We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Old Dad's Barn B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackburn
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Old Dad\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Well I've just ended a months stay here and it was faultless. Being a contractor for over 20+ years I must have stayed in over 50 B&Bs up and down the country and I can honestly say this one is up there with the best. Mick and his family made me feel very at home from check in to check...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank KristanMuir
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for the time to review our B&B, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Only a shame you were called off to another site. Hope you found suitable accommodation. The team looks to be doing well with the big move! Mick

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Very friendly family run B&B. Well located for Blackburn and Preston (plus the lakes slightly further afield) The rooms are clean and comfortable rooms with nice en-suites. Located in a quiet area but still not too far off of the main roads for access etc. Would definitely recommend and will use every time I am in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian P
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. 4 nights a week for 3 years and your kind words means a lot. Old Dads certainly seems to specialise in long stay guests. We're looking forward to visiting your part of the country in the summer, hopefully have chance to meet for a pint too. Many thanks Old Dads

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

The owner welcome us and kindly let us check in early. The biggest plus point is the rooms are very clean. For £80 per night I was expecting a good breakfast, unfortunately it was quite disappointing. We had to choose from a very limited menu the night before. It would have been nice to have fresh fruit and yoghurt for...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Angharad L
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Firstly let me thank you for the generous tip you left, from the feedback you have since left I guess it was more of an apology for your husband’s behaviour? As if trying to kick our front door in at 4am wasn’t enough to then come in trying to fight with everybody he had woken up and fire abuse to...

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2014

Great location almost overlooking Blackburn in a rural setting yet just 10 minutes to Blackburn town Centre. Room was luxuriously comfortable and beautifully decorated. Big double bed was as comfortable as they come. Totally quiet, fresh delicious breakfast and exceptionally friendly, kind and helpful owner/Manager Mick. Its hard to get better Bed and Breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alanflow
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave Old Dads feedback. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your return later in the year. Never fails to amaze me how a 2 night booking turns into a 4 month stay. Thank you Old Dads

Tavira, Portugal
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A very warm welcome in beautifull souroundings in the village of mellor great breakfast made to feel very welcome it situated on a farm that is a livery great for kids there loverly daughter Emily guess aged 3 has her own play ground which iam sure guest s children would love

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin B
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Hello Kevin and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's nice to know all our hard work since taking over in 2012 is moving Old Dads in the right direction. I guess the local pub wasn't for you? we still have a temporary landlord in, maybe the brewery need to lower the charges. Many thanks...

Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed here with friends on 25th Oct. I had a room with a beautiful view, the en-suite was modern. We had our own lounge with flat screen TV which was much appreciated after travelling from Lincolnshire to Preston for a funeral. Mick was so welcoming and his beautiful little daughter Emily was a pleasure to have around. Mick recommended a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 113RitaB
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Good morning Rita, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback your kind words go along way. I’m glad you enjoyed the views from your room, when the weather permits an hour can go nowhere sat at the Trig point taking in all you can see. Not everybody makes use of the lounge area, it was nice to...

Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute and I'm so glad the premier inn was fully booked!! Fantastic welcome, particularly from little Emily :-) who was so cute! Mick was so accommodating, and the room had lots of little extras which were a lovely touch. Room was lovely, with old antique furniture and an amazing view. Breakfast was hearty, there was no rush...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TaylorClanX
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Great host - clean room - great location - easy access from motorway - close to pub serving good food- lots of local walking - mick and family great host - fabulous breakfast and excellent value Thanks again Stuart

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dealstuart
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Good evening, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We hope to see you again, hopefully before you buy another new car though. Thanks again Old Dads

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stayed while visiting family in the area. For us it’s perfectly situated as it’s within walking distance of Mellor and close to public transit links (train and bus). It’s a short cab ride from Preston which has frequent trains to London Euston. The breakfasts were very good (while not excessive), and Mick was very accommodating as I liked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DayleePaleta
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are always striving to do our best for our guests. I have addressed a couple of the problems you experienced, fitted a wireless extender to the Wi-Fi and good signal is now available throughout the house, the pine bed frame has been tightened up & padding fitted to...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 13 April 2013

A nice place to stay. Nothing altra fancy just cozy confort, great breakfast, small town setting with great views, Pubs with cold pints and good food within walking distance and excellent B&B Hosts! JAC Omaha, Nebraska

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
Mick S, Owner at Old Dad's Barn B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are very glad Old Dad's was a pleasurable stay for you & thank you for Emily's present. I hope the trip was a worthwhile one and everything has sold. Many thanks Old Dad's.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
0.9 km away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
399 reviews
4.1 km away
Good Night Inns Boddington Arms Hotel
1.7 km away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Northcote Hotel
Northcote Hotel
#1 of 3 in Langho
913 reviews
5.7 km away
Salmesbury Hotel
Salmesbury Hotel
#1 of 2 in Samlesbury
598 reviews
3.2 km away
Premier Inn Blackburn Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our comfortable family run bed and breakfast, nestling in rural Lancashire. Whether you are travelling, working locally, or visiting friends and relatives, we'll make sure your stay is an enjoyable one - in unique surroundings, filled with character, a lifetime apart from generic hotel chains! Our location features the superb landscapes of the Ribble Valley, in a gorgeous historic farming village, whilst still being no more than 10 minutes from the M6, and close to British Aerospace at Salmesbury. We offer you comfort and peace in our non-smoking rooms, complete with off road parking. All rooms feature television, tea and coffee making facilities, and an en-suite bathroom. Breakfast awaits you in the morning, and there are numerous local pubs serving good country homemade food for lunch and dinner, with Blackburn and Preston being only a few miles away for those in search of an urban atmosphere. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Dad's Barn B&B

Address: Old Dads Barn Mellor Lane | Mellor, Blackburn BB2 7EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Price Range: $50 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Dad's Barn B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Old Dad's Barn B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All appear good”
 of 5 bubbles alanflow, 22 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are very quiet with lovely views.”
 of 5 bubbles 113RitaB, 27 Oct 2013 | Read review
“No swimming pool or fitness center but I couldn't erase the entry? Anyway I didn't miss them at all. I had the corner room with a view of the valley.”
 of 5 bubbles JosephC800, 13 Apr 2013 | Read review
3 of 3