We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Inn on the Lake

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Inn on the Lake
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

416 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Inn on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Showing 412: English reviews
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2016

My daughter had her wedding reception here yesterday.I would like to thank all of the staff for making Amy and Robs wedding day so happy.Everybody was so polite and friendly and very helpful.The venue was absolutely perfect,the buffet was great and everything went without a hitch.It really makes a difference when all the staff are happy and smiley.Thanks everybody.What a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carrie020
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Carrie, Thank you very much for your lovely comments which have been passed on to the team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

KENT
Reviewed 10 January 2016

We wanted a less expensive New Year this year, after paying out small fortunes for "do's" in previous years. Consequently, we weren't expecting too much (particularly as the admin seemed all over the place - though the staff were always very pleasant). However, we were very pleasantly surprised by our experience. The room was large, with a view of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christinekelly07
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Our team, especially our head chef were very happy to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. Our Christmas programme will be released in the next few weeks so please check the website!

london
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

THIS HOTEL SHOULD COME WITH A WARNING I stayed at the inn on the lake New Year's Eve to New Year's Day we had a fab time and pre authorised a £50 bar tab to use that evening the following day we decided to stay a further night but move to another room priced £59 lake view room so we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank helendiggines
Kevin D, General Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Dear Helen First and foremost, I would like to apologize for my belated reply. I was truly astonished when I first noticed your comments about this misunderstanding that occurred during your stay. I would like to assure you that this was an isolated mistake that has been looked into very seriously as we implement very rigorous controls with regards Bar...

Reviewed 29 December 2015

This night away was booked for my husbands birthday with friends. Our friends got there before us and much to their dismay realised that the bed they had been given still have the indent of the previous occupant along with their hairs etc in the bed! They complained and were given the room next door. We arrived and yes you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sheryl R
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We went to a meal, show, disco, stayed the night and breakfast as a competition win. We did not arrive until everyone else had got to dessert and no meal had been booked for us deliberately but the staff ran around making sure we were seated at a table and got all three courses. Constantly attending to us and asking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TriciaBY
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Its pleased to hear our staff were helpful to you all night and hope to see you at one of our many 2016 Cabaret shows.

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Good value for money.clean.warm.good bedrooms .good basic food.obviously needs update but not to deter from cost conscious .overall excellent value for money within confines. Would recommend!!!!!staff helpfull

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnwx9948p
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We pride ourselves on our customer service and I am glad to see you found this true during your stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We stayed at the Inn on the Lake because it looked to have a really nice setting on the small lake and it was convenient to our travel. The lake setting was very nice but, at least when we stayed in December, the Hotel had basically shut itself off from the lake view by closing down all the lake facing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Col E
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Unfortunately, all our Lakeside rooms had been sold out that evening due to a function and not closed off. Its good to hear our Full English Breakfast was up to your standards.

Cannock
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

We booked a trip to London with travelstyle and stayed here as part of the package. We arrived later that agreed due to traffic but they were forewarned of this. We waited an hour for our starter and at no point did anyone apologise and offer us bread while we waited. Breaded mushroom started tasted like the had been booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cannocksarahb
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Your company had originally booked your evening meal for 7pm but your coach did not arrive until 9:30pm and we were not told until later that evening, but we always try to accommodate these situations. I am glad you found our rooms warm and clean.

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015

OK, it's a bit tired and a bit dated. However the bed is comfortable, the bar food is edible, unlike some places I've eaten in, and the breakfast is good. But look at the price.........how do they do it for that amount? I run my own business and I've given up trying to work out their profit margin which must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank old_nomad
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. We are a family run Hotel and are always striving to try to improve and refurbish our facilities. Unfortunately we do not have the big budgets that the corporate chain hotels do but we try our best. I am glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Decent hotel. As previous reviews say it is slightly out dated. But the main boxes are ticked . It's clean. The bed is very comfy (in a double room which I had) . Rooms are a decent size. Also does a decent breakfast included in price. The evening meals at the bar are decent too and reasonably priced. Would definately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
Kevin D, Manager at The Inn on the Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Breakfast is complimentary to all guests and I am glad you enjoyed it.

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (83)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gravesend
2.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
222 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend Central Hotel
9.1 km away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Gravesend (A2/Singlewell) Hotel
12.1 km away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
339 reviews
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in 12 acres of woodland, the Inn on the Lake Hotel offers a friendly and comfortable stay in a modern, family run establishment. With excellent transport links to London, the Channel Ports and the Medway Towns, as well as the M2, M20 and M25 motorways, the stunning views across the two lakes are surprisingly tranquil and relaxing. The Inn on the Lake has 80 comfortable guest rooms (many of them with direct access to the 2 beautiful lakes and surrounding woodland) offering en-suite bathrooms, colour satellite television, direct dial telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and hairdryer. The hotel also boasts a fully licensed bar and restaurant, conference facilities and a unique banqueting room with a 180 panoramic view of the lakes and fountain. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Inn on the Lake

Address: Watling Street, Gravesend DA12 3HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Gravesend
Price Range: $83 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Lake Hotel Gravesend
Hotel On The Lake
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Inn on the Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lakeside rooms are quieter as this is just off the A2”
 of 5 bubbles ChBo66, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Stubabysw4, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with clean, comfortable beds”
 of 5 bubbles Pee, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms at the rear of the hotel (even numbers) overlooked the lake and had less traffic noise. Well worth any extra payment.”
 of 5 bubbles Petra_Bristol, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Lake side room”
 of 5 bubbles nalla55, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay