We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Indian Ocean Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Indian Ocean Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 183: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked a 5 day business trip at the Indian Pacific Hotel in Perth and paid in full before I got there. Upon arrival I was asked for my credit card in case I broke or stole something. I then proceeded to order room service as it's a long trip from Melbourne which was rejected because I'd booked on line....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank geoff924
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The people were great, room was good, hotel is dated 1970's, had a great time YET you could smell the oily odor of the restaurant "all the way to the 5th floor". Reception and staff were outstanding and Indi Bar inviting if you like a few cold beers and loud music.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BaliN0W
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is only for those who sees their budget before their comfort. Nothing much to discuss.Attached bar is good yeah. Overall avoid if you can or if you have got tight budget then it's not a bad place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yudhvir Y
Sydney
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are looking for a groovy experience in very-hipster Scarborough this isn't for you; if - like us - you are looking for a budget-priced, clean, bright, BIG room with a view of the ocean and only about 200m to the beach, go for it! We had a 5th-floor room + balcony overlooking the beer garden/pool and had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PippinCat
Manager_IOH_IndiBar, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for such a wonderful review, we're glad you had such a good time. We'll pass your kind words on to all the staff- it'll definitely make them smile. Hoping to see you again, Kind regards, Ciara

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good for a getaway for one night close to all the local attactions. clean room, neat and tidy. Food form room service was ok for the price. Band can get a little loud but finished in good time to still get a good nights sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberlee J
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kimberlee J, Thanks for writing a review, I'm pleased you had a good stay. The bands play Wednesday to Saturday and we are close to finishing our double glazing of all rooms to protect against noise. I hope we will see you again soon, please say hi! Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for a week as I was working in Perth. I was pleasantly surprised with the Indian Beach Hotel. The rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable, and although the room I did feel where a little dated. However the parking was free and the price included a free continental breakfast (in my situation it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Willysduck
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Willysduck, Thank you for making the effort to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We acknowledge our hotel isn't brand new but we do our best to make sure it's a clean and comfortable experience for our guests. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Bayonet Head
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Noisy beer garden outside sounded like a band was playing my room - I thought it was bad karaoke until I learned the next day it was the headlining act! There were gaps surrounding a door opposite my bed which lead to an adjoining room - I could hear every word the neighbours said and actually partially see them too....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ainslie C
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ainslie, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Did you contact reception with your concerns? We are always happy to move rooms if you are dissatisfied with any aspect. Please let me know which room you were in as I've checked all of the inter connecting rooms and I can't find any gaps that...

Lakeland, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Average but suited the price. Wasnt impressed by the $100 bond ontop of the nightly fee to stay though. Was refunded on checkout but takes 3-5 working days for banks to refund and clear funds. Should state that on site as we wouldnt have stayed knowing this.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aaron S
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aaron S, I'm sorry to hear that you weren't aware of the bond, it is stated in our terms and conditions. It is an industry standard to take one in case of room service charges and the like. I hope you will consider us again in the future. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Great place to stay when in Perth, close to the beach, shopping, and fully self contained with secure free parking. Enjoyed a great band, fabulous meals, friendly service, comfortable bed, clean room with all the trimmings, shampoo, conditioner etc, hair dryer, tea/coffee milk, air con and free continental breakfast for $93. I'll be back. Nearly forgot to mention the nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eandc2015
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi eandc2015, Thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I'm thrilled that you had a great time. Interesting that you mention the artwork - we are presently considering the purchase of some new works - hopefully you'll notice them when you next stay. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

Muldersdrift, South Africa
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

The room was on the 5th floor although a bit dated it was clean and the staff where cool Good value for Perth and I felt comfortable with the outside parking Well done staff you made a visit to the hotel worthwhile so you have my vote

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RalphRidge
Nic_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Indian Ocean Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RalphRidge, Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Nic - Hotel Manager

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.4 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
0.5 km away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
277 reviews
0.2 km away
West Beach Lagoon
West Beach Lagoon
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
69 reviews
10.4 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel
Ocean Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cottesloe
197 reviews
7.4 km away
Quality Resort Sorrento Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available for a small fee. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception with refreshments and convenience items available for sale. We have an outdoor Swimming pool and heated spa. There is a Bistro and Bar on site for food and refreshment. The Indian Ocean Hotel is a friendly, family owned business one street back from famous Scarborough beach. With family friendly parks, beach walks, cycle tracks and surfing all available to you, it's the perfect place to stay. Come and enjoy some good old fashioned Scarborough hospitality with our team at the Indian Ocean Hotel ... more   less 

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Price Range: $90 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Indian Ocean Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Indian Ocean Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As afr as I know they're all the same. I didn't engage in any small talk with staff.”
 of 5 bubbles geoff924, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We liked the 5th-floor room, far enough from the beer garden and high enough for a nice breeze”
 of 5 bubbles PippinCat, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the opposite side to the bar and beer garden if you want to get any sleep!”
  • Stained basin.
  • Gap on balcony. I can fit in here.
  • Dated.
  • Hilariously dated TV control :-)
  • Internal door with gaps around - not soundproof, not private.
 of 5 bubbles 125ainsliet, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles macklyn42, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 5th floor would be the quietest ( far away enough from the bands playing)”
 of 5 bubbles cathbilli, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5