenient. But, they do provide a nice breakfast for inn guests, gratis, in the dining room. Also, upon request, you can have coffee/tea delivered to your room. If you can live with these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AHM819
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Hello from Middleburg, and thank you for choosing to spend time with us! We appreciate your kind words (and are happy you enjoyed breakfast) and will take your criticisms to heart as we always strive to better our service. To comment on a few acknowledgements you mentioned, we do have a private parking lot behind our building that we hope...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We have been to Red Fox many times. It's our special place. One of the best parts is the drive there on RT 626 from the Plains. Beautiful! Our waiter last night was Travis. He had excellent suggestions on appetizers, meal and wine pairings. The Red Fox never disappoints. Go!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F B
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

We are so happy you chose to celebrate your birthday with us at the Red Fox Inn & Tavern! The ambiance of our tavern is certainly one that makes special occasions cozy and intimate. We will share your praise of the waiter that served you; it is always a kindness to receive compliments such as yours. We hope you have...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Red Fox Inn; the staff was helpful, personable and fulfilled all requests quickly and without question. The Inn is a historical site and maintains a lot of character of the period. We do think, however, that the bathroom could be remodeled to provide more amenities. The Tavern has excellent food and service; would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhawke2016
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed both the ambiance and service at our inn. We hope you are able to join us again soon, especially since fall is upon us and Middleburg is looking as beautiful as ever! All Our Best, The Red Fox Inn...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The room was a little small but the breakfast was excellent. It was everything we expectedly. It was a very old inn. If you want a historical experience with great meals stay here. They added a bathroom with a shower/ tub combination.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martha Neale P
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Dear Martha, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated! We hope to see you again in the future (even if you just stop by to have breakfast one morning)! All Our Best, The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

ny
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My wife and I had a splendid time touring the Middleburg area and spent the night eating and sleeping at The Red Fox Inn. We had a very comfortable room (# 23) and our dinner was superb. If the peanut soup is still on the menu it is delicious and unique. Restaurant staff was very professional and suggested a perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5555tourist
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Hello! We smiled at the title of your review- "peanut soup". Who knew such a simple recipe could hold so much history? We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your dinner in the evening. We take great pride in our wine lists and are happy you mentioned having the perfect pairing to...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Business in the area brought me here and I'm glad someone recommended the Red Fox. I was pleased to read about the Inn's history that the front desk handed to me, and did more research after my appetite was spiked. Fun place to be. The room I had was simple, small and quiet. No desk or chair; just a love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank birda77
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time out of your day to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our history and your room. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner in the tavern; we will pass your compliments on to our chef. We hope to see you again the next time you...

Houston
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I was here for a conference at the resort up the road, and since the Salamander was full, I stayed at the delightful Red Fox Inn. I was a business traveler and it's clear that most of the guests are here for leisure but the amenities were sufficient for my use (wifi was a little spotty). The hotel is charming,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valvechick
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it truly means a lot! We are glad you had a comfortable stay during your business trip, though we do apologize that the road construction was a displeasure. Road construction has since moved further down the main street of Middleburg (and away from the Red Fox), and we are...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 6 September 2016

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was perfect. Room was comfortable and charming; food was divine; service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend this Inn!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannerotbert
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Hello Suzanne! We truly want the Red Fox to be an experience, and we are so delighted to hear that you found everything to your liking. We are thrilled that you not only chose to stay with us, but dine in our tavern as well. There's something perfect about checking into a cozy room, coming downstairs for dinner and a...

Leesburg, Virginia
Reviewed 31 August 2016

The bed was extremely uncomfortable as it formed a well in the middle with almost no support even though we were assured at time of reservation that the bedding was high quality and firm. The door to the hallway bath was stuck so it was difficult to open. And the noise from the highway just a few feet away added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patandace
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Hello Patandace! We are extremely disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay. It is disconcerting that you were unable to enjoy your night's sleep— our bedding is premium quality and we apologize that it was not firm enough for you. Your comments about our bedding rests uneasily with us; we are more used to...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Excellent riffs on standards (goat cheese grits anyone?), attentive service, and a charming ambience in this lovely horse country town made my lunch at Red Fox worth the drive. Brunch is also very good value, making the experience one I want to repeat as soon as possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMH1896392262
RedFoxManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Red Fox Inn & Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us in our tavern while you were visiting Middleburg! Our little town is certainly in the heart of horse country, and a breath of fresh air from the large cities around us. The drive through the countryside to arrive here is enjoyable and very scenic, we do hope that you had a good time along the...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleburg
22.2 km away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
23.8 km away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
154 reviews
3.1 km away
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
Goodstone Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 8 in Middleburg
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,099 reviews
0.3 km away
Middleburg Country Inn
Middleburg Country Inn
#3 of 8 in Middleburg
112 reviews
25.8 km away
Lansdowne Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the quaint village of Middleburg and inspired by four centuries of Virginia Hunt Country tradition, the Red Fox embodies the Piedmont’s cultural heritage. Established in 1728, our four story fieldstone Inn and Tavern boasts hand-hewn ceiling beams, heart pine floors and paneling, working fireplaces, and walls adorned with sporting art. Join us in the heart of Virginia’s famed Hunt and Wine Country to enjoy a hearty meal in our tavern followed by a relaxing evening in one of our cozy guest rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Red Fox Inn & Tavern

Address: 2 East Washington Street, PO Box 385, Middleburg, VA 20118
Region: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Middleburg
Price Range: $312 - $997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Red Fox Hotel Middleburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Red Fox Inn & Tavern staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
8 months ago
Union Hall, Virginia, United States
over a year ago
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
over a year ago
Silver Spring, Maryland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Red Fox Inn & Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Bridal Suite made us feel like we had our own apartment during our getaway. We didn't hear any outside noise during our stay.”
 of 5 bubbles CLeard23, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Martha Washington is lovely, with a comfortable king bed and lots of space--and a great view of the main street of town.”
 of 5 bubbles feralcat_9, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“my room #23 had a sitting room as well as a bedroom, both with televisions”
 of 5 bubbles 5555tourist, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Loved my room 12E which was in the back, slightly quieter. It was a small building by itself.”
 of 5 bubbles valvechick, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid room on front side as traffic on main highway abutting hotel is very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Patandace, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5