We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Brande Camping Caravaning

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Brande Camping Caravaning
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 13: English reviews
Start your review of La Brande Camping Caravaning
 Click to rate
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We have been coming to La Brande since 2003 but this was our first late season visit and it was quite magical. Quieter than in high season you can explore the Il d'Oleron in peace with temperatures still around 20 degrees. La Brande is a beautiful site with the heated pool open all day and heated showers. Perfect bliss. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daddyruffe
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Campsite was good , clean and tidy, friendly.The pitches are good size and well maintained . Good location for seeing the island because you are off the main routes and can avoid the traffic by using the back roads.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gareth A
Birmingham
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Pitches were great and facilities fine. Noise a night woke us up at 4am every weekday due to factory next door. Such a pity, as this is a good site - it just needs to buy the factory and expand its site. So glad we only booked 4 nights.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James K
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Excellent site with fantastic pool , the staff are really helpful and couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a good stay, the location was excellent and very quiet with plenty to do around the area, although better signs to indicate the cycle paths would be helpful but that is not the sites fault. Really enjoyed our stay there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gwashie12
Arnac-Pompadour, France
Reviewed 13 October 2016

My first stay in a chalet/mobile home and it certainly won't be my last. Excellent welcome with amenities and facilites all carefully explained. Small but perfectly formed sprang to mind when we arrived two adults and two dogs for 5 nights. Everything requested was provided. Good size shower room, comfortable beds, very clean and in excellent condition. Plenty of seating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soniahfc
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Can't believe this is rated 5* on booking.com.. Very down at heel and people are packed in. Staff are rude and unfriendly. To top it off, I had a €50 charge put on my credit card for cleaning the 'cottage'... despite leaving it spotless (I even took photos as we were leaving early and there was no one to check)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
labrande, Responsable réception at La Brande Camping Caravaning, responded to this review

Hello, We would like to remind you that we are rated 5* on booking.com as a campsite. Our pitches are 125 square meters minimum. We are really surprised by your comment about our staff because this is probably the main field where we are the most complimented for. You left your cottage before departure time and as you know the...

Reviewed 6 September 2016

I don't normally write reviews and have to date only written two, but we were expecting a 5 star site, and although it may have been 5 star back in 1963 expectations and standards are higher now. I would say that it is a 3 star site at a push, we have left 4 sites in our 5 week holiday...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikeg3
labrande, Responsable réception at La Brande Camping Caravaning, responded to this review

Dear sir, Thank you for your comment on our Trip Advisor page. Please note that our campsite obtained his fifth star ranking in 2014 and not in 1963. This ranking is authorized and approved by an independent organism called Atout France. The bar is initially open only in July and August. We decided to extend the bar service in early...

Charente Maritime
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We stayed only two days at this site with our new caravan. I only booked it as it said 5*. Well it certainly would not rate any higher that 2 or 3*'s. The sanitary block was built at the beginning of the century with pink sinks and barely clean and useable. It is a very run down old site. Who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarenCharente
labrande, Gérant at La Brande Camping Caravaning, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for posting your comment on our TripAdvisor page. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not reached during your stay. However, we would like to add that our sanitary block are completely functional and fully equipped although they are pink. Please note that your comment has been taken into consideration and transmitted to the...

Corwen
Reviewed 26 September 2015

We chose La Brande camping site because many Trip Advisor reviews were 5*. We just do not understand how this can be. The whole of the campsite was lacking maintenance. The buildings generally look shabby, needing a good coat of paint. The grounds were uncared for and untidy. Wi fi reception was very poor, even in the library. The rubbish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
labrande, Gérant at La Brande Camping Caravaning, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Camping La Brande. We are truly sorry that your stay with us did not match your expectations. This is also a surprise for us because most of the points that were not up to your standard are usually the one's that we are complimented for. We are...

Brittany
Reviewed 5 October 2014

A well managed site .Friendly welcome from excellent staff. Since our last visit two years ago several improvements have been made. Spaceous pitches .Electricity supply 12 amps ,more than sufficient for the average outfit. Pick your pitch carefully near the pool ,and you will get good wifi reception in the van. The site is nice and quiet at the end...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frelon

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Chateau d'Oleron
1.9 km away
Les Jardins d'Alienor
Les Jardins d'Alienor
#1 of 1 in Le Chateau d'Oleron
232 reviews
6.1 km away
Hotel Le Grand Large
Hotel Le Grand Large
#2 of 2 in Dolus-d'Oleron
185 reviews
10.3 km away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#3 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Hotel Le Square
Hotel Le Square
#4 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
126 reviews
8.7 km away
Les Jardins d'Oleron
Les Jardins d'Oleron
#2 of 6 in Saint-Pierre-d'Oleron
138 reviews
8.1 km away
Camping Signol
Camping Signol
#1 of 1 in Boyardville
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The campsite La Brande and its covered and heated swimming pool are opened from 28 march to 1st November 2015. Our 5 star campsite is situated on the island of Oleron, 2.5 kms from the village of Le Chateau d'Oleron and 300m from a small beach (possibility to bathe at high tide only). We will be happy to welcome you on our 5.5 hectares landscaped park with its 199 pitches. On the campsite, you can rent chalets, mobilhomes or pitches. NEW in 2015 : TV in mobilhome for free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Brande Camping Caravaning

Address: Route des Huitres, 17480 Le Chateau d'Oleron, Ile d'Oleron, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Ile d'Oleron > Le Chateau d'Oleron
Price Range: $80 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your La Brande Camping Caravaning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Brande Camping Caravaning staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Brande Camping Caravaning staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about the noise before you pitch your tent. ”
JamesK928, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This is not a hotel but a Chalet site I am sure you can request areas within the site”
soniahfc, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
2 of 2