We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

A Room with a View

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wongarra
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
A Room with a View
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of A Room with a View
 Click to rate
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Hosts were wonderfully friendly and helpful, giving us tips for what to see in the area and the best way to reach them. The location is quiet and scenic, with plenty of wildlife, especially birds (my favourite!). It's an ideal place to stay if you're interested in doing a few things in the area, like forest walks and visiting 12...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie D
BohemeApolloBay, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Very glad to hear that you appreciated some the gorgeous natural things on offer here like the abundant birdlife. And very relieved that our bed was comfy for you. Really hope we get to see you again cheers angelika

London, England
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Windy tarmac road goes uphill all the way to the property, so fine for hire cars. Friendly hosts with an excellent breakfast (charged extra) each morning. Koalas in the garden and impressive sea view. Got good recommendations for a trip to the nearby spectacular Beauchamp Waterfall, amongst other places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul113
BohemeApolloBay, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative review. It was a pleasure hosting your stay. Hope you really enjoyed your holiday in Australia and that we have you return visit !

Reviewed 9 March 2017

A Room with a View is Paradise! Wonderful view (as promised), yummy breakfasts, clean, roomy and well appointed accommodation. The wildlife and peace and quiet are unlike anything I've experienced. Garry and Angelika are friendly and generous hosts who make you feel very at ease. I've already been recommending this place since returning from the Great Ocean Road. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Astrid A
BohemeApolloBay, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Thank you Lisa and Aidan... this is my second attempt at a response as the first one seemed to have failed but really appreciated your lovely comments. Hope we get to see you again cheers angelika

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

My little boy loved this accommodation so much he said he would give it 6 stars if TripAdvisor allowed him. Some highlights from our stay: 1. Luxurious accommodation. The room was beautifully done up, with all the modern comforts. You will need to bring your own shower gel if you prefer that to soap though. The toilet has its own...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank speeddolphin
BohemeApolloBay, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially your son. The wildlife never ceases to be a joy for us also. I am sorry about the lack of WiFi and wish you had mentioned it to me as I can make wifi available in our office,...

Burlington, CT
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had a marvelous stay at this well-designed guest house on the hill outside of Apollo Bay. It was a windy road, but when we arrived we had a very lovely two-story apartment-like guest room with amazing views from the deck and lofted bedroom. We appreciated the music CDs available for our use and found some great classics to listen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We have been returning to A Room With A View over the past few years. We wanted to find an escape from Melbourne and our busy lives, where we could unwind and step away from the city rat race. We love looking at the ocean so A Room With A View seemed a great match. However we have found it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
ARWAView, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts about us and our wonderful area (especially 'cos I know how busy you are). It's always lovely to have the two J's visit with the two B's. Really hope there are many times ahead cheers Angelika

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2016

The room was perfect! I stayed here with my mum as a birthday getaway and we loved it. The room was clean, view was breathtaking and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. it was very warm and homely. The spa bath was incredible too! We paid for the cooked breakfast each morning which were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caitlynleggett
ARWAView, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Caitlyn. It was equally delightful to meet you and your mum. Really hope we get another opportunity to host you again, it's people like yourselves that make running a B&B so enjoyable. cheers angelika

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here four years ago and loved it so much we decided to come back. We stayed in the larger room again, which was great - an amazing view. We barely went outside the whole weekend as it was so relaxing sitting looking out over the ocean plus the bed is super comfy. It is very quiet here too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
ARWAView, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

We were really chuffed to have your return visit and pleased we still lived up to expectations. You are model guests and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with others. Really hope we get another opportunity to host your stay... I know you've enjoyed the 2storey suite but the studios are not a compromise. I...

Cartagena District, Colombia
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We were looking for an ocean-view hotel or room and we certainly found it! Breath taking view from both the room and livingroom. We greatly enjoyed our stay there and our lazy breakfast on the porch while bird and view watching! Breakfast was delicious and it was quite a treat for Angelika to show us that there was a koala...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luz S
ARWAView, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to pen a review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I look forward to another meeting. Either with your return visit to the Great Ocean Road or perhaps we will one day sail over to the Caribbean to visit your hotel :)

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

I am writing this review more than a year after I spent two nights at this delightful place. I was travelling with a friend for the Cricket World Cup 2015 and we planned to stay over for a couple of days. However, my friend had to rush to Melbourne urgently. Angelika was extremely helpful in guiding us to find the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BhaktaPatnaik
ARWAView, Owner at A Room with a View, responded to this review

Really appreciate your kind words after all this time, Bahkta. It was an absolute delight to meet you and enjoyed our conversation of your wonderful homeland. Absolutely thrilled that you are considering a return visit with your family

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wongarra
11.0 km away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
603 reviews
11.1 km away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
11.3 km away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 19 in Apollo Bay
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 2 in Wongarra
124 reviews
13.3 km away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
281 reviews
11.5 km away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 19 in Apollo Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Indulge all the senses at A Room with a View B&B with glorious views, an amazing, natural playlist of birdsong, a soothing, bubbly spa, the aroma of freshly made espresso and croissants.... and of course tasting them along with a number of other culinary temptations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about A Room with a View

Address: 280 Sunnyside Rd, Wongarra, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3234, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay > Wongarra
Price Range: $176 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Room with a View 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from A Room with a View staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best to talk to the hosts to determine the best room option i.e. if you need a kitchenette”
656annmaried, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pay (a little) extra for the cooked breakfast”
  • The eastside studio suite
caitlynleggett, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you are travelling the great ocean road then this place is a must stop”
  • Floor to ceiling window showing the garden and beyond
nookie28, 29 Nov 2013 | Read review
“All (both?) will have great views and great breakfasts. Just be sure to book ahead”
Brian_de_Kilburn, 6 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If in the area stay here, it is away from the crowds but well worth it!”
conotoxin, 14 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5