Melia Jardines del Rey

Melia Jardines del Rey

Pizza en el snack pizzería
Traveller (9695)
Panorama of the Activities Pool at the Melia Jardines del Rey
360
Panoramas (88)
Pool at night
Pool & Beach (2984)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#6 of 14 hotels in Cayo Coco
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid internet
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Tennis court
Babysitting
Parking
Internet
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available

Location

Carretera A Cayo Guillermo Km 9, 69400 Cuba
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles8,033 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Melia Jardines del Rey hotel garners appreciation for its stunning beaches, pools, and lively entertainment, though it occasionally faces maintenance hiccups. While rooms are often described as clean, some guests have encountered cleanliness issues and slow service response. Opinions on value diverge; some commend the affordability, whereas others find the cost unjustified. The hotel's atmosphere buzzes with live music, catering to those seeking both excitement and tranquility. Service is generally regarded as warm and attentive, and the location offers serene views, despite the occasional overly breezy conditions.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Unkempt
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
8,033Reviews1,776Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,873
  • 1,874
  • 1,033
  • 633
  • 620
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Just_Ask_O wrote a review Mar 2020
Toronto
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As I got closer to my travel date the reviews seemed to get worse, all I could do is hope for the best and prepare for the worse

I packed extra towels, plastic utensil, small packets of salt, pepper, and ketchup, and light snacks. I shouldn’t have to for a 4-4.5 star hotel, but figured it’s best to be safe than sorry and relieved I did as I used everything while there

My friends and I decided to take a taxi to the hotel and glad we did as we avoided a lineup and bizarre check in process. We literally got checked in within 2-3mins at the front desk

Nothing spectacular about the room, pretty basic. The temperature of the water in the shower fluctuated from hot to cold, but wasn’t surprised as I had read in past reviews this was common. Eventually, I had to change rooms after my third night as my room flooded while I was out during the evening. Despite the inconvenience, I was happy I got moved within 10-15mins. Everything worked fine in the second room. Never had an issue getting bottled water daily and room cleaned

I didn’t eat as much on this trip as the food was unappealing. Wait times for grilled food, omelette station, pasta and pizza were long so I didn’t bother. Everything else tasted like canned food, old, and recycled. None of the a la carte restaurants were anything great to brag about and some were noticeably understaffed. Never had an issue with drinks, all bar staff were friendly

The entertainment during the day was either non existent or lacked energy and at night was boring. There were two or three nights music and dancing took place near the lobby, but always shut down early

The beach is beautiful and pool was nice to have drinks and relax

If you’re traveling with friends you’ll make the most of it. If you got a really good deal and all you care about is warm weather, beach, and drinks, then you’ll be fine. Overall, it wasn’t terrible, everyone was nice and I did have fun, but I still wouldn’t go back. There’s too many inconsistencies with quality of food, service, and maintenance of the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear Just_Ask_O, First of all I would like to offer my thanks for sending us your appreciations about your recent stay at our hotel. For us the comments of our clients will always be welcome since these help us to manage improvements in order to offer a better service every day. I would like to explain that our check-in system is not strange at all. In order to offer better comfort to our clients upon arrival, we carry out a group check-in in one of our air-conditioned rooms to avoid waiting time for them standing in front of the counter, only their passports are taken for a few minutes to register in the system while receiving all the information, and immediately these are returned. However, in case someone prefer the conventional procedure and waiting for their turn standing in front of the counter they can ask the staff in charge. We have really presented breakdowns at times that have affected the temperature of the water in some blocks, but this is something that has been resolved as it has been presented. In any case, we see that before the inconveniences our staff has shown the willingness to help and it is good to know that the room for which you were changed was fine and you received all the services. I would like you to know that we keep working on improving control and organization supervision to minimize the queues generated in some services during peak hours and during busy times. We also work to improve our food supply, although sometimes it is difficult to live up to the tastes of so many and varied visitors, to this is the fact that sometimes we present problems with external suppliers and others related to economic blockade. We will analyze with our animation staff the fulfillment of the program established in this effect and we will be looking for the necessary improvements so that our activities continue to be liked by all our clients. I apologize because our hotel could not meet 100% of your expectations and I hope to receive it again in the future and be able to overcome the experience you have lived. Thank you. Best regards, Victor M. Zalvide López General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony2332 wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I will first start by saying that this was my first trip to Cuba and travelled with very low expectations. It was definitely a budget trip so I had no delusions of what to expect. What I expected were clean rooms, a nice beach and decent food. I think that in reality I received two out of three of those.
The room was very basic, but clean and nicely decorated. I did have a toilet issue when I arrived, after calling it took 12 hrs for no one to show up and I had to go to customer service in person. It was "fixed", then not working again two flushes later. But by my second full day it was working...Yay? Also my tv didn't have an plug or even a wire to plug it in. I didn't complain about that though, had no interest in watching television, just very odd I thought. My cleaning lady was very personable and did a great job, I left gifts for her daily and she seemed to appreciate them.
The beach was the most beautiful I have ever seen, whether it be Mexico, Jamaica or Dominican, I can say I liked this the most. That's really about it. Soft white sand, clear water and lots of wildlife to observe if that's your thing.
The food was the worst part. Its not that it was gross, it just had no flavour at all, I don't really know how to describe it, I just didn't like it and ate very little all week. In fact I actually lost 10lbs on this trip because I ate so little. I also didn't love the fact that there were no menus of any kind at bars for drinks, or snack bars for food. The servers just came over and asked what you would like, and I had to ask what they even had because it changed daily. I did like the ice cream shop, it was a nice touch.
The staff seemed very friendly, and were willing to help in any way they could. The check-in process was awful and they insisted on taking passports away, which I didn't like at all.
Overall it wasn't a terrible vacation, knowing what to expect is half the battle I think, but then again should a vacation be like that at all? I am pretty sure I would never return to this hotel with my wife, she would hate the food, but would consider it with my son if the price was right. I would not recommend this if you usually travel to 4 star or above hotels in other Caribbean countries.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear Tony2332, It is always a pleasure for us to have the opinions of our customers. Know that the opinions of our clients are always welcome and we take them in high consideration since you help us improve our work. We see that in general he had a good holiday, but we are very sorry for the inconvenience of maintenance in the room. When we look in our customer feedback system we cannot find specifically where you were under the name shown in these comments and for the period of January several coincidences appear. In any case, it is good to know that even if it was supposed to present any problem, it is nice to know that the problem of the bathroom was finally solved, it would have been good if I had reported the problem with the cable of the TV and thus have been able to solve it in a timely manner. Once again we thank you for the comments and hope you visit us in the future and thus exceed your expectations. Best regards, Leonardo Daniel Balduzzi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Betty C wrote a review Feb 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed from Jan. 15th to the 28th and found this resort to be of great value.
Ease of check in with Orlando at the front desk run by very professional staff and access to many electrical carts makes getting to your room and around easy. Thank you Sergei for all your service and friendship. We send a big Thank You to every staff member at the Melia who treated us so very well. These are genuine and caring people
The girls in the Wifi office were wonderful. The lobby bar staff are top notch & professional and put up with alot. We must compliment the buffet, a la carte, pool and beach restaurant staff and give them a 5 star rating.
We were impressed with the management's choice of having so many local and very talented musicians available consistently in the lobby and pool areas. A great touch!
Our room in building 9 was perfect and no complaints. Our cleaning lady was great!
The only thing we would recommend is a change in how the main buffet is set up. The 4 stations in the centre offering the same food choices does jam up the people trying to get around that area and the grilling stations. Two long buffet centres with more room around them would give better flow. We didn't choose to eat there due to the traffic but found lots of other places to dine. Loved the great morning coffees served at the pool snack bar.
There are lots of little bar/drink stations set up so look around and find these oasis.
This was our 7th time to Cuba. The first to Cayo Coco and really folks; this is one beautiful part of the country. Take a short trip to Playa Pilar to experience one of the best beaches in the world. You can use the hop on bus or book an excursion as we did and found it a wonderful outing with a very good lunch.
Right beside the hotel is a market area with a pretty cool bowling/games place. We also made appointments at the Spa there and had wonderful service from Mary's hair and manicure/pedicure Salon. My husband thinks we should go there monthly for his hair and trim appointment!
So, thank you Melia Des Jardines for a wonderful vacation. Wishing you all the Best!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Dear Betty C, Thank you very much for the time you spent writing your excellent comments after vacationing at our hotel and also for posting them on this website. We have taken note of your suggestions and will make sure to forward them to our staff that will be willing to help build an even more enjoyable vacation for future clients. All recommendations are appreciated and measures will be taken to offer a better experience. Know that the comments of our customers are always well received and help us improve, so we always share them with the entire team. We assure you that we will recognize the staff of all the departments you mention. We hope you visit us again sometime in the future so you can see all the changes already made. Best regards, Leonardo Daniel Balduzzi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex wrote a review Jan 2020
Montreal, Canada
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Its was my 3rd time in Cuba and the past 2 times were perfect for Cuba-Quality. Cuba is known for poor food variety and maintenance but this hotel is far from all the other hotels in cuba. I stayed at Hotel Melia Jardines Del Ray in Cuba Cayo Coco from December 26th to January 5th. This hotel is a real disaster, very poor customer service and staff very rude. First of all, upon my arrival, the door lock wasn't working and we were unable to get in the room. We had to wait around 45minutes for the lock technician. Once we were finally inside, the toilet wasn't flushing, was leaking and was making very loud noises 24/7. I went to see the customer service the next morning and they promised me that they will fix it. I came back at least 2 other times and the toilet was not fixed. The cleaning lady simply put a towel beside the toilet to stop the water from reaching the room. Second of all, half of the resort was not working, pools were empty and it was like if the resort was abandoned. The public toilets were broken, dirty and overfilled… The food at the buffet was cold most of the time and the dishes were dirty. Some of the « clean » plates had pieces of food on them. Most of the meat was raw. Line-ups were extremely long, 30-40 minutes for a cup of coffee in the lobby bar. Regarding the beach, there weren't enough chairs for everyone even if you will come early in the morning. Most of them were broken and missing parts. If you wanted a chair, the beach guy was telling you to just sit on the ground or go get one from the pool area by yourself, which is pretty far from the beach. The beach was wonderful but when the wind was strong, weird odor of human wastes was noticeable.

I attached some pics as reference.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Jan 7, 2020
Dear arialx14, Dear Alex, we really appreciate all your comments and it is very important for us to know them since it allows us to provide feedback and redirect our work. The comments of our customers also show to our future visitors about the type of product we offer and help them make their decisions. We sincerely apologize since we could not meet all your travel expectations as it really is always our intention. In his comments we see that you had several problems related to the bad work of the personnel from different departments involved. In addition, as we can see, they are mostly aspects that depend on the performance of the staff and should not have happened. Poor supervision and organization of work by the personnel in charge is clearly visible. We would have liked to have had your reports in our customer feedback system so that we could direct our analysis, but unfortunately we do not have these since under the name shown in this comment there are many coincidences for the indicated stay. We can assure you that we will conduct a strict analysis with all our department heads and these will be made known to all our workers. We look forward to your visit again; we assure you that we will strive to change your bad experiences. Cordially Luis García Portero General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RT_1741 wrote a review Mar 2020
Peterborough, Canada
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here December 2019. I booked 3 rooms for a total of seven family members.
The vacation got off to an awful start right from the first step off the bus. All you could smell was sewage. Within 20 minutes there were multiple people with headaches and migraines. The smell did not dissipate the entire trip and seemed far worse near the main lobby and theater area.
The food was OK if you could get it. The restaurants were constantly running out of food. It got so bad they stopped handing out menus and would just tell you what food they had.
Our building ran out of water 6 of our 7 days there. We never once had hot water. The toilets in the room were gross. It was like an out house toilet. Couple that with no running water and you get the ugly picture.
There were multiple days where the maids either forgot to give us clean towels or they ran out of clean towels and brought them up later in the night. The mini bar consists of two beer and two Caribbean pop. It was missed being filled on a few occasions.
The rooms and buildings themselves were OK but a bit run down. There were holes in the hallway walls. It took two hands to close one of our room doors because it was warped so bad. My wife could not close this door.
The kids area looked awful. They had an inflatable castle that would never hold air. It looked like such a disappointment. My kids are older so I can't comment any further on this area.
The boardwalk to the beach was a death trap. It was missing all kinds of boards and railing. I'll attach some pictures if I can figure out how.
The only reason this place gets two stars is the staff and the beach. Most of the staff were great and the beach is very nice.
I could not recommend anyone spend money to stay at this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Building 19 was almost beachfront and kind of close to the pool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Dear RT_1741, First of all I thank you for letting us know your comments about your stay at our facility. Although these types of comments are not the desired one, they are also well received because they constitute a feedback tool and allow us to know failures in our service. It is very heartbreaking to see that we could not meet the travel expectation of some of our clients. All your observations will be informed and analyzed to all staff. Unfortunately we do not have any report of your stay that makes reference to all these inconveniences so that we could make a more effective analysis with those responsible for them. The feedback of your stay could not be located since the name shown in your comments does not match any in our system. When customers want that we take improvement measures against those who incurred inconveniences that affected the total satisfaction of their stay, they must provide us with more accurate information so that we can act on them. Anyway, from the moment of your stay in our hotel to currency date, many improvements in every way have been made and we are sure that many of these inconvenient, if they have in fact occurred, have already been resolved. We apologize for not having lived up to you and hopefully we can change such a bad experience if you decide to visit us once more. Thank you. Best regards, Victor M. Zalvide López General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike M wrote a review Jan 2020
Hamilton, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was there the week of Jan.19-26 i am not gonna write you a novel about my stay but a out line of resort.
My second time to this resort in past two years and what i noticed was a big drop in service and quality of food. Service was spotty at buffet restaurant but fine at beach and lobby area ,the resort itself is fine and the beach is exceptional the best part of resort.
The room and cleaning was good mini bar was not stocked every day had to call or visit customer service to get results.the resort was not busy when i was there, just imagine if it was 90% full it would off been nightmare throughout your stay to get restaurant and bar service also there is not enough of lounging chairs at beach and pool ?not sure why a resort of this size does not have chairs for clients also bring bug spray if you decide to come here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Dear Mike M, We want to thank you very much for allowing us to have the feedback of your stay. The comments of our customers are always welcome and allow us to find our weaknesses and thus act on their improvement. Even when we found the details of your stay we did not find any report made by your room during your stay. We understand that perhaps you did not report anything or that perhaps it was not properly managed by our Reception and Customer Service staff. We know that even when we are working to achieve greater acceptance of our food offer, it is still insufficient given the wide variety of tastes of our diverse visitors. In addition we have also presented irregularities with external suppliers. The inconsistency in the service in the buffet that you appreciated will be analyzed with the staff of that department since this is something that clearly depends on the performance of our workers and any failure in this regard is due to the possible lack of supervision and control, the same I can say the mini bar replenishment service. On the other hand we would like you to know that we know that in times of high occupancy and large affluence of customers at the same time to the beach or the pool an appreciation of sunbeds is appreciated, but efforts are already being made to acquire a larger number, of course, against this it also attempts that many of these are broken because they are not cared for by those who use them. We regret once again not having lived up to what a customer like you deserves and we offer our sincerest apologies. We look forward to your visit again. Feel free to contact us before. Best regards, Leonardo Daniel Balduzzi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David M wrote a review Jan 2020
Durham, Canada
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where to start, we’ll we booked this resort and paid for the extras which included a bottle whether it be rum or wine, stocked bar daily, water, house coat and slippers, beach towels and a cocktail party which we ended up not seeing upon our arrival. Check in was ok, we get to our room and we have one towel to use. The toilet doesn’t work! Great so we call down to the from desk, they send someone over a half and hour later and it kind of works. This could be a lengthy review so I’ll break it down.
Bar fridge stocked twice, water bottle 4 times. Towels arrived at 10 that night while we were sleeping??? Toilet doesn’t work again and no water 3 days in total. Front door sometimes does not lock behind you, we figured out how to fix this but did the chamber maids know? No the didn’t, came back to our room and it was open. Safe wasn’t working, just needed new batteries. Now the buffet, breakfast lunch and dinner we saw carrots, peas and hotdogs, yummy no it wasn’t. They had other stuff as well but never the less the same day in day out. They ran out of bread a lot and what buns weren’t eaten the night before was used for breakfast, rock stale rock hard buns. Cleanliness well we saw plates cups and bowls go into the kitchen to be cleaned, the plates came back less then clean. Well the glasses were another story, they would go to there waiter stations get dunked in a basin of water and a table cloth was used to clean and polish them. I’m thinking the silver ware was to as I never saw them head into the kitchen. So I get my wife a Fanta while she’s doing up her plate, when I get back I asked her did you have some of your drink to which she replied nope. So those aren’t your lip prints then.
The pictures on the website are very outdated, it dose look as vibrant it’s in fact very tired and in need of some renovation. If it weren’t for the several couples we have met there and enjoyed hanging with it would of been a miserable time.
In short the couples we hung out with were able to get passes to some other Melia resorts on Cayo Coco for the day and were pleasantly surprised, I would suggest Melia Cayo Coco is a place to check out.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Dear davidmB9477DA, We would like you to accept our apologies for not having met your travel expectations. We would like you to know that the comments of our customers are always welcome since they help us improve our work since they act as a feedback tool. We assure you that we will analyze all your comments with each of our departments involved in these. Unfortunately we do not have all the feedback of your stay in our systems, it would have been useful since we could have directed our actions more accurately. We will analyze with Customer Service the reason for the absence of reports of all these inconveniences if we read from you that some of these were reported. Although the list you mention is large and gives us a lot of grief, we can guarantee that everything is a bad job and staff performance and especially the lack of supervision, organization, control and management. Each and every one of the aspects will be touched closely and we will not be delinquent in the measures for the eradication of any irregularity that we can verify from your observations. We reiterate our apologies and ask you to allow us to have you back with us in order to provide a service so that we can erase such bad criteria of our facility and staff. Do not hesitate to contact us beforehand, we will be happy to assist you. Best regards, Leonardo Daniel Balduzzi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
COLIN W wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently spent 3 nights here while on a Trip A Deal tour, while the place looks great we had a few issues. Our toilet didn’t flush which meant we had to fill a bucket with water and manually flush, this was a common issue amongst our tour group. One day we didn’t get fresh towels and despite calling & going to customer services office they still weren’t sent. We had no remote for the TV and reported that a few times but didn’t get one, when we mentioned that to others many said they had a remote but no batteries in it. Also the water doesn’t drain from the shower so two people having a shower becomes a strategic situation.

The pools were great and bar staff gave great service. Eating at the buffet needs planning, you are best to get in early and beat the rush.
The beach is great, the colours in the water are so vivid and there are activities such as sailing available.

Note, we had the offer to move rooms half way in our visit but as others in our tour group had similar problems we decided not to move. We feel the place requires some basic maintenance and rooms should be checked prior to putting guests in them.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Mar 24, 2020
Dear Colin W, I want to thank you for sending us your comments about your recent stay at our facility. We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. Your comments, like that of the rest of our clients, are always welcome since these constitute an important feedback tool to improve our work. Each of the inconveniences that you mention will be discussed with all the departments involved. Upon receiving your comments we took on the task of finding the feedback of your stay in our customer feedback system and we only found two reports made for your room; one of A/C operation and another related to the toilet flush, in both cases our Customer Service department sent the responsible personnel to give these a solution and they carried out their work, unfortunately once our staff from Customer Service tried to contact you via telephone to find out your degree of compliance with the solutions this was not possible. On the other hand, we do not have reports or complaints related to the rest of the inconveniences that you rise. We know that we have some faults in the buffet service and our chef, sub chefs and service supervisors are involved in these, and in fact there are always progressive improvements in this regard. It is also no less true that the supervision of the entrance rooms has sometimes failed due to the poor performance of some of our workers and supervisors, but this is something that has also been analyzed and the measures are always taken so that these are not repeated. As I have already said, we will continue working every day to achieve improvements in all aspects and to be able to provide an increasingly better service with a view to the total satisfaction of all our visitors. We sincerely apologize for our inability to meet your travel expectations and look forward to providing you with a superior service on your future visit to our hotel if you allow us. Thank you for being with us. Best regards, Victor M. Zalvide López General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Evgenia wrote a review Jan 2020
Calgary, Canada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
It was the first time in Cayo Coco. The hotel area is clean, very well-kept lawns, lots of flowers and greenery. The buffet is clean, the food is delicious, the hotel workers are trying to diversify. There is bad coffee in the buffet, but in the bar is delicious. I wish there was self-service tea.
 Once in the buffet on the beach there were very dirty dishes, maybe due to the influx of vacationers, maybe for some reason, but it still did not spoil our vacation.
Thanks to the staff, it is clear that everyone is trying. But in the snack bar, rude bartenders, bad cocktails. It’s not nice, but God will judge them :) Also we waited almost an hour in the same bar and got cold and bad hot dogs. We were there only once, and we didn’t go there again.
I didn’t like the Cuban restaurant on the beach, they waited 1 hour, brought rice and chicken, which was already so tired ... they forgot about the soup, maybe it’s already over. Still, the restaurant should not be located in the buffet, the atmosphere is not the same. And even beautiful plates do not save.
I liked the Mexican and Oriental restaurants. The service is good, fast, professional. Both restaurants have air conditioning. In the Mexican restaurant the guys are great, near each table they perform songs!!!
Take repellents with you, midges and mosquitoes are found especially in the evening. Protective cream +50 required!
The sea and the beach are super! Ice cream is perfect!!!!
In general, we liked the rest! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Jan 21, 2020
Dear EeveniaG, How good and comforting it is for us to know that the inconveniences you had did not spoil your total satisfaction. We know that even when it is not the hotel policy, there are a few workers who engage in inappropriate behavior, unfortunately we do not have timely reports in this regard so that we can identify them and take appropriate measures. Of course, many inconveniences concerning the lack of products, non-compliance with the procedures, poor quality of service and products are due to in a large extent that supervision and control by our managers of the areas is not carried out as established. We can assure you that we have been directing our actions towards these aspects for some time and surely our future visitors will experience a radical change. We thank you for allowing us to have your comments and for having shared them in this social forum. We will interchange them all with our workers. We look forward to your visit in the future and we will strive to exceed your expectations. Best regards, Leonardo Daniel Balduzzi General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc S wrote a review Feb 2020
Dalhousie, Canada
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We were at this resort From February 19th to the 26th, this was our nineteen time in Cuba so we knew was to expect. When our bus arrived we were all sent in a very hot room for the booking, no well come drink to cool off this was a first for us!

Our room was great the only problem was with the water going from very cold to scorching hot in a blink of an eye very dangerous. For two days our room wasn’t clean and we only received clean towels two days in all the week. Mini bar in the room was not replenished all week.

The beach is very lovely and the water is crystal clear the only problem is there are not enough beach chairs, if you want a beach chair you have to be on the beach by 7:00 a.m. Most people are there for the beach so why the lacked of chairs?

Food was ok, I would say we didn’t go hungry but as for cleanest in the buffet we notice lots of dishes were not clean properly and it make you wonder about the rest?

The hotel seem to be short of staffs in all there department as you have waiting lines for all services you need to be patient. This is not the fault of the Cuban workers as they work very hard, I blame Hotel owner trying to squeeze every penny and the workers are feeling this effect of this practice.

We were told the hotel is only six years but it sure in need of lots of repair “lighting in the outside at night, furniture in the lobby need to be replace, broken till on the floor in different area “.

A special thanks to Rodney in the buffet for the excellent service and to all the other workers for doing their best while being short staff and to the Melia hotel owner you should wake up and start staffing the hotel with enough staff to properly administrate this resort.

We had stayed at different Melia hotels in Cuba and this one was a bite disappointing compare to the five first we had stayed. Would I go back definitely not?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GralManager, Director General at Melia Jardines del Rey
Responded Mar 3, 2020
Dear mascj, First I want to express my apologies for our inability to meet your travel expectations. Comments like yours are welcome as they help us improve our work. Each observation of yours will be shared with all staff. I would like you to know that with a view to offering greater comfort to our customers during check-in, we carry out this procedure in one of our air-conditioned rooms. This is only in cases of the arrival of large groups of customers, but anyone who does not want this procedure can request the conventional and wait their queue in front of the front desk. We cannot find your feedback by the name shown in these comments, but in any case we will be carrying out the analysis with the accommodation and maintenance staff about the inconveniences in your room. We are convinced that we will act in the management of the necessary improvements regarding these incidents and others that we can detect or corroborate. However, it would be funny if I knew that due to occasional breakdown, the regulation of the water temperature in your block was affected, but this has been timely addressed. We know that at times rush of high affluence of customers to the beach the number of sunbeds becomes insufficient, but to this is added the fact that some of these have been broken due to poor care by some customers. In any case, we are waiting to receive a greater number of these from efforts that have been made. The observation about the state of the dishes in the buffet was analyzed with the service supervisor and we are sure that the measures for an improvement in this aspect have been taken. We will carry out an analysis with all those responsible for areas and the supervisors of the different services to act against the generation of queues in some services in some consumption points. We know that during high occupancy this can happen, but good supervision, control and organization can greatly improve it. We thank you for the kindness of posting your comments on our social website and we look forward to receiving you again and offering you a stay that can erase the inconveniences you experienced. Best regards, Victor M. Zalvide López General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cayo Coco, Cuba2 contributions5 helpful votes
Dear customer, thank you so much for your message and for taking us into account for your upcoming stay. Please, keep in mind that we depend on some external suppliers for having our products. looking forward to welcoming you soon
jeric1974 asked a question Apr 2024
Warkworth, Canada4 contributions10 helpful votes
Travelling from Canada arriving this coming Thursday do I need a travel adaptor t charge my phone?
Cayo Coco, Cuba2 contributions5 helpful votes
Hello dear client, thank you so much fro your message and for taking us into account. We do hope you have had a great stay with us.
not impressed asked a question Mar 2024
2 contributions4 helpful votes
are there pedal boats for use?
Cayo Coco, Cuba2 contributions5 helpful votes
Dear customer, certainly there are non motorized sports included like pedaloes. Hoping to see you soon
Cayo Coco, Cuba2 contributions5 helpful votes
Dear family4dieppe, thank you so much for your message and for taking us into account. The WIFI only available in lobby.
Cayo Coco, Cuba2 contributions5 helpful votes
Dear Alexis M, thank you so much for your message and for taking us into account. The nightclub is not part of our hotel, it is a 5-minute walk away and has an extra cost.
Gabriela B wrote a tip Jul 11
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring bug spray during rainy season Bring water shoes if your feet are sensitive, as there are some rocks when you enter the water"
Read full review
Mary U wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go there . I recommend it "
Read full review
Elena c wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go in may … mosquitos will eat you alive. It is absolutely horrible … and there’s no way for me to really express how horrific it is.."
Read full review
Ivan G wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A great climate, the beautiful beach and its workers the best"
Read full review
Tina L wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great time in Cuba. Employees go beyond to insure your stay is enjoyable even with all the shortages. They work so hard. Always found som"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cayo Coco area.
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaCiego de Avila ProvinceJardines del Rey ArchipelagoCayo Coco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,176
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Melia Jardines del Rey - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Jardines del Rey
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Jardines del Rey?
Nearby attractions include Birdwatching with Paulino Lopez Delgado (7.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Jardines del Rey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Jardines del Rey?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Jardines del Rey?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Jardines del Rey?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Jardines del Rey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ranchon Playa Flamenco, Ranchon Las Dunas, and Melia Hotel Cayo Guillermo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Jardines del Rey?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Melia Jardines del Rey have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Melia Jardines del Rey offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Melia Jardines del Rey have airport transportation?
Yes, Melia Jardines del Rey offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Jardines del Rey?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Jardines del Rey offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
All Cayo Coco HotelsCayo Coco Hotel DealsHotels near Melia Jardines del Rey
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars