We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Inn on the Lake

Booking.comUS$46*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
Panoramas (80)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Inn on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 460: English reviews
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have read poor reviews of this hotel in the past, but my recent stay was excellent. I was on a business trip and needed to start early so I was very pleased to find I could have breakfast at 6:30. There was no hot buffet but my Full English arrived very quickly and was perfectly cooked. When I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lagomorphs
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, We're happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kent
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a non lake view room, which was spacious and completely quiet even though it was facing the A2. The bathroom was spacious although it wasn't till the morning that we discovered the switch from bath tap to shower was broken. The rooms are perhaps a little dated with pine furniture but the bed was really comfortable and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crisj
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are currently undergoing refurbishment in all our rooms and I am sad to hear you did not have the chance to stay in one. I do hope you visit again and experience the update for yourself.

KENT
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a terrific "do" to see in 2016 at the Inn on the Lake, we rebooked for last New Year's Eve. We were very disappointed as it didn't come close to our previous experience. The pluses were: the staff, the cleanliness and comfort of the (somewhat dated) rooms - these can't be faulted. Also it was very reasonable priced for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christinekelly07
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear our New Years Eve night was not up to your standards and I wish you had contacted us within these last 3 months to discuss these points further.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here this weekend and I can't recommend the place highly enough, the rooms are basic but very clean and the bed is so comfy! I emailed ahead as it was my boyfriends birthday and the staff upgraded us to a lake view. We ordered from the room service which is reasonable and quick .. the staff are polite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emily b
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. It's good to hear our staff were able to upgrade you to a Lakeside Room free of charge and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We had a private family function booked for a 70th Birthday, we could not fault the evening at all. The room was perfect for a sit down meal for 17 guests, the food was lovely and for the amount of meals they had to produce these were all served at the correct temperature. The staff were polite and friendly especially...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vic2riachambers
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. You are most welcome and once again we wish all the best to the birthday girl. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Our first visit was for the New Year Event on 31st December 2016 with an overnight stay. It was a really good evening except we were very disappointed with the entertainment which was suppose to be a tribute to the 'Rat Pack' we were expecting 3 male singers but it was a single male singer working his own equipment which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheila3072017
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy the act during new years eve but glad you found the Jersey boys night to be excellent. They are back on the 22nd December and tickets are out now!

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Working away and lodging here. Refurb under way but you do not know its happening. Very spacious and warm rooms. Staff lovely especially breakfast lot. Lots of contractors from all over UK. Good evening specials on changed daily.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roostercogburn2013
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently refurbishing all our rooms and I am happy this did no disturb your stay.

Bissen
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We booked this hotel for the fact that it accepted dogs & it's location to where we needed to be. The reception welcome was excellent & our room was given to us even though we arrived early. I paid the extra to have a lake side room, as I was then able to open the patio doors & let our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RichieLFC
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our staff are always helpful to all our guests. I am sure your dog was very happy to have been able to run around by the lakes.

Reviewed 12 March 2017

Great room, great service , food was nice bit slow in coming but must have been 300+ people so ok, great show, nice location, good for walking, couple of hen nights at the show , so very noisy girls in main room, but to be expected, overall would have to recommend to any one

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I believe you are talking about our Frankie Valli & the Jersey Boys Tribute night on the 11th March. We had over 300 guests attending this function and have had an amazing amount of positive feedback from everyone, so we are glad you really enjoyed the night. Please look out for our next tribute...

Lincoln, uk
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Firstly just getting there is an issue, don't rely on your sat nav. Follow road signs as sat nav say your there when your still on motorway. First appearance seemed ok, more like a motel from the outside. Only stopped one night passing through so an overall review is limited. Reception very helpful, rooms very dated in pine furniture. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikinunu
jason d, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All our rooms are double glazed to allow a good nights sleep for our guests. We don't want guests waking up cranky.

548 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (363)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Four Poster Double Room (29)
Viewed
Lakeside Double Room (34)
Viewed
Other (118)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
235 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
9.1 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
9.7 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
5.4 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: $75 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a lake view if possible”
LifestyleUK, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is a big main road on one side of the hotel, the lake is on the other. My lake-view room was quiet.”
Lagomorphs, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms over looking the lake have a great view & quiet, the other side will get the noise of the motorway”
sheila3072017, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at back overlook 3 lakes. Ground floors have patio doors to view lakes”
Roostercogburn2013, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a lake side room, much less road traffic noise”
RichieLFC, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$46* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$46
TravelocityUS$46
Hotels.comUS$46
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates