We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 441: English reviews
Altoona
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room is covered by employer each time I stay at the Wyndham Downtown Norfolk and the service is excellent. I have never had any issues.

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank topperdog68
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing the Wyndham Garden for your Norfolk visits! You could go anywhere in our area but you chose to come back to us and we are very appreciative of this!! We hope to see you again soon :) More 

washington dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

hotel staff was very nice and courteous. the bartender was really great. definitely will return

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank educatedmarine
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon! More 

Spotsylvania, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a bridal weekend. The facilities were adequate but when they asked for toilet paper they were told no because they would probably steal it. Now these weren't kids, they were young professionals in b their late 20's and early 30's. The second evening they were playing a board game and didn't realize they had gotten loud. They were... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank briannes925
Management response:

Congratulations on your upcoming marriage! We normally provide the adequate amount of necessities and amenities in each room, and I apologize for the response your received when asking for what you needed. We will look into that issue and make sure that we're providing the correct responses to satisfy each guest. As we try to satisfy each guest, we sometimes... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
216 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I've been to a lot of Wyndhams using our time share points and most have been great but this one is pretty run down. The rooms seemed to have been rushed when they renovated/built the place. Lots of water damage around the tub dry wall that needs attention. I will say they were very clean and the staff was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam J
Management response:

We appreciate you staying and the feedback you have provided. With the recent hurricane that recently passed we did receive some minor damages; however, our maintenance team has been working hard to repair those issues. Although you did experience these issues, our staff will always treat you like a VIP. We hope that you give us another opportunity we when... More 

Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Our room was taken care of well as we had to go back and forth often while we visiting. We were on the 8th floor and Cheryl Taylor really stepped up for us. We required towel changes because we were very busy and kept dirtying our clothes. Cheryl aways honored our request and helped us out.

Helpful?
Thank Ron T
Management response:

Thank you for taking time to write your review and recognizing our superstars. We really appreciate the work that Cheryl does, and we are ecstatic that she was able to make your stay a great one. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

You get the feeling this was once a great hotel. The checkin was efficient and lobby area more than acceptable. No baggage help thou. One person on reception. Room was large but cockroach in the wardrobe a downer. The shower and tap pressure not great. The bed squeaked and was rock hard. Bed size was good. It did have an... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter T
Management response:

Thank you for choosing us to when visiting Norfolk; however, we do apologize for your experience. We do appreciate your review so we know where we can improve. We do have routine pest control and we have addressed the issues of the bed which are adjustable. We have made preparations to make sure someone is always present in the restaurant... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

My husband and I arrived dripping wet after abandoning our car in a dry lot several blocks away. We trekked through waist deep flooded streets with no luggage. We were welcomed, given toothpaste, and checked into a warm dry room for hot showers and a comfortable night's rest. Everyone was helpful, including a kind and concerned check in with Debra... More 

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pamela083
Management response:

We are glad to hear that we could help you weather the storm of Hurricane Matthew. That storm was more than we expected and we happy that you and your husband we able reach us safely. Debra at the desk and Sean in the restaurant are true examples of the customer service we like to provide. We hope that your... More 

Staunton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I had booked an overnight stay on October 8. They were gracious enough to allow me to check in early and thank goodness they did since my car got caught in flash flooding as was stuck in high water in the street next to the hotel. The employees were so caring and helpful. They bent over backwards to be sure... More 

Helpful?
Thank virginiagreeks2016
Management response:

Hurricane Matthew caught us off guard, but we are glad that our team was able to come together in the storm and provide the service that you received. It's time like this that we appreciate our staff more than ever. We are happy to hear that you came out of this situation safely, and we enjoyed having you stay with... More 

Mays Landing
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Internet never works,Their answer was to switch rooms and it still didn't work. I called the internet help dsk and they told me it's a problem with that hotel and they weren't going to do a thing about it. The toilet ran all night, the AC didn't regulate the temperature. The list goes on and on...

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
Tiffany J, Director of Sales at Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. It seems like you had a problem with your internet service in the room and we deeply apologize for that issue and the other items you experienced. More 

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
1.2 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.9 km away
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
9.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
6.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Norfolk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thank you for visiting our TripAdvisor page! Our hotel was renovated in 2008 and we are located in the wonderful heart of Downtown Norfolk's famous Art District, with convenient access to restaurants, shopping, and entertainment. We are accessible to the highway and located just 5 miles from the Norfolk International Airport (ORF). Our rooms are newly furnished with refrigerators and microwaves in every room! We are delighted that you would take the time to visit us or if you have already stayed with our property, we invite you to tell us about your experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown

Address: 700 Monticello Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510 (Formerly Norfolk Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel Norfolk
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Washington DC, District of Columbia

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Just don't stay here. Seriously, just don't.”
 of 5 bubbles 132christineh, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Avoid! Just do not book here!”
 of 5 bubbles 817megs, 3 May 2016 | Read review
“Room facing the Amphitheatre”
 of 5 bubbles 20abhijitp, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask to have one without neighbours if capacity allows. Or their noise might affect your stay.”
 of 5 bubbles laurabX9014LT, 12 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the higher levels are great good view of the city”
 of 5 bubbles Jackiefaith, 5 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay