We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Claremont Motel & Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Claremont Motel & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Start your review of The Claremont Motel & Apartments
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Sav block 2 bedroom was very cute / private and provided a wonderful weekend away. Great kitchen facility / beautiful deck / carpark. Clean ✔️ Only difficulty was opening the front entrance door - just needs a look into as key wouldnt turn lock.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatrickPJ32
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Myself and a few friends stayed here a night after my best friends wedding. The staff were absolutely lovely and the grounds were awesome! Loved the outdoor area too (i stayed in a studio). The shower was horrible though with pretty low water pressure and the beds were ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kellyo374
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We enjoyed our stay here. The owners made us very welcome and treated us like neighbors. They provided us with transportation downtown to rent bicycles for the day which was very handy. The room was comfortable and very well equipped.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

We are please to hear you have enjoyed your stay. Please do come again and experience more of the great South Wairarapa Region.

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We had an overnight stay on a world wind tour of the north island. No complaints at all, good style of accommodation, clean, only issue was a bit far from the town centre but if your not drinking (and you should be as there are some great wineries) it's a good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Murray G
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

We are just sorry you were not able to stay longer and enjoy more of the great attractions (not only the wineries) that Martinborough & the surrounding area has to offer. We do hope you find time to return in the future. Thank you also for taking the time to pen you review. Very much appreciated.

Reviewed 7 March 2017

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Claremont during our visit to the region. From the moment we checked in, we were made to feel at home. The grounds feature a BBQ and outdoor chess set. A 10 minute walk into town past some picturesque fields made for a plant break from driving. The room we booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WJAH
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

It is pleasing to know we have played our part in your enjoyment of the region. We aim to ensure all our guests have a positive stay with us and any little we can do to help is our pleasure. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. It is appreciated! We do hope to see you...

Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 March 2017

After travelling around and staying in some less well-run places, this was a delight to return to. We have stayed here several times and always pleased with it. The hosts are friendly and helpful, units and apartments are modern and well organized. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loreen B
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. It is always great to be able to welcome back repeat guests. If we can make you stay enjoyable & memorable we are achieving our goals. Looking forward to having you back with again soon.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Super friendly check in with lots of recommendations for our short stay. (Btw, we tasted and lunched at Poppies and it was excellent, thanks Nikki!). Although on the edge of town, the property felt rural and spacious with units thoughtfully situated for privacy and well maintained gardens. Our unit was a two storey (mezzanine?) villa with the bedroom upstairs, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrincessInTransit
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

So glad we cold play our part in making your stay at The Claremont, & in Martinborough enjoyable. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our motel. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Wolverhampton
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights whilst we toured the region. Very friendly greeting at check in. The Pinot is a two bedroom unit which is very well finished. Beds were comfortable and we lacked for nothing in the kitchen. The walk to the centre of Martinborough is not a long one if you want to eat and drink in town. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kby121148
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time you post a review for The Claremont. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in Martinborough. We do hope you are back this way again.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Myself and 4 other friends stayed here for one night, after a day of wineries. The woman and man at reception were so incredibly helpful- we arrived way before check in time however they let us park our cars and bags next to the rooms, and spent a good ten minutes showing us the map and highlighting all the great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth O
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

The fact that you had a good time here, not only at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, but also in Martinborough certainly indicates we must be doing something right. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back with us again in the future.

Lincoln, U.K.
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We spent one night here on our trip around New Zealand. The room was spotless, splendidly proportioned with full kitchen facilities, free parking, a beautiful private decking area which was a real suntrap, and a large bathroom, toiletries included. The proprietor was helpfulness itself, and there was even a book exchange available. The motel is situated just about as far...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thenickmeister
Frank D, Manager at The Claremont Motel & Apartments, responded to this review

We are always please to know that we are presenting the rooms in a manner acceptable to our guests. It is also pleasing to be able to advise our Housekeeping team that their efforts are appreciated. We take pride in our location which provides privacy & tranquility while still being close enough for that short walk into the center of...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martinborough
1.0 km away
The Martinborough Hotel
The Martinborough Hotel
#2 of 4 in Martinborough
204 reviews
1.9 km away
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
Aylstone Boutique Retreat
#3 of 4 in Martinborough
127 reviews
36.1 km away
Wharekauhau Country Estate
Wharekauhau Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Featherston
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#1 of 3 in Greytown
167 reviews
1.0 km away
The Old Manse
The Old Manse
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
120 reviews
2.0 km away
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
Peppers Parehua Martinborough
#1 of 8 in Martinborough
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about The Claremont Motel & Apartments

Address: 38 Regent St., Martinborough 5711, New Zealand (Formerly The Claremont Martinborough)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wairarapa > Martinborough
Price Range: $154 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Claremont Motel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Claremont Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Claremont Motel & Apartments staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Claremont Motel & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No views, units are set in gardens, all are quiet. Plenty of parking”
loreenb345, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a south facing room.”
thenickmeister, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Two bedroom units are worth the extra cost”
mlb209, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Phone The Claremont directly and talk to owners for personalised service. All rooms are sunny and quiet.”
Surfer_Chick_Welly, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The "Pinot" two bedroom apartment is the one to choose for total comfort. It had everything and we loved it!”
TIMOTHYG55, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5