Barceló Aguamarina

Barceló Aguamarina

View from the window looking at our balcony
Traveller (897)
Room & Suite (96)
Pool & Beach (31)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#18 of 48 hotels in Cala d'Or
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

See why so many travellers make Barcelo Ponent Playa their hotel of choice when visiting Cala d'Or. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

While staying at Barcelo Ponent Playa, visitors can check out Es Forti (1.4 km) and Rancho Jaume (4.2 km), some of Cala d'Or's top attractions.

The rooms offer a flat screen TV and a desk, and getting online is possible, as free internet access is available, allowing you to rest and refresh with ease.

Barcelo Ponent Playa features 24 hour front desk. In addition, as a valued Barcelo Ponent Playa guest, you can enjoy a pool and breakfast that are available on-site. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to parking.

While in Cala d'Or, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Barcelo Ponent Playa, including Restaurant Diferent (1.0 km), Ca'n Trompe (1.0 km), and Yacht Club Cala d'Or (1.6 km).

At Barcelo Ponent Playa, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Cala d'Or.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness classes
Free breakfast
Game room
Aerobics
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Kids club
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Airport transportation
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 4 more

Location

Cala Ferrera Cala Ferrera, 07669 Cala d'Or, Majorca Spain
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Palma Mallorca Airport
47.3 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles879 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location, Barceló Aguamarina is often lauded for its beach proximity and scenic views. Guests are charmed by the cleanliness and modern comfort, although the ambiance could benefit from an evening liveliness boost. While rooms with sea vistas receive compliments, their size and storage capacity sometimes fall short. Opinions on value and service are mixed; additional costs and varying staff responsiveness have been noted. Moreover, the tranquility of certain areas contrasts with the dining room's high noise levels, and while amenities are generally appreciated, the pool can get busy and the dining options might lack variety.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Modern
Rooms
Modern
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
879Reviews60Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 501
  • 195
  • 95
  • 49
  • 40
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dandy600 wrote a review Aug 2022
Hinckley, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We travelled with our daughter and two grown up grandchildren.
We had two sea view rooms and one non-sea view room all on the fifth floor.
All rooms had a 'brand new' feel to them as the hotel had recently undergone a massive refurbishment.
The rooms were all nicely proportioned, clean and and well maintained.
The sea view rooms had tremendous views over the Cala Ferrera cove and the directly accessed sandy beach. Absolutely beautiful.

About a week before we travelled we had been advised by Jet 2 (via the travel agent) that the refurbishment programme had 'slipped slightly' and that some refurbishment work was still going on. We were told however that this was only likely to cause minimal visual and audible inconvenience.
This indeed was the case, we were hardly affected and had a truly wonderful holiday.
Meanwhile two families we knew who had rescheduled their holiday to another nearby holiday, wished they hadn't and rearranged to come back to the Agua marina half way through their holiday!

Bringing a large hotel fully back into commission was bound to have initial teething problems of course. For example I think they were struggling with staffing levels at times, the location of the Snack Bar would suddenly change and occasionally bars wouldn't open on time. But these were all minor issues and I'm sure these will have been sorted by now.
Good humour prevailed throughout, the staff seemed genuinely pleased to see us and we were genuinely pleased to see them.

How could you not enjoy this hotel?
1. Friendly and helpful staff throughout
2. A stunning location
3. Two lovely swimming pools
4. A cosmopolitan choice of food in the restaurant (with two vegetarians in our party the labelling of food would have been useful and would have avoided constantly asking staff)
5. Rooms and public rooms all kept very clean
6. Shops, eating places and bars just a short walk away (we were fully inclusive)
7. Varied family entertainment in the evening (although we would have liked some dancing)

Well recommended, value for money
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Aug 28, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay. We apologise if our bar hours didn't quite meet your expectations. However, our opening times are established to enable us to undertake essential maintenance and cleaning tasks so that the bar meets our high standards, and hope we can count on your understanding. However, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our hotel to be in a convenient location for your visit to Cala d'Or . Furthermore, we thank you for highlighting the high standards of our installations, being fully aware that this is of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping team undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. Likewise, we thank you for your wonderful comments on the service delivered which will be shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our team to know that our guests appreciated their efforts and attention to detail. Furthermore, we appreciate the description of the room we accommodated you in during your stay, it is our goal to provide our guests with attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you appreciated yours. We are also grateful for your approval of the decor that is aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Moreover, we are delighted that you were able to make the most of your time by the pool. Additionally, we appreciate your positive feedback on our entertainment activities; it is our aim to create fun moments for all ages. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, which is why our Chefs prepare a wide variety of delicacies for each service to cater to all dietary requirements and please the most demanding palates; we are therefore very pleased that we could delight your taste buds. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve D wrote a review Oct 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just back from week at Barcelo Aguamarina. Very happy with hotel, it was refurbished in 2022 and was like new. We had one or two small issues with room(light not working etc) but the staff were brilliant and any isses were immediately resolved. The staff were superb, reception were really helpful, all waiting staff and bar staff were always busy serving guests etc but always did so with a smile. Never an issue getting a drink with meals etc, some reviewers said they had to wait but we never did. Plenty of sun loungers by pools and no problem with the old reserving that some people do! Our only complaint as such was the food served in the La Cala buffet restaurant was sometimes not hot enough. Several others mentioned this as well. The plates were cold so putting warm food onto a cold plate didn't help.
The choice and variety of menus was excellent, no complaints at all about quality of food, it was always very good. So, only improvement I'd recommend would be ensure food and plates were hot. Maybe have a microwave or two so if needed guests could heat up as required?
We were all inclusive and the drinks available were very good, all cocktails were freshly made and plenty of choice. Beer was local Estrella but also Heineken included as well which is usually classed as a premium beer but was inc.
Pool/beach towels always available from reception and these were good quality and big. No issue getting fresh towels every day.
The rooms were made up/cleaned every day.
Cala D'Or is a lovely area, not too busy and plenty of beaches and coves to explore.
Overall we highly recommend the Barcelo Aguamarina and would definitely go again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Recommend a sea view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We regret learning that the temperature of some of the dishes didn't meet your expectations. However, it is good to know that, nevertheless, you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates. We have shared your comments with them to ensure that your experience may be even better the next time around. We are thrilled that you felt welcomed and supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not hesitate to share your compliments with the entire reception team. All of them work very hard, striving to meet guest expectations and we will definitely let them know of your satisfaction with their services. They will be thrilled to have had their efforts acknowledged. Furthermore, we thank you for highlighting our high standards; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Cala d'Or . Best regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
DarrenW12341234 wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent hotel and really friendly staff. The two Eva's on reception made sure we had everything we needed and frequently asked if everything was ok.

I have read previous reviews and understand there were teething problems after the refurbishment but we did not experience any of these and everything was excellent from food to accommodation. The rooms were a bit smaller that what I am used to, but at the end of the day who wants to stay in your room on holiday.

The only two things that could be improved is by adding rubber to the bottom of chairs on balconies and in the restaurant as the scrapping noise is quite harsh on the ears when dining. Also you have to get up early to get a sun bed in a decent location and it would be better if the no towel sun bed reservation policy was enforced. Highly recommend this hotel would definitely go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Dear Darren, Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind comments about our team who work hard to ensure that we deliver the best service and always meet your expectations. We are sorry to hear that the size of your room did not quite meet your expectations. May we suggest for your next stay to choose a larger room for more comfort? It is great to know that our location was so ideal for you. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsHammondReviews wrote a review Oct 2022
Sheffield, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First impressions…

Well I would say in the main they were good, apart from the car park being blocked so we had to handle our cases down a hill. The hotel is very well presented, the refurb is contemporary and it looks lovely. Check in was simple, refreshments if you needed and we were soon on our way to our room.

The room…

On the small size, but beautifully presented. As we were all inclusive ultra we had lovely gifts left on the bed for us. A bag, hat and water bottle. They provide shampoo, conditioner, body wash, moisturiser, and even hair brush, combo toothbrush etc. fridge was stocked with water, fizzy pop and beer (take a bottle opener) we downloaded the app and logged in as it gives you all the menus and we used it to request more pillows and report a fault with our tv. It also details drinks, evening entertainment and daily activities. WiFi was good and fast. However a lot of it was on the surface, fixtures in bathrooms were loose and won’t last. Oh and remember to close your bathroom door at night because the drains absolutely stink.

Final issue with the room was no bin, so easily rectified but they don’t seem to be taking the hint

The food…

Initially it was very good. But like all all inclusive resorts it’s got a bit boring. We tried the Magical restaurant, it was awful. Only 20 people there and service was atrocious. We were finally served at 10:10pm.. mine was 4 grilled prawns (vile) and steak and chips, that was all that was on the plate and 1/3 of the steak was fat. I would avoid that

Drinks… good, proper branded and generous measures. Cocktails made for you, don’t miss the butterfly…. Rest are hit and miss depending on who makes them

Gastro pool bar doesn’t serve food so nowhere for a snack or early tea if you want it.

No icecreams/lollies to be had unless you go over the road to the shop.

Biggest issue for me was the lack of soul in the hotel. There’s nothing to do but lay by the pool. It would benefit from a pool table, table tennis etc and a bit of noise!

Would I return, maybe if the address the issues
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take a bottle opener Avoid Magical
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Dear Tina, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are sorry your room did not completely meet your expectations. All room types are described online and for future occasions, we can offer you personalized guidance to guarantee that you reserve the hotel and room type that perfectly match your needs. Moreover, we were sorry to learn of your disappointment with your dining experience; at Barceló we know that this is an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience. Nevertheless, we thank you for mentioning the quality of our internet service as we are fully aware that it is a must in this day and age. We are also grateful for your approval of the décor that is aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
herbySouthYorks wrote a review Oct 2022
Majorca, Spain
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Transfer from the airport around 1 hour 15mins. Very modern reception area. We booked a 'superior' room. We thought this would be special, but it is just a standard double although nicely done. We were also overlooking the car park which we didn't like. If you want any sort of view it is an extra 25 euros per day. There is a kettle but no tea, coffee or milk the entire stay. Also from the first day of our stay the shower kept flooding as it wasn't draining properly. The water would quickly go under the door & into the bedroom. We ended up having to turn the shower off after about a min everytime we showered to let the water go down which was far from ideal. After the first time it happened we were told we would be moved if it happened again, but we didn't get moved, despite the handyman coming out to it twice more. It would have been nice if the hotel had kept to their word but you were very much left to your own devices. Also we were left without towels which I didn't notice until I had got in the shower so had to dry best I could & go down to reception to get some.

The hotel is next to cala ferrera beach, which is lovely, unfortunately there was a storm the night we arrived so the sea was brown for the duration of our stay. Not the hotels fault but did spoil our stay.

The bar was very expensive for drinks. The food, we were half board, some is really good, like beautiful salads, & the sweets were gorgeous. However apart from the salad there were no other vegetables but potatoes. We found this very strange & really missed them. On speaking to others this was a common complaint so maybe the hotel should take notice of this. Also there was a lot of very salty dishes which didn't taste nice & isn't good for u either. There is a machine for water which is on at breakfast time, but you have to pay for water with your evening meal.
The location is a walk into cala d'or of about 15 mins. There is no promenade u walk via cala ferrera shops & restaurants. There are some lovely bars in cala d'or & little cove beaches to go to. Eden Paradise, a bar on the walk in, Freddie Mercury was amazing. Also Bar Diferent in town is lovely with really nice staff.
The marina is worth a visit, also Cala Egos & Santanyi is a lovely little Spanish town to visit. The best beach we found was Cala Mandrago which is a 20 min bus ride away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are very sorry to learn of the issue with your shower and regret that we were not able to have it repaired for you to fully enjoy your stay. Moreover, we were sorry to learn of your disappointment with your dining experience; at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience and, therefore, would be interested in learning more about what we could have done to improve your experience. Nevertheless, we appreciate that you chose to stay with us and are glad to know your experience was enjoyable. We are also grateful for your approval of the décor that is aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Moreover, it is a pleasure to know you chose to stay with us during your visit to Cala d'Or and that you enjoyed your time here. We hope that we can see you again soon. Kind regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie A wrote a review Aug 2022
Watford, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have had a great time here at Barcelo Aguamarina, the location is right on the beautiful cove of a beach, staff and reception are very friendly and room was new and clean. Could do with new towels and a sweep in the room every couple of days though. As I think they came in just to make our beds.

They have good evening entertainment at 8.30pm for kids and 9.30pm for adults  which included singers, and a magician another night. They had a greatest showman tribute by the hotels entertainment team on the last night which was fantastic.

 Singers by the pool bar Magical at 5.30 till 630pm every night, they were incredible too.

Lots of lovely places to sit and chill. Beautiful views.

Food was really good, great selection and different every day.

 The 4 stars would be 5 if there was a few little improvements. 

The biggest one for me is the signage at the Cala buffet. If your a vegetarian, vegan, gluten free or any allergies, this hotel is not really the one for you. I'm a vegetarian and there was no signs to say wether there was meat in some pastries/pasta dishes etc. Apart from the obvious meat dishes, if there was a sign it would just say Chefs Pasta dish, or Chefs salad, what's in it though? Sometimes it's unclear wether its fish or meat, which can lead to wasted food on plates when you have taken it back to your table to analyse. Maybe if you have a tick box under the title wether its suitable for Vegetarians, Vegans etc.

Typically our last night seemed to have more signs labelling food but still not on everything.

Also should have hand sanitiser stations on the wall or around, especially at a buffet, surely this is just standard now.

Secondly the app is great for the hotel but after the English main page all the events and food menus are in spanish. Maybe if there was a translation option? We missed out on lots of events as we couldn't understand what was on. From walking past, we could see people decorating hand bags, and it looked fun just wish we knew that was happening earlier. 

Thirdly not nearly enough umbrellas for the sunbeds, we had to reserve early on our last day, and the other days miss out. 

Also people should only be allowed 1 towel per person, there should be a system in place for this, we saw plenty of people with 2 to 3 towels each!! One family used a towel folded as a headrest, laying on another towel and another folded for a foot rest. Thus more people did this so on Thursday, there was no towels for hours available for anyone else. 

There was an issue with the only pool table too, people jumping in. No queue system, one local family pushed in and made children who had been waiting before them cry, it turned into an argument between the 2 families. The English family staying there had to walk away.

I would definately come back if these bits were improved and i know the hotel is newly refurbished so i guess they are still focusing on other parts of the hotel first, we still thoroughly enjoyed Barcelo and had a great holiday. My kids loved it too and loved the location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Dear Stéphanie, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. Rest assured, we have noted your feedback on our app and will consider it for future improvements. Thank you, nevertheless, for highlighting our strategic location with easy access to the beach. We thank you for complimenting our high standards; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests and are glad that you appreciated the fantastic views we are lucky to have. We are also delighted that you appreciated the efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests by offering tasty international and local dishes. We have also taken note of the labelling of the meals and please be assured that your comments will be shared with the departmental managers so that improvements can be made. Moreover, thank you for your kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay; we will make sure to pass on your positive comments to them and are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions. Best regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie130764 wrote a review Sep 2022
Harlow, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have always booked direct with Barcelo and by doing so you will get the best prices compared to package holidays .
On arrival we was pleasantly surprised to be given a sea view room .
The rooms are very nice , new and modern , a huge comfortable bed . As we are unique level we get a complimentary mini bar which is very nice but no bottle opener or glasses , when I called reception I was told we don’t have any bottle openers , just a minor niggle . Missed not having tea/coffee in room but then on day 5 a coffee tray arrived albeit only one sachet of coffee and no milk .
All inclusive guests can enjoy all meals in the magical restaurant and also get served drinks until midnight with a few upgraded brands like absolut and tanqueray .
The evening service was a bit hit and miss , lunch was always excellent .
The hotel is well located on the beach so was just a few steps and you can swim in the sea rather than the pool .
Bolero bar in the evening was very good , Pool tacked , TV screens and excellent outside entertainment, our favourite was the Take That Tribute .
The staff throughout the hotel are truly a credit to the Barceló brand , so friendly and always courteous.
The wrist bands for all inclusive plus are brilliant , you can access your room using them !!
I would definitely visit this hotel again . Very good value all round .
My Top tip is book direct , you can always find a promo code as well . Recommend the all inclusive plus .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book all inclusive plus direct
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Sep 25, 2022
Dear Jackie, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciated our strategic location. We are also delighted that you were able to make the most of your time by the pool. Moreover, we would like to thank you for highlighting the size and comfort of our beds. We understand that a satisfying night's sleep is a top priority for our guests. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on future occasions. Best regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Booandwoo wrote a review Jul 2022
Pontefract, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Can’t really fault this hotel. The location is stunning, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. It was clean, tidy and the beds were very comfy (and huge!). We stayed from 1st - 5th July, not long after it reopened from renovations and had two rooms. Toiletries in the bathrooms included, soap, hand/body lotion, shampoo/shower gel and conditioner and it smelt wonderful. There was a hairdryer and toothbrush packs. Fresh towels daily. There was always plenty of food in the buffet, good selection and good quality. I’m a very fussy eater but always managed to find something to eat and enjoy, my friends really enjoyed the selection on offer. Drinks at the bars were good, service during the shows was reasonably prompt. In my opinion the shows were were average. We arrived very late at night and we’re given bottles of cold water at reception on arrival, plates of meat, cheese, salad and fruit and a selection of cakes had been left in our rooms for us which was very thoughtful and much appreciated. My only real criticism would be the mini bar in the room, we were all inclusive and this wasn’t restocked regularly, all the bottles had caps but an opener wasn’t provided (we bought one locally for 2 euros!), at the beginning of the week water was left daily but not after a couple of days, but we asked at the bar/reception and we’re given bottles. There is still some renovation work ongoing but this honestly wasn’t really noticeable or intrusive. Really enjoyed our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Take a bottle opener!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Propriétaire at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Jul 11, 2022
Dear Guest, We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We regret to read of your disappointment with the entertainment at our hotel and remain at your disposal for any additional comments that may help us to continue improving our services. We are, nevertheless, pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and are delighted that you found our hotel to be in an ideal location for your trip. Moreover, we are thrilled to read your compliments about our team as we strive to provide our guests with caring and personalized service. We place great value on our personnel being guest-orientated and welcoming at all times. We are also very pleased to know that you found the room we accommodated you in to be comfortable and thank you for complimenting our high standards; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a top priority for our guests. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for highlighting the size and comfort of our beds. We understand that a satisfying night's sleep is a top priority for our guests. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that you were satisfied. The entire team certainly hope we can see you again in the future. Kind regards, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Charley R wrote a review Oct 2023
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have just returned from a wonderful holiday at Barceló Aquamarina. The sea view rooms were spotlessly clean with a breathtaking view of one of the clearest seas I have been in. The shower was large and the bed was so comfortable it was like sleeping in a cloud. Fresh towels provided daily and the cleaning products and Barceló fragrances the hotel used were sensational.
The food was always warm which you don’t often get and although like most buffet style restaurants, the food was a little similar each day but the breakfast was particularly amazing with an omelette station and salads. The noise level was extremely loud however and often made it difficult to hear yourself think.
The staff were very accommodating: Eva on reception welcomed us like old friends and gave the hotel a warm, friendly and professional feel, as well as the very tall man in the restaurant and the lady on the salt bar with the most gorgeous black long hair who were also friendly and attentive.
The lifts breaking down as previously mentioned could be better but this is often not helped by too many people cramming in and exceeding the weight limits. We found the hotel facilities being on different levels very novel with the beach on the ground floor, buffet restaurant on the 2nd, reception on the 3rd and the family pool on the 4th floor, we often found ourselves trying to remember which floor we needed.
The evening atmosphere was lacking however as we could not find a seat outside for the evening entertainment and with doors closed we could not hear from inside and no other music on made you instantly feel tired and want to have a sleep so we chose to leave the hotel the last 2 nights, which is a shame. The seating area by the beach near the 0 level salt bar could be utilised better at night with the bar being opened in the evening with music playing.
The beach was lovely and offered activities such as paddle boarding for 15 euros for one hour and pedaloes with slides for 18 euros.
The location of this hotel is truly amazing and I would absolutely recommend it. It often felt like an adults only hotel with not many children.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Oct 6, 2023
Dear Charley, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the breathtaking sea view from your spotlessly clean room, as well as the comfortable bed and large shower. It's great to know that our breakfast offerings, particularly the omelette station and salads, were to your liking. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and attentive staff, especially Eva at reception. We apologize for the noise level in the restaurant and the difficulty in finding seating for the evening entertainment. We will take your suggestions into consideration, such as utilizing the beach seating area near the salt bar for evening activities. We understand that the layout of our hotel, with facilities on different levels, may be confusing for some guests, but we believe it adds to the unique charm of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed the beach activities and our prime location, and we hope that these positive aspects of your stay outweighed any inconveniences. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tia C wrote a review Aug 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
There is a lot to like about this hotel, fantastic location right beside beautiful Cala Ferrara, newly renovated, nice public areas and a very hardworking staff team.

We had a lovely holiday and felt it represented good value for whaf we paid. We were allocated lovely rooms on the 6th floor with pool and sea views although we hardly spent any time in the room. The beds were very comfortable and I though the temperature was perfect in spite of it being very hot outside. The bathroom is spacious and well set up.

There are two pools, a small pool overlooking the beach and the larger family pool. There seemed to be enough sunbeds but more sun unbrellas were required at the family pool as it got very hot up there due to all the hard surfaces.

Food was pretty good, very good in the buffet and hit and miss in Magical. The a la carte breakfast offering was terrible but fine if you stuck to the buffet.

We enjoyed the entertainment especiall the yoga with Mar, well worth doing and the aqua aerobics and aqua spin with Veronica, such fun. The little one in our group loved the kids club and mini disco so thanks to all.

Drinks are fine, we had all inclusive plus which gave us access to more branded drinks which was nice. Cocktails were freshly made, none of your prepacked ru bish here

Staff worked very hard and were very friendly and accommodating, especially in reception and at the family pool bar which is a lovely place to have a late afternoon drink, but beware it closes at 6.
.
This hotel isn't perfrct though and still has some teething issues. Plumbing is an issue with many of the public toilets out of commission and toilets in the sports bar not flushing properly. There are 6 lovrly fully functioning toilets in reception though but we mainly went back to our room.
IThere are issues with the availability of pool towels more due to timing issues really. I cant understand why each guest isnt given a pool towel at check in and are advised to swop dirty for clean.

If is great that the pool area is patrolled and that non residants are removed but i think all guests should wear a colour coded band based on their board status, it would avoid the need to take room numbers at reception too.

The hotel manager wasn't a presence in public areas at all as far as I could see. I think he or she could do with making their presence felt especially in the magical restaurant and around the pool area.

I would have liked to have seen hand sanitizer at the buffet.

I gave a 5 rating based on my perception of the quality/value ratio and the fact that the negatives can be quite easily resolved.

All in all we had a lovely stay, thanks everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Barceló Aguamarina
Responded Aug 14, 2022
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Barceló Aguamarina. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and agree with you that our attentive staff play a key role in the overall experience of our guests. The whole team works very hard to ensure that we provide a high quality service and a different and memorable experience. We would like to thank you for highlighting the comfort of our beds; at Barceló we understand that a comfortable and satisfying night's sleep is a priority for our guests, which is why we take great care in choosing the mattresses for our beds. We are also delighted that you were able to make the most of your time at the pool. I assure you that we will take your comments very seriously as they help us to improve on a daily basis. We also appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets, as our team of chefs continually strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international dishes to please all palates, across all services. However, we regret the perception of the a la carte breakfast offer, we do our best to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining experience, in an unrivalled setting and with excellent service. Our kitchen team will continue to work hard to surprise you on your next visit. We appreciate your kind words about our entertainment team. They work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay with us, we will be sure to pass on your compliments and we are sure they will be delighted to know that their efforts have been appreciated by you. Thank you very much for your compliments towards our team, who continually work to ensure excellent care for our guests. We will pass on your comments to all of them and we are sure they will be delighted to know that their efforts have been rewarded with recognition for a job well done. We are also happy to know that you found our hotel in a convenient location for your visit to Cala d'Or. On the other hand, we would like to inform you that all guests wear different bracelets depending on the type of board booked, but even so, it is important for us to know the room number for several reasons. We would like to point out that our management team is present in the public areas of the hotel in the services and areas of greatest affluence at the disposal of the client for whatever he/she may need. We are pleased to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in the service provided and we will not hesitate to pass on your comments to the members of the team you mentioned personally. Once again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read it and we hope you will visit us again soon. Nina Elias, Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanessa T asked a question May 2024
Treviglio, Italy319 contributions31 helpful votes
Come posso raggiungere la struttura dall’aereoporto?
Answer from Oliver T
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom6 contributions2 helpful votes
We had interconnecting rooms there last October which were 2 separate rooms with a further external door. So effectively a small hallway between the 2 rooms and once through the outer door we generally left the doors between the 2 bedrooms wedged open.
pjanderson wrote a tip Jun 20
Leeds, United Kingdom31 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try keep your room on to make the most of your last day!"
Read full review
Debra H wrote a tip Jun 16
5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Can be busy at beach and pools. "
Read full review
Olivia G wrote a tip Jun 10
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to another hotel "
Read full review
Jiggys09 wrote a tip Jun 8
Clayton, United Kingdom18 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a high floor sea view "
Read full review
Helen M wrote a tip Jun 7
London, United Kingdom22 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Always plenty of sun beds but the best locations get snapped up early "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cala d'Or area.
PRICE RANGE
C$220 - C$435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo ponent playa hotel cala ferrera, barcelo hotel ponent playa, barcelo cala d or
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Barcelo Ponent Playa
LOCATION
SpainBalearic IslandsMajorcaCala d'Or
NUMBER OF ROOMS
417
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Barceló Aguamarina - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Barceló Aguamarina
Which popular attractions are close to Barceló Aguamarina?
Nearby attractions include Decades (0.4 km), Cala Esmeralda Beach (0.3 km), and Eden Paradise (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Barceló Aguamarina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Barceló Aguamarina?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Barceló Aguamarina?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Barceló Aguamarina?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Cala Ferrera Bar Maria, Tapas Y Mas, and Tipy Tapa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Barceló Aguamarina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Barceló Aguamarina have airport transportation?
Yes, Barceló Aguamarina offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Barceló Aguamarina?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Barceló Aguamarina offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Barceló Aguamarina?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Barceló Aguamarina?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Es Forti (1.4 km) and Closos de can Gaià (4.5 km).
All Cala d'Or HotelsCala d'Or Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Cala d'Or
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars