We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

357 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 352: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Norfolk Downtown
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at mostly Residence Inns, and other easy park hotels in my driving travels. Thus, I'm not totally used to 'valet only' hotels as the Courtyard Marriott Downtown turned out to be. As I think Norfolk, Va is somewhat a smaller southern town, I did not expect this Marriott to be all NYC in its parking service and,...

Thank RaleighChuck
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

RaleighChuck thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations with breakfast options, parking and room amenities. The staff and I strive daily to provide the best experience for each guest and sincerely apologize we were unable to give that to you. We are hopeful, if in the...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent four nights here visiting friends in the area. The furnishings appeared to have been recently updated, nice modern and clean. We slept well, (great mattress pillows and black out shades). Staff was friendly.

Thank Tam303
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Tam303 thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel and local area. Look forward to seeing you in the future!

Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel lobby is pretty nice. The hotel has onsite parking for $19.00 a night. The hotel room was somewhat clean. The ice bucket had water in it that had been there for a while as it was slimy. The room smelled of smoke and some type of bad cleaner. The lock on the door was not working correctly. The...

Thank Scott_Smith6064
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Scott_Smith6064 thank you for the feedback about your recent stay with us. I do sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and lack of service you received during your stay. We have discussed this with our team and feel we have corrected our oversights with your help. If in the area in the future, we hope for another chance to give you...

Muncie, Indiana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Housekeeping on 5th floor was below Courtyard standards. No facial tissue or shampoo in some rooms of our group. Manager was not around and was belligerent when found. Breakfast service for group was poor. Staff needs training and new manager that is customer friendly would help. Will not stay there again.

Thank mjmuncie
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

mjmuncie thank you for the feedback. I do sincerely apologize for the lack of housekeeping service and breakfast service during your stay. We make every effort to accommodate all guests and will use this feedback for training and discussion with our staff and management. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to take care of...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is a standard, good hotel. However, with all the taxes added to the room charge it is a bit pricy. The staff was nice, the valet parking worked fine and house keeping worked well. There is not a proper restaurant in the hotel, which would have been nice and practical.

Thank Mr T
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Mr T thank you for sharing about your recent experience. We are happy that your stay with us was good. We apologize that the taxes added to the room made it pricey and that our Bistro offerings did not meet your needs. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Reviewed 16 April 2017

Overall this hotel us what you expect, but the people running the hotel on easter weekend did a good job to be helpful and family friendly. We asked for adjoining rooms and they just did it, no run around or endless searching for the lost arc. We asked to keep our van near on the lower level so we could...

1Thank mattmobley
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

mattmobley thank you for the kind words. The staff and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are always here to take care of you. Hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 13 March 2017

First, let me say that the front desk staff is great. I was also VERY impressed with the young woman who is the manager there. I saw her do things I have never seen a manager do and it tells me she is very hands on and that is impressive. I was in town for a medical procedure at a...

Thank jonathanbV768AZ
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

jonathanbV768AZ thank you taking time to share your concerns and about your experience. I sincerely apologize that we fell short on our housekeeping service during your stay. We feel we have corrected our oversight and have addressed it with our team. Again thank you for sharing and we look forward to another opportunity to get it right in the future.

Reviewed 12 March 2017

I stayed in Courtyard Norfolk Downtown in Nov, 2015. I accidentally left my best pillow in that hotel and the housekeeping ignored my previous several call and replied me until I complained about this to the Marriot customer service and sent it back to me immediately. And the room was not clean with bad door. Traveler should not consider that...

Thank Xiaofei C
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Xiaofei C thank you for sharing with us your experience. I do sincerely apologize that we missed any attempt to contact us for your missing item. I am happy we found your item and was able to get that back to you quickly. We hope that we may be able to serve you in the future for a second chance.

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We were supposed to stay here 3 nights but checked out after night 1. We weren't given enough towels for our family of four. Housekeeping never showed up. We called down for the valet to get our car, yet the front desk never took action so we had to wait 20 extra minutes. We ran out of toilet paper at...

3Thank Laura F
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

Laura F thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the lack of timely service and housekeeping you received during your stay. The staff and I have reviewed your comments and feel we have corrected our oversights. Our hope is for another opportunity to take care of you in the future.

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

Last time I stayed here was two years ago. I said I would not return. I decided to give it another try and I actually had a better experience. I had a corner room that was nice. Sometime I will have to have someone in the hotel industry explain how the desk staff makes room assignments. The corner makes a...

Thank njpk
Charles B, General Manager at Courtyard Norfolk Downtown, responded to this review

njpk thank you for your comments and giving our hotel another try. We appreciate you sharing your experience and happy you enjoyed. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (35)
Room/Suite (14)
Bathroom (5)
View from Room (1)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (50)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Room/Suite (16)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Dining (4)
Bathroom (1)
Other (14)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norfolk hotels
0.3 km away
Norfolk Waterside Marriott
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Norfolk Downtown
1.0 km away
Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel
8.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Norfolk Virginia Beach
11.8 km away
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown has the friendly and efficient service you have come to expect from Courtyard by Marriott. Located in the heart of downtown Norfolk you will be able to walk a few blocks in any direction and experience the finest shopping, shopping and entertainment in the Norfolk area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Norfolk Downtown

Address: 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510-2308
Region: United States > Virginia > Norfolk
Price Range: $176 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Norfolk Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Norfolk Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Norfolk Downtown Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Marriott
Norfolk Courtyard
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Norfolk
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Norfolk Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Richmond, Virginia
Hartford, Connecticut

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Norfolk Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for what you want”
jonathanbV768AZ, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms generally face the street.”
  • Two Queen Bed looking from entry door.
  • Separate sink area
  • Separate tiolet/shower amenity
  • Looking from Corner to TV area
Cincybearcatfan, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I don't think the hotel had any bad rooms.”
X2958UQbillh, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you need white noise any of the X14 room (814) have large blowers near by. If you want quiet, do not get close to the elevators.”
gatoreed, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms are nice ..”
Bornabrit, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$152* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates