We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

St. Jude Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
St. Jude Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for St. Jude Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 123: English reviews
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Very solid and comfortable hotel just next to the Trans Canada Highway a few kilometers from the town of Clarenville and only about a 2 hour drive to St. John's. Clean comfortable rooms and very nice restaurant downstairs. Also close to the charming town of Trinity.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudyandDave
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to review our property. Hotel Management and Staff are pleased that you were pleased. We strive to deliver quality service and your positive acknowledgement is gratefully accepted. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Staverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Stayed for one night. The room was spacious and beds comfortable. Good internet. On the ground floor so outside door which enabled us to unload the car easily. Some slight marks on the carpet but otherwise clean and well maintained. Fridge and microwave in the room. Very friendly staff on the reception desk. Ate in the adjoining restaurant which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for comments. Your positive review of our property is appreciated. Our staff take pride in their work. The fact that you were pleased is encouraging. We look forward to serving you should you revisit our area in the future.

Swan River, Canada
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Older style hotel with exterior room doors. Clean, comfortable rooms Poor wifi, Quiet, considering it was right on the TCH. Restaurant was pricey, food average. Good service. Would stay here again, but not for an extended stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to comment on your stay with us. Your kind comments regarding our rooms and service are encouraging. Our wifi is normally quite good however there was a period when a couple of our access points were faulty and needed replacement. I apologize that you were inconvenienced because of this. It...

Yarmouth, Canada
Reviewed 19 July 2016

The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We arrived very late on ATV's they gave us the pizza delivery number and answered all our questions. Very nice. The rooms were inviting and warm as we were freezing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We appreciate your acknowledgment of our staff and service. Its always encouraging to be complimented. We look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Nalcrest, Florida
Reviewed 14 July 2016

overall this was fine for 1 night. staff is great. we had a fridge & coffee maker. comfy beds & could park outside the door. it's been what we've experienced so far in Newfoundland. the motels are fine for the night & nothing <for the most part special> & over-priced.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathryn h
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

Your comments are greatly appreciated and we thank you for acknowledging our staff and service. Our staff take pride in doing a good job and are encouraged by your positive feedback. We constantly strive to provide quality service and competitive rates. We look forward to serving you in the future should you decide to revisit our area.

St. John's, NL
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Spacious rooms, friendly and helpful staff. In room coffee, clean and easy to access. There was a small odour, but it might have been just our room. Great if you're just passing through. Easy to access as its right on the TCH. We had s problem with the TV and someone came to fix it within minutes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UNTD
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased that your stay was comfortable and your needs were attended to in a timely manner. Our staff take pride in their work and appreciate your acknowledgment.

Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2016

Another Newfoundland hotel that appears outdated, but was clean and well maintained so it was not an issue. Our rooms had interior and exterior access. Wifi was fast, and no other issues with stay. Comfortable mattress. Minor musty smell but nothing excessive. Slightly expensive given quality but so are other hotels in Newfoundland. Would stay again if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PolarBear777
Sterling C, Hotel management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us . Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are glad that your stay was a good one. We have had a particularly wet/damp spring/summer which may account for the slight musty odor but I assure you the matter has been brought to the attention of our executive housekeeper...

Launceston, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

We were prepared to tolerate a noisy airconditioning unit outside the window, the view of a wall belonging to the next building, the stuffy corridors in need of maintenance, & the surliness of some of the staff. But, we were very disappointed that after asking a number of staff we were unable to obtain an electric kettle or jug to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feralchicks
Sterling C, Hotel management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you have had the opportunity to travel in our province and I am concerned that somewhere during your travels you have had the misfortune of staying at a property such as the one you describe. In defence of St. Jude Hotel however and based I your comments I strongly suspect you must have us confused with...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We ended up staying here because the Trailside Inn in Goobies really let us down by canceling our reservations a mere 8 days ahead of our stay. The stay at St Jude worked in our favour though. It is a very clean and well kept hotel. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the addition of a gas fireplace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magicken2016
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the valued feedback on your recent stay with us. Thanks for responding. We are pleased that your overall experience was a good one and that our service for the most part was quite sufficient however we are concerned that there was a deficiency in wait staff service in our restaurant. Your comments have been taken seriously and measures...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 25 June 2016

The building is right on the Trans Canada Highway 1 and within an hour and a half from St. John's. It has an assortment of well appointed rooms which should satisfy all travellers. The onsite restaurant serves a variety of different cuisines at a reasonable cost. There are a number of points of interest within a short driving distance of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WallysReviews
Sterling C, Hotel Management at St. Jude Hotel, responded to this review

Your kind comments are very much appreciated. We strive to maintain clean, comfortable accommodations and quality service. Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge us as a convenient place to stay while travelling in the Clarenville area.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarenville
1.0 km away
Clarenville Inn
Clarenville Inn
#1 of 4 in Clarenville
126 reviews
1.4 km away
Restland Motel
Restland Motel
#4 of 4 in Clarenville
44 reviews
33.7 km away
Kilmory Resort
Kilmory Resort
#1 of 1 in Swift Current
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
St. Jude Hotel is a Canada Select 3 1/2 star award winning property located on the Trans Canada Highway in the town of Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador. St. Jude Hotel provides a great base from which to explore the historic Discovery Trail with its numerous tourist attractions. We are located within half an hour of major industrial sites including: Bull Arm Offshore Fabrication Facility, Whiffen Head Trans-Shipment Terminal and North Atlantic Refinery. We are open all year round and have a full service restaurant. ... more   less 

Additional Information about St. Jude Hotel

Address: 247 Trans Canada Hwy, Clarenville, Newfoundland and Labrador A5A 1Y4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Clarenville
Price Range: $143 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Jude Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your St. Jude Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Jude Hotel Clarenville, Newfoundland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from St. Jude Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If booking under ATV package check to see when your restaurant voucher is good for”
 of 5 bubbles a1efht78, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the highway side. The views from the third floor are pretty nice.”
 of 5 bubbles magicken2016, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The third floor seems quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ericg0wins, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms at the front on the lower level and even with the highway we found it to be very quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles 830conniem, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Awesome. Everything is always clean and comfortable. Excellent service. ”
 of 5 bubbles thelma_pederson, 17 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay