We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountain Lake Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountain Lake Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mountain Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 322: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

This is the best place we've been for a relaxing family vacation. The kids were very happy with the pool, game room, hiking, and activities and we parents loved the same plus excellent food at a good price. We were worried about no TVs or AC but neither of these were an issue, we ended up spending a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emily K
Portland, Maine
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Truly, it dried up years ago. One of two natural lakes in Va. It might just be me, but if you book a stay at the Mountain Lake Lodge, at Mountain lake, you might want to be at a lake. Nothing in any of the hotel sites mention that the lake is no longer there.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank mrroonie
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Dear mrroonie, Thank you for your recent comments. You mention that there is no information about the lake on any website; however, I would like to direct you to the front page of our website. There are two videos on the front page: The mission of Mountain Lake Lodge and The Mystery of the Lake. Enjoy! Currently the Lake is...

Virginia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Having read many of the reviews posted here with all of the varying opinions, we arrived (after missing the turn onto Rt. 700 and calling the nice staff at the hotel for help getting back to where we needed to be). One GPS we had said that there was no such address, and the other GPS kept trying to send...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Kerabelle
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We went into the lodge, but didn't stay there. My brother lives not far from there. It has history from the 1800's !!! Dirty Dancing was mostly filmed there. We took a very long long hike thru their connecting trails, we walked for miles & miles WONDERFUL !!!!! Thank You Mountain Lake for preserving the nature trails & the history....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank david f
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

I flipped out when I realized my brother lived down the road from where they filmed part of Dirty Dancing. We went on a Sunday for brunch and to tour the estate. It was incredible to see all the parts of the estate where filming took place, to imagine Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Grey acting out their scenes. Learning more...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jakyle3
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

I felt the room was. 3ish but the rest was a 4 a 4.5, giving this place a 4 as an average. I have seen lower scores but I do not feel you understand what you are paying for. Hiking, bubble ball, archery tag, zip lining, frisbee golf and a short drive to Cascade Falls were all amazing. The views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rgnolfo1
Washington Township, Ohio
Reviewed 9 June 2016

On the plus side, the staff was friendly and helpful. The lodge common areas were ok, but nothing special. We stayed in a "rustic" cabin which is another word for run down and in disrepair. The floor was noticeably slanted and uneven. It was at least ten years past due for a coat of paint. The ceiling and window trim...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank oldone2016
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Oldone2016, We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the historic accommodations during your stay. The historic row cabins are basic and the only accommodations that have not been recently renovated. We are constantly making improvements to this very large historic property and the historic row cabins are not as modern as all of our other lodging options....

Altavista VA, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2016

The dirty dancing movie location was very historic and nice. The food was excellent but way over priced. Breakfast buffet $40 dollars, room really small no TV, no internet service that worked, no air conditioning. They cater to weddings and it shows. My wife is a big Dirty Dancing fan and it was really historic. The lake is nothing left...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Edward F
Heidi S, General Manager at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Edward, Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We do try to set the proper expectation of the property in Our Mission video on the front page of the website https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXVo77-7ueo We are very proud of our history and want to continue to preserve Mountain Lake Lodge for future generations; however, all...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Overall, the lodge is nice but will probably not return. The lake has drained, so it's not as picturesque as I think it used to be. The amenities are not well kept. For example, the tennis courts are cracked, the hot tub is old and luke warm, the corn hole bean bags have holes in them, and the rooms are...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Fiona Y
Birmingham
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

An inviting location at 4,000 ft above seal level featuring old-world charm, this rustic stone lodge is the centerpiece of the mountaintop conservancy. Road Scholar program participants enjoyed their stay here for a week-long program - trail hikes on the Appalachian Trail. All meals were thoroughly enjoyed, including sack lunches for the trail hikes. No need for air conditioning here,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank samuelbM5790PJ

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (313)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (114)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
22.2 km away
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
Comfort Inn Blacksburg
#7 of 9 in Blacksburg
200 reviews
16.9 km away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
29.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Christiansburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#4 of 9 in Blacksburg
210 reviews
23.6 km away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
16.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Harvest Restaurant
Harvest Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Cir, Pembroke, VA 24136-3055 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Region: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Price Range: $111 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake
Mountain Lake Lodge Pembroke, Virginia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountain Lake Lodge staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
Charlestown, Indiana, United States
2 months ago

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Mountain Lake Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't travel here with children who need a crib.”
GigglesandGaggles, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We loved the main Inn, but they have cabins as well.”
Bethro23, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay Away!”
howelldw, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the main house are more like hotel rooms. Definitely choose a cabin or lodge.”
mbarbiaux22, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Even # rooms int the main lodge have great views of the property.”
I4610PTjohnb, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5