We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Richlands\/Claypool Hill Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 143: English reviews
White Haven, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this location for four nights. Our room was very clean. Everything was great. The staff was very courteous and attentive to any of our needs.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
TN/NC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First floor room very clean and well equipped for a budget hotel. Front desk staff courteous and efficient. Room was cleaned thoroughly and promptly refreshed every morning. Breakfast area in front lobby smallish but good quality and stocked well. Boys football team enjoyed the various offerings.

Helpful?
Thank GODEACONS
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words in your review of our Super 8 hotel in Claypool Hill, VA. We certainly enjoyed having your group and hope to see you back here for another tournament. It is our goal to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable room while giving helpful and friendly service. Thank you for staying... More 

Richlands, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to stay due to a house fire, they went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of, even bringing items to give to us. They made an awful ordeal bearable. I àm very thanful to the entire staff.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank 657kristinec
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

So very sorry that you had a house fire. Certainly hope things are getting better for you. Thank you so much for your kind words for the staff. Glad to hear that they took good care of you during such a difficult time. Best wishes being sent to you. More 

Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here during a little league football tournament. The room was very clean and roomy. We stayed in a queen suite. Although the hotel was booked for the weekend, the continental breakfast was very well stocked. Front desk staff were very friendly. The only complaint I have is that several kids could be heard stomping through the hallways late... More 

Helpful?
Thank 335AngelaL335
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review your stay with us at the Claypool Hill, VA Super 8. Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend. I do apologize for the disturbance from the kids making noise. We look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you to the area. Thank you for being our... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very clean,helpful associates, breakfast bar that hit the spot. Will definitely stay here again

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank S2599ZJsandrar
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you're in the area. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms with helpful and friendly service. Also glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast served. Thank you for being our guest! More 

Loris, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We read other reviews, later ones were positive; older ones not so much. We booked here at the last minute. Marie was extremely helpful, got us two adjoining rooms that we needed for our family. The beds are comfortable, the shower is hot with great pressure (even on the 2nd floor). The hotel wifi is very good and there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write such wonderful comments about your stay at our Claypool Hill Super 8. We will past your praise of Marie on to her. We strive to provide our guest with helpful and friendly service and sounds like Marie did just that. We look forward to serving you again if you're back in... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Hotel employee offered to cancel prior online reservations because I got confused with multiple bookings. Got charged for the 6 rooms I used over three nights but also got charged for 3 No Show rooms. Employee only cancelled one room each night associated with my original reservations. Manager Vivian Shelar laughed at me when I notified her of the overcharges.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierTraveler16
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

We're so sorry that you had a difficult time making reservations with Expedia and Hotels.com. Please call us direct for any future reservations so they can be handled with more ease and accuracy. We only charge for a no show when hotel is full and we hold those reservation until next day when held on a credit card for late... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I work nights and sleep durimg the day i stay at a hotel 5 nights a week for my job and im very aware of the fee of smoking in a non smoking room thats why i dont. so i came in this morning because my key stoped working the lady said there was a complaint about smoke i told... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carrie M
-GMLegacyMGMT1, Manager at Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at our Claypool Hill, VA Super 8. We would like to extend a sincere apology for disturbing you while you were trying to sleep. We realize it was an inconvenience to say the least. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to see you again. More 

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pounding Mill
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Claypool Hill
40.0 km away
Comfort Inn Grundy
Comfort Inn Grundy
#1 of 1 in Grundy
49 reviews
34.1 km away
Super 8 Lebanon
Super 8 Lebanon
#1 of 2 in Lebanon
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
General Francis Marion Hotel
22.8 km away
Fincastle Motor Inn
Fincastle Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Tazewell
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area

Address: 12367 Governor G C Peery Hwy, 1.5 Mi E Insct US Rt460 and 19, Pounding Mill, VA 24637-4105
Region: United States > Virginia > Pounding Mill
Price Range: $84 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Hotel Pounding Mill
Pounding Mill Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Richlands/Claypool Hill Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try a room on the fifth floor for a great view. 😉”
 of 5 bubbles GODEACONS, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Queen suite was very roomy, but don't expect a sleeper sofa.”
 of 5 bubbles 335AngelaL335, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Very good value for the money!”
 of 5 bubbles E4064IDlaurah, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No elevator, but minimal luggage so no matter to us.”
 of 5 bubbles FootballFanVA, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“no elevator so if unable to take stairs ask for 1st floor”
 of 5 bubbles rhudson003, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay