Hotel Monsuau

Hotel Monsuau

Balinese beds in garden
Traveller (1166)
Pool & Beach (154)
Dining (99)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#4 of 48 hotels in Cala d'Or
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Monsuau Cala D´Or Boutique Hotel (ex-Sunprime) is an adults-only hotel on the southeast coast of Majorca, in between the bays of Cala Ferrera and Cala Serena. Its peaceful location makes it particularly popular with couples who want a quiet getaway. Cala Ferrara beach is a short stroll away from the hotel and is covered in white sand. It's a protected beach with waters that are considered safe for swimming. During your stay at Monsuau, you can relax by the outdoor pool area, which has one main swimming pool, plenty of space to sunbathe and a pool bar. The hotel offers a range of activities throughout the day, including aerobics and various fitness classes. For some downtime,Monsuau Cala D´Or Boutique Hotel has its own spa area where you can get beauty and relaxation treatments. There's also a whirlpool in the spa. If you want to play some golf, you can head over to the nearby course, Vall d'Or Golf, which has 18 holes and a clubhouse with panoramic views over the coastline. The hotel has a buffet restaurant and an à la carte restaurant that's by the pool area. In addition to the pool bar, there's also a lounge bar where you can relax with a drink in the evening. You'll be able to find a few other places to eat out a short walk from the hotel, while you'll have many more dining options in Cala d'Or, which is within walking distance. There's also a selection of bars and nightclubs dotted around the resort.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Evening entertainment
Airport transportation
Spa
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Massage
Adults only
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Catalan, German

Location

Avda. Cala D'Or 2, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Palma Mallorca Airport
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles699 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel Monsuau is frequently lauded for its spotless cleanliness across rooms and communal areas, with guests particularly impressed by the pristine pool. The staff garners acclaim for their attentiveness and professionalism, enhancing the hotel's serene and stylish atmosphere. While the rooms are spacious and equipped with modern amenities, a few guests have pointed out minor upkeep needs. The amenities, including a variety of quality food options and ample sunbeds, receive consistent praise. Guests appreciate the tranquil location within easy reach of local attractions, though some note the drinks can be pricey.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
699Reviews121Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 501
  • 147
  • 34
  • 12
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Eoghan (Owen) wrote a review Aug 2023
Cork, Ireland99 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first stay in Cala D'Or, having previously stayed in Cala Millor and Sa Coma. We took our time going through other travellers' reviews, which helped us to settle on Hotel Monsuau. We were not disappointed!

The stand-out feature of this hotel is the attentive, friendly staff. We don't speak any Spanish, but the staff still managed to make us feel welcome and at home. Special shout out to one of the chefs, who got to know us from the 'live cooking' station at each meal, and went out of his way to present us with a beautiful new dish on one of our last nights that he was trying out.

The facilities really cannot be faulted, and this felt like a five-star hotel for us. The hotel was so well kept, and the cleaning staff were excellent. We loved coming back to our freshly made room each day!

The pool was amazing, and being adults-only it was blissfully quiet with people mostly sunbathing or reading. We are both teachers and love kids but passing some of the noisier pools in other hotels we were glad we chose Monsuau! The beach is a five minute walk away - we only went one day but it was quite small and very crowded, not quite the same as the long strip in Cala Millor. We stayed at the pool after that as it just felt nicer. The busy part of town is a 5-10 minute walk away, somewhat uphill, and there is a supermarket about 200m from the hotel. The rooftop bar is worth a visit - incredible views at sunset, and the Sangria was to diet for!

The food was also superb - a huge choice at the breakfast buffet (fresh fruit, and croissants plus a full hot section including freshly made omelettes with a choice of toppings). As a bonus, the coffee was also great!

We stayed for 11 nights and didn't tire of the dinner buffet. There was always a special on offer, the salad bar was fantastic, and there were always 3-4 gluten free options which was much appreciated by my fiancée. As others have noted, you do have to pay for drinks even on half-board/full-board.

To work off all the food, we made good use of the gym, which was one of the best-equipped hotel gyms I've ever used. Three treadmills, a rowing machine, dumbbells and kettlebells up to 20kg, plus a full-sized studio with mats and some lighter weights. Amazing!

Thank you so much to all the staff for this little retreat to paradise. The only negative thing we can say is that we have no idea how to go back to the real world!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is another small pool next to the gym in Block 3. Worth checking out!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Taberner, Otros at Hotel Monsuau
Responded Aug 8, 2023
Dear Sir, Thank you for sharing such a detailed and heartfelt review of your stay at Hotel Monsuau! We are genuinely delighted to hear that you had an exceptional experience with us. It warms our hearts to know that you found our hotel beautiful, clean, and that our staff's kindness left a lasting impression. We are thrilled that you felt welcome and at home. We are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities, and it is wonderful to hear that our pool area provided the tranquility you were seeking. It is truly heartening to know that your stay felt like a retreat to paradise. Thank you again for choosing Hotel Monsuau for your stay. Best regards, Rachel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark Framp wrote a review Sep 2021
Winchester, United Kingdom14 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I've just returned from a weeks long stay at the Monsuau with my wife. We were looking for a no hassle short break where we could relax after a few hectic months. We picked the Monsuau after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and we're so glad we did!
The rooms are very modern, and always cleaned very well, we had a sunset view room with a balcony, with a view over the tree tops, which was really nice, and we saw some lovely sun sets. The beds were extremely comfortable, bathrooms nice and enough storage for both of us. I also used the gym, which is really well set up, with modern equipment and its own pool. A decent sized, well equipped gym for a hotel, I was pleasantly surprised.

The Food at the Monsuau is fantastic. we went half board, as we thought a couple of nights we could explore the local restaurants, but ended up eating there every night. The chefs have really got their game up, and the flavours were great, always a good selection, and always presented really nicely. Drinks in the hotel are not expensive either, as you would expect the prices to be inflated, but they are very reasonable.

The staff at the Monsuau are what really make it though, every one is so friendly, warm and attentive, nothing is too much trouble, and they instantly make you feel at home. A special mention to Juan, who is a bit of a legend there, he won't fail to put a smile on your face, but all of the guys work so hard to make sure every guest is enjoying their stay.

We usually ended up at the sky bar after dinner, a beautiful setting on the roof of the hotel, with chilled music and the best cocktails you'll have, made by award winning mixologist Val. You'd be hard pushed to get a better cocktail anywhere in Spain I reckon, It's a must visit.

I'd highly recommend a stay here, the hotel is lovely, with a fantastic team behind it, a great pool, and a short walk to local shops, beaches and a small parade of shops and restaurants, with the main part of Cala D'Or about 10 minutes walk further.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: great adults only hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
La Cabra wrote a review Jun 2022
13 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This wasn’t our first visit to Monsuau and it certainly won’t be the last.
We received a very warm welcome on arrival from the manager Joan who is always friendly and professional but I must mention Maria and Miguel as they are both kind and eager to assist you if you need anything.

The hotel is modern and located on the edge of the town but you can walk to the bars, shops and beaches in only ten minutes. The housekeeping staff keep everything spotlessly clean around the hotel and the bedroom is cleaned daily to a very high standard.

The food is amazing at this hotel with many dishes for all dietary needs, you have meat, fish or vegetables available at all meals and these are all very well prepared by the fantastic chef and his top team of staff.
In the restaurant the staff are an asset to this hotel with Juan, Carlos and Paula who treated us like old friends but I must also mention Sandra and Hugo who are new here but so friendly that it seems we have known them for many years.

There are 2 bars in the hotel, the first is downstairs in the lobby/ pool area where the drinks are a reasonable price and made with good quality brands. Chris and Diego who work here are great guys who are quick to serve you and are nice people to talk to.
The second bar is the Sky bar which is on the roof. The views are amazing from up here and the sunsets are beautiful but what makes the Sky bar special is the amazing Valentina who is the host with the most.
Val is a professional cocktail maker and can create anything from the classics to custom made creations just for you, she truly is the best in the business and a lovely person as well.

In all a truly fantastic vacation made even better by the best staff in the business.
Thank you all my friends
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Taberner, Otros at Hotel Monsuau
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear Cabra_No1, Thank you for spending time on commenting about your experience with us. We are glad to know you had such a nice time here and enjoyed all the facilities. We look forward to seeing you soon again, Best regards from Mallorca, Monsuau team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darren S wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Currently staying at this hotel and I am very disappointed. I’ve never written a review while at a property but I feel compelled to because of the disappointment. The rooms are decent, nothing to write home about and pretty basic except for a robe and slippers. The AC is good as well. Now for the not so good:
- my room key didn’t work 3 times in the first day and I had to go back to the reception each time. I was told this happens when it’s near a phone sometimes (maybe you should get new key cards). Secondly, we sat down at the restaurant at 7:05 and waited 10 minutes to be greeted. Weird because there was only 2 other people there. Not the worst but not 4 star. There is no coffee or tea in the room(removed for COVID) which is totally understandable however they do not offer an alternative like coffee upon request or in the lobby (not 4 star!). Finally, the half board doesn’t come with any beverages (including water and soda) and relative to the quality of food at the Buffett (which is okay but not 4 star) this is again a negative. At least offer filtered water in the lobby (the hotel is small enough to do so) as this type of offering is pretty standard for a 4 star. I’m fact I stayed at a 3 star in the city and they offered water all day long. I lowered my expectations before coming knowing COVID has changed things but I think this hotel really needs to up its game and service. It’s the small things that they should really think about that can make or break someone’s stay. For 300$+/nt I would stay somewhere else and get a better value. I hope the management reads (I see this and I also hope this is constructive feedback. This property has potential but it certainly let me down.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tony E wrote a review Jun 2022
6 contributions
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a six night break at this hotel. Sadly we were disappointed with the accommodation we were given against what we were promised by jet2. On arrival we were taken to our ‘swim up room’ in block 4 a building that is completely detached from the other swim up rooms and main hotel, surrounded by residential properties. We had room 4004 and didn’t match the picture we had been sent. We immediately bought this to the attention of the receptionist who said a swim up room was a room that had access to a swimming pool with a few more rooms. When I showed him the picture we were promised he agreed it was not what we got. I spent ages trying to get through to jet2 and so did he neither of were able to get through and he couldn’t move us without their permission not that he could as hotel fully booked. The swim up was a shallow pool (ankle depth) that was constantly mucky due to leaves and seeds,(see photos) which lead to a deeper small pool, completely enclosed in by a metal fence. Very claustrophobic., no privacy as others have to walk past your windows to get to the pool. Only smatterings of sun at certain times. Also near to a group of cockerels that constantly crow through the day and night, I recommend ear plugs.
The room is very small, bed extremely comfortable but the only mirror is in the bathroom that steams up when showering. Hairdryer in a really odd place too. A kettle and coffee pod machine are supplied but no tea or coffee? The rooms get a very light clean and our bed was never changed or made, we did pull the quilts up every day but we have always had them made in other hotels. No hot water the first night but was quickly sorted when we reported. Whole block Lost power during the night twice which puts on emergency lighting. The hotel in our opinion has no atmosphere, the food is boring and repetitive. The hotel itself is very clean and so is around the pool, never had a problem getting a sunbed either as that is where we found ourselves despite thinking we would have the swim up room. Quite a walk from Cala dor but an easy one, nearer shops and bars about a ten minute walk. Beaches are all down hill and not signposted at all, we had to rely on Google maps. As we had a late flight we stored our cases in a room but it is very small and the shower is at the end, anyone wanting a shower had to move all the cases out of the way first. Don’t like leaving bad reviews as all staff worked really hard but wanted to warn people to check which swim up room they are expecting. We cannot find anywhere to complain to jet2. Sadly we would not return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try to find out which swim up room you will get
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Taberner, Otros at Hotel Monsuau
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear tonkeyK2439BQ, Thank you for taking time on commenting about your experience with us. We are sorry for everything that was happened and we apologise if you did not like our facilities, we will do our best to improve things. Best regards from Mallorca, Monsuau team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cara W wrote a review Jul 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom26 contributions
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just arrived home from a week at Hotel Monsuau and what a lovely stay we had. We chose this hotel as we wanted a nice big pool and a relaxing week, this is exactly what we got. There is plenty of sun loungers by the pool as shown in pictures which meant there was no rush in the morning.
We stayed in a prime room which was spacious, had a good size fridge, had mirrors on the wardrobe doors (seen reviews stating some room types have no mirrors) and was very clean. Fresh pool and shower towels every day if required.
The ladies on reception were very friendly and accommodating, unfortunately the same could not be said for the men at times. A special mention to Maria who was very helpful, booked us taxis and made us feel welcome and like we were staying in a 5* hotel.
We planned to eat out most nights however ended up eating in the hotel 4 nights out of the 7 as we liked it so much. There was a good variety of food every night and again the staff were so lovely. We ate out at restaurant Diferent in Cala Dor centre and we were very impressed. This is only a 15/20 min walk from the hotel but we got a taxi there as it was still very hot. A taxi to the marina is also only 5 minutes and costs roughly 6 euros.
There is a few different beaches you can visit within a close distance from the hotel, our favourite being Cala Esmeralda. Beautiful clear waters but very busy.
Overall a very positive stay and would return if we came back to Cala Dor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Taberner, Otros at Hotel Monsuau
Responded Jul 31, 2022
Dear 596caraw, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. Also, we are very grateful that you have shared your opinion with us and the community, we are glad to read your words, it is very motivating that you had such a satisfying stay and that you enjoyed all the desired services. Again, thank you and we hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Laura.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gilbert1991 wrote a review Jul 2023
Sheffield, United Kingdom10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having just spent 10 days at Hotel Monsuau, I would highly recommend it to anybody who is looking to stay in Mallorca/Cala D’or.

The Hotel is at the top end of Cala D’or, far enough away from the centre so it is quiet and peaceful yet only a 10 minute walk from bars and restaurants. It is modern, clean and the staff could not be any friendlier or helpful!

Breakfast is served up until 11am, in a clean, spacious eating area with the option to sit outside. The selection and quality of food is also of a high standard, definitely some of the better breakfast I have experienced compared to previous holidays! The eating area is also extremely clean and well maintained.

The Pool area was surprising, as unlike any other hotel I have visited, sun beds are not reserved with people fighting for them. There are always plenty available. Again, the pool area is spotless and well maintained. The pool side bar is also excellent, I would highly recommend the food. We found the food here to be of a better quality than most of the restaurants we tried in the centre of town, even those with brilliant trip advisor ratings!

The rooms are spacious, modern and clean, and unlike many hotels, everything worked perfectly!

Subjective I know, but for people looking for a hotel that isn’t going to cost obscene amounts, It really is difficult to find anything negative to write about the hotel, and would I highly recommend it. If returning to Cala D’or in the future, it would be difficult to risk staying anywhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: 12pm midday checkout is helpful. No need to reserve sun beds Breakfast served until 11am
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Taberner, Otros at Hotel Monsuau
Responded Jul 8, 2023
Dear Sir, Madam, Thank you so much for your feedback and your positive words. We really appreciate your opinion about the hotel, its facilities and our staff. We are really glad to hear that you would come back in our hotel and that you recommend it. Therefore, we look forward to welcoming you for another enjoyable stay at the hotel Monsuau. Best regards from Mallorca, Rachel.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
northern-lass wrote a review Oct 2023
Essex, United Kingdom445 contributions58 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We visited for 5 nights at the end of the season .
We stayed in a swim up double room , we did use the pool a couple of times- although it was a little chilly. Room 3005 has the deeper part of the shared pool and easy access .
Check in was easy and very thorough, we were given wristbands as a key to open our door . This was perfect as we didn’t have to hunt in our bags to look for the room key .
Our room was spacious and our bed enormous and comfortable. We had a full size fridge , microwave and kettle , plus mugs and plates etc .
The shower was hot and powerful, toiletries were also provided. Bathroom and beach towels were a good size and nice and soft .We did have a couple of plumbing issues with low water pressure, but this was sorted within 5 mins of contacting Reception.
Gym and spa look well equipped ( we didn’t use ) there is also another pool and hot tub .
The room had several English TV channels .
We stayed half board and all meals were great . Plenty of choice and food always fresh .
We also ate lunch a couple of times at the pool bar , there was a good choice of sandwiches and pasta .
The pool had plenty of sun loungers - so no need to rush .
Even though we went at the end of the season we were lucky to have lovely warm weather . The hotel is in a quiet location although only a five or 10 minute walk from plenty of bars and restaurants serving lots of different food.
A big thank you to Paula for looking after us.
I wouldn’t hesitate to book again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Taberner, Otros at Hotel Monsuau
Responded Oct 25, 2023
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience from your recent stay at our hotel. We're thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable and comfortable visit. It's great to know that you appreciated the swim-up double room, the easy and efficient check-in process with the wristbands, the spacious room with the well-equipped amenities, and the comfortable bed. We're glad to hear that any issues you encountered were resolved promptly by our reception team. We're pleased that you enjoyed the variety and freshness of our meals on the half-board plan. Also, your kind words regarding Paula and her excellent service will be shared with her. Thank you for considering a return visit. We look forward to hosting you again and providing another memorable experience. Best regards, Laura.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sophmor wrote a review Sep 2022
Belfast, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I (both mid 20s) are just back from a week long stay here and we had an absolutely wonderful stay. First of all the hotel itself is lovely, there’s a classiness to it other hotels don’t have, and it is absolutely immaculate..were both so impressed by how clean it is in every single area. We had a swim up room which was amazing, perfect to just walk straight in to cool off in the heat. We had a really good size room with plenty of wardrobe space, good shower pressure and perfect air con! The beds were so comfortable as well. Breakfast was delicious every morning, there is so much choice and all freshly topped constantly. We visited the main pool even though we had a swim up room and I have to say it was excellent, plenty of sunbeds available (we didn’t go down until midday and for the rest of the day there was still plenty) and it was very chilled out and relaxed. The cocktails at the pool bar are really good and really fairly priced as well! We also had dinner one night on the rooftop restaurant in the hotel and it was absolutely incredible, by far our favourite night. The dinner itself was superb, so delicious, fresh and good quality ingredients as well as being so affordable, it was our cheapest meal but definitely the best of all the restaurants in the area we tried. The cocktails on the sky bar are UNBELIEVABLE and the prices are even better considering the beautiful setting, the lady behind the bar was lovely, really hospitable and can make any cocktail you want, and the sunset was absolutely beautiful, we were lucky enough to witness the sunset and a huge thunder and lightning storm all in the one evening, which was class! There’s entertainment like singers/bands a few nights a week which is a lovely way to wind down in the evenings after walking back from dinner in the town. The nearest beach is Cala ferrera (5 min walk) and it is really nice, it has lockers on the sunbed umbrellas to keep all your stuff safe when you’re in for a swim. The hotel is a wee walk into Cala dor town (15/20 mins) and then an extra 10 mins into the marina but it’s not a difficult walk, although I do believe a taxi is only a couple of euros if you require one. Overall superb hotel, I would recommend it to absolutely anyone, all the staff were so nice and really helpful and we had the most relaxed and stress free stay. Thank you Monsuau!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Go for dinner and drinks for sunset on the rooftop restaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mookie Star wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I and my 84 year old parents just spent 10 days at the Monsuau hoping for a quiet relaxing holiday, and that is exactly what we got.
The staff, Juan, Maria, Carlos, Christian, Diego (and all the others) were exceptional and extremely friendly and we got the impression they really cared about the hotel and those visiting it.
The food was plentiful and varied, but a little repetitive, but you come to expect that in a hotel catering for many people. And, you could get breakfast any time up to 11.00am so there was no rush to get out of bed!
We ate out a few times in Cala D’or in the marina and the town centre (5 mins and 6 euros in a taxi) and in the Casa Blanca restaurant just a few minutes walk from the hotel, and all the meals were good.
The pool area was relaxing with quiet background music only and no thumping monotonous mind numbing music.
Our room was on the 1st floor of the main block, with unobstructed views of the mountains and the sunsets. We had no complaints about the room, but if we’re being really picky, we would say that the daily cleaning wasn’t perfect, but adequate.
My parents were on the ground floor directly below us (which was a perfect coincidence) but they did have minor complaints about some unexplained mechanical noises and loud Spanish voices early in the mornings which may have been the kitchen staff arriving around 5.00am.
Overall, we had a really nice holiday and will definitely go back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The main block facing west and not ground floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Juan Taberner, Otros at Hotel Monsuau
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Dear Mookiestar, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant and peaceful stay at the hotel. It is good to read that you liked the view from the room and the music in the pool, we always strive to give the best. We apologize for the negative points of your stay, we will take note of them and try to improve, we always accept constructive criticism. Again we thank you for your comment, we would love to see you again soon. Best regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liam R asked a question Dec 2023
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
Does the hotel have dinner vegetarian and vegan options?
Answer from Sam S
Derbyshire, United Kingdom2 contributions1 helpful vote
Im not 100% about vegan food, but there were definitely vegetarian options when we visited. Plenty of fruit and veg to choose from and the chef was happy to accommodate any requests. I would recommend getting in contact with them prior to booking. The hotel has fantastic customer service. We can’t wait to go back. Hope this helps.
julieshubbymadethis wrote a tip Jun 18
Manchester, United Kingdom9 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No sun-bed wars, beds available anytime of day which allowed a leisurely breakfast then out to the pool. "
Read full review
Joanne W wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in May which wasn’t too busy for restaurants and bars but still had nice atmosphere around the place."
Read full review
Martin B wrote a tip May 2024
York, United Kingdom28 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking availability limited and mainly on streets close by."
Read full review
Rachel F wrote a tip May 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're looking for a genuine swim up, don't bother paying the extra here Highly recommend Playa Esmeralda & Sa Coma beach club for views"
Read full review
Kay G wrote a tip May 2024
Cork, Ireland20 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool is nice and relaxed, always supervised by lifegaurd. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cala d'Or area.
PRICE RANGE
C$320 - C$436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tamarix hotel cala d or
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sunprime Monsuau
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaCala d'Or
NUMBER OF ROOMS
110
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel Monsuau - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Monsuau
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Monsuau?
Nearby attractions include Decades (0.7 km), Cala Gran Cocktail Bar (1.2 km), and Cala Esmeralda Beach (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Monsuau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Monsuau?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Monsuau?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Monsuau?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Monsuau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Cala Ferrera Bar Maria, Tapas Y Mas, and Spice of India Cala D' Or.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Monsuau?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hotel Monsuau have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Monsuau offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Monsuau?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Monsuau?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Catalan.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Monsuau?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Es Forti (1.9 km) and Closos de can Gaià (4.0 km).
All Cala d'Or HotelsCala d'Or Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cala d'Or
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars