We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emlyn Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emlyn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

537 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 534: English reviews
Start your review of Emlyn Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Lovely place to spend some down time. The hotel is freshly refurbished and the staff are all so helpful and welcoming. The standard of the breakfast was excellent. One down side - no cask ale available when I was there so I had to search further afield for a bit of the real stuff. Newcastle Emlyn is a good base...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Andrew, Thanks for your kind comments - the Hotel has been recently refurbished and we are delighted you liked it. Newcastle Emlyn is indeed an ideal base to explore and discover the beauty of West Wales. Hope you visit us again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Taplow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

300 year old building ,contemporary rooms, Staff ,excellent and attentive, friendly. Contemporary bedroom, bed comfortable, nice bathroom ,tv. Dining room very comfortable, great food well cooked, good choice of menu Helpful waiters. Cosy sitting areas , bar. Public areas well decorated. All very clean. Lots of easy parking in grounds of hotel. Big new garden outside , nice sitting area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Pauline, Thanks for the feedback, the team will be delighted! perhaps next time your in West Wales you could try out our another Cawdor Collection property 'Gellifawr Woodland Retreat' Pembrokeshire... Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A party of 28 visited this hotel for lunch and nothing was too much trouble. Staff were a joy, so pleasant and helpful. The food was very very good and enjoyed by all. Considering the amount of people all food was hot and beautifully presented. The toilets were sparklingly clean. A well deserved 5 rating for cleanliness

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cilla P
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Cilla, Glad you enjoyed yourself at the Emlyn Hotel - the team will be thrilled with your comments especially our Kitchen team led by Simon Briscoe as they are a very dedicated bunch. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just spent an amazing stay at the Emlyn Hotel, staff were very welcoming and helpful showing us around the hotel, great on site parking, The hotel is well positioned in the town and great for exploring the local area..The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout . Our room was beautifully decorated to a high standard, the bed was so comfortable. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Reesgang
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello rees, Thanks for taking the time out to review the Emlyn Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. If your interested we have a sister property in Pembrokeshire 'Gellifawr Woodland Retreat' if you fancy something a bit different next time.. Hope to see you soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Neyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Cannot fault this hotel in any way from start to finish was looked after brilliantly by staff from the lady on front desk to bar man to the waitresses that served one of the best breakfast served really enjoyed the stay will be back deffintly

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Martin L
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Martin, Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Emlyn - the team there work hard to exceed guests expectations at all times. Hope to see you again soon at one of the Cawdor Collections properties. Warm regards, Simon.

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely overnight stay in this Old Coach House Hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was first class. Will definitely be returning. 2 nights stay next time to enjoy the Bistro as well. Nice selection of shops in this small town as well.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kellinu
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kellin, Thanks for your kind comments - there is indeed a nice selection of shops in Newcastle Emlyn ranging from antique shops to a couple of boutique shops. I see you are looking to return sometime soon, sign up to the newsletter on our website and you'll be able to do so for a lot less than you'd think!...

wales
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed here for one night D/B/B on a special offer, lovely hotel nicely refurbished and with very friendly staff, but I'm afraid very poorly run, firstly we rang to book a room and the receptionist wasn't there we were told that someone would ring back, after an hour we had to ring again, then they said we'll send a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jess59Wales
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jess, Thanks for taking the time out to review the Emlyn Hotel - I was disappointed to read we didn't manage to exceed your expectations during your stay, as one of Carmarthen's premier hotels we always aim to please. I am confident having looked into your comments and made any necessary changes, a return visit would be much improved....

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stopped 5 times before. This time in 'executive' room 19. If it wasn't for the lack of suitable competition elsewhere in the region we would not have stayed here more than once. Always problems at reception when booking in. Given different types of room to that booked and at a greater coast than confirmed by the Agent. Overheated room (again)...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Glyn T
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Glyn, Thanks for taking the time out to leave you feedback - we will look into your comments but rest assured a change to our Hotel booking software will eradicate the issues you mention and is forthcoming. Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Simon.

Llandysul, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We live locally, and parked by the Castle (take the turning by the clock tower) and walked back across the road to the Gwesty'r Hotel in search of Sunday lunch. The frontage to the Hotel looks small on the road but do not be fooled: the property has had a lot of money invested in it over the years and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank georgiahay
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Georgia, Thanks for you kind words - we pride ourselves at the Emlyn on our delicious Sunday dinner so your feedback is very much appreciated. Warm regards, Simon.

Wales
Reviewed 2 January 2017

My partner and I first stayed here about 18 months ago on a Travelzoo offer. We were allocated a room in an annexe further down the street, so that you had to walk up the street on the pavement if you wanted to use the bar for a drink or to eat in the restaurant, that was the first disappointment....

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Mrscattz
Simon J, General Manager at Emlyn Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mrscattz, It is unfortunate that the Emlyn Hotel does not meet your standards, as a company we are very proud of what we offer and the Emlyn Hotel is often judged to be amongst the very best in its class in Wales. Hopefully you find what you are looking for elsewhere. Warm regards, Simon.

139 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of Wales' enchanting and traditional market town of Newcastle Emlyn and with stunning countryside, picturesque beaches and historic sites just a short distance away, Gwesty'r Emlyn Hotel is the perfect place to visit.A complete refurbishment has transformed this 300 year old coaching Inn to give you the best of both worlds with contemporary chic and traditional accents sitting side by side. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emlyn Hotel

Address: Bridge Street, Newcastle Emlyn SA38 9DU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Newcastle Emlyn
Price Range: $121 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emlyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Emlyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Emlyn Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Sheffield, United Kingdom
over a year ago
andover
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Emlyn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 14 if window open has a/c noise when shut no problem at all”
747paulinew, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The outside rooms are very very hot!”
jess59Wales, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are in the coach house”
GlynT913, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Hotel has a small gym, sauna and jacuzzi.”
Newportglobetrotters, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Number 1 is a disabled room”
fussydolphin, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5