We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Indian Ocean Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Indian Ocean Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of Indian Ocean Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We needed a place to stay for the night to attended a Cousins Wedding at The Floreat Surf Life saving Club. We teeded who whether to stay home and uber, but when we calculated the price return to the Wedding it was ridiculous. So the hunt began. I discovered The Indian Ocean Hotel that offered a room for $98. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carley R
Manager_IOH_IndiBar, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carley, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are all so pleased that you had such a great stay. I remember talking to you and your partner when you checked out on Saturday morning, please say hi next time you come to stay! Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Western Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over the years I have stayed at the Indian Ocean many times for numerous reasons. Great to see they are upgrading the rooms. As a family of five we struggle to find accommodation that is value for money - the Indian Ocean offers this for us. The kids love the free movie channels and they have a pool, I like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hewieandco
Manager_IOH_IndiBar, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Hewieandco, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We're very pleased you had a good stay and appreciate the value for money we offer. You are correct, we are continually making improvements to the rooms, bistro and bar to modernise our property. Thanks for noticing! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Nic...

York, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and i stayed here for a night and loved the place, yes the decor is a bit dated but Was clean and tidy .The staff were very good and welcoming, we have stayed at more expensive hotels and the level of cleanliness left alot to be desired next time we're in perth will definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horeta101
Manager_IOH_IndiBar, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Horeta101, Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you can appreciate our value for money and cleanliness. I'll be sure to praise the housekeepers who do a wonderful job. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 17 February 2017

I booked a 5 day business trip at the Indian Pacific Hotel in Perth and paid in full before I got there. Upon arrival I was asked for my credit card in case I broke or stole something. I then proceeded to order room service as it's a long trip from Melbourne which was rejected because I'd booked on line....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoff924
Manager_IOH_IndiBar, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Geoff924, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We ask all of our guests for a $100 bond on arrival which, as you say, is standard practice in Australia. This is used in case of incidental purchases. I'm sorry that this offended you. There is no reason why you weren't able to order room service, do...

Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The people were great, room was good, hotel is dated 1970's, had a great time YET you could smell the oily odor of the restaurant "all the way to the 5th floor". Reception and staff were outstanding and Indi Bar inviting if you like a few cold beers and loud music.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BaliN0W
Manager_IOH_IndiBar, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi BaliNOW, I'm glad you liked our staff and your room. We are constantly upgrading our rooms to improve the standard experienced by our guests. We are rated a 3.5 star hotel by official accreditation. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

This hotel is only for those who sees their budget before their comfort. Nothing much to discuss.Attached bar is good yeah. Overall avoid if you can or if you have got tight budget then it's not a bad place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yudhvir Y
Sydney
Reviewed 10 February 2017

If you are looking for a groovy experience in very-hipster Scarborough this isn't for you; if - like us - you are looking for a budget-priced, clean, bright, BIG room with a view of the ocean and only about 200m to the beach, go for it! We had a 5th-floor room + balcony overlooking the beer garden/pool and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PippinCat
Manager_IOH_IndiBar, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for such a wonderful review, we're glad you had such a good time. We'll pass your kind words on to all the staff- it'll definitely make them smile. Hoping to see you again, Kind regards, Ciara

Reviewed 22 January 2017

Good for a getaway for one night close to all the local attactions. clean room, neat and tidy. Food form room service was ok for the price. Band can get a little loud but finished in good time to still get a good nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee J
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimberlee J, Thanks for writing a review, I'm pleased you had a good stay. The bands play Wednesday to Saturday and we are close to finishing our double glazing of all rooms to protect against noise. I hope we will see you again soon, please say hi! Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a week as I was working in Perth. I was pleasantly surprised with the Indian Beach Hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable, and although the room I did feel where a little dated. However the parking was free and the price included a free continental breakfast (in my situation it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Willysduck
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Willysduck, Thank you for making the effort to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We acknowledge our hotel isn't brand new but we do our best to make sure it's a clean and comfortable experience for our guests. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Bayonet Head
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Noisy beer garden outside sounded like a band was playing my room - I thought it was bad karaoke until I learned the next day it was the headlining act! There were gaps surrounding a door opposite my bed which lead to an adjoining room - I could hear every word the neighbours said and actually partially see them too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslie C
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ainslie, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Did you contact reception with your concerns? We are always happy to move rooms if you are dissatisfied with any aspect. Please let me know which room you were in as I've checked all of the inter connecting rooms and I can't find any gaps that...

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.4 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.5 km away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
279 reviews
0.2 km away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
70 reviews
10.4 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
200 reviews
9.3 km away
The Richardson Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Price Range: $92 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Indian Ocean Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Indian Ocean Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are a light sleeper ask to be on the south side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles hewieandco, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“As afr as I know they're all the same. I didn't engage in any small talk with staff.”
 of 5 bubbles geoff924, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We liked the 5th-floor room, far enough from the beer garden and high enough for a nice breeze”
 of 5 bubbles PippinCat, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the opposite side to the bar and beer garden if you want to get any sleep!”
  • Stained basin.
  • Gap on balcony. I can fit in here.
  • Dated.
  • Hilariously dated TV control :-)
  • Internal door with gaps around - not soundproof, not private.
 of 5 bubbles 125ainsliet, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles macklyn42, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5